Contribute
Register

Warning/Report: Booting Clover on a real Mac can be dangerous

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
13
Motherboard
MSI Z170A PRO
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
TL;DR Clover messed up my Mac's firmware, had to remove logic board, reprogram a really tiny chip with a Raspberry Pi, countless hours wasted.

Also, I LOVE Clover...on real PC hardware. But don't boot it just for fun on your Mac, you'll maybe regret it.

I just wanted to report my experience here as I'm sure someone will try this, just like I did and really mess up their Mac.
I have read on multiple occasions that nothing will happen, even by RehabMan.

So I decided to boot Clover on my MacBook Pro 13" early 2015. I did not boot an OS and also didn't modify the settings, but decided to turn the Mac off after playing around for a bit.
After powering the Mac down, it would not boot again.

When it is powered on, you hear the chime one time and the backlight turns on. After that you will hear the second half of the chime looped infinitely. Nothing except for the SMC reset will work, every action that requires powering the Mac on will result in the loop.

To fix it, I had to fully disassemble it, remove the Logic Board and access a tiny SOIC8 chip (the chip containing the UEFI firmware) on the BACK of the LB using the POMONA 5250 clip and then dump the corrupted firmware (will explain why), then reprogram the EEPROM with a Raspberry Pi and 8 cables with a dumped original firmware I had downloaded. You cannot download every original dump for every Mac model, every dump came from forum users and I got lucky to even find one for my machine.

Then, I had to open the corrupted dump with a Hex Editor and find the Intel ME region and how long it is, copy it to the new downloaded dump (without a clean or original ME region your Mac will be unbearably slow) and also find the serial number and replace it with my own. Then I had to reprogram the chip with the new, modified ROM.

Also, the chip is so damn tiny the clip could not make proper contact and I had to physically remove plastic from the clip to further expose the contacts and hold it in place by a contraption of lego bricks and elastic bands. I had to try over an hour just to make stable contact.

All in all I spent countless hours researching and waited over a week for the damn clip ($25 btw + $4 for cables) to arrive.
8/10 experience cannot complain but wouldn't recommend.

Hi,

Can you provide links for the stuff to buy and firmware ?

It could be very helpful for us.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte
CPU
Intel
Graphics
RX 580
Hi,

Ok I have finally succeeded to reboot my mac,
thanks to https://macunlocks.com/

I've ordered a EFI card, and I gave them my serial number.

5 days later, I simply put the card where it belongs and bam, my mac booted like never happened before

:)
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
HP Pavilion G6-1d71nr
CPU
i3 2350
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

Ok I have finally succeeded to reboot my mac,
thanks to https://macunlocks.com/

I've ordered a EFI card, and I gave them my serial number.

5 days later, I simply put the card where it belongs and bam, my mac booted like never happened before

:)
Hello I've made the same mistake, where are you from that you got it in 5 days? I just placed my order I'm in Boston I'm wondering how long it will take. Also have you had any problems in the months you've been using it?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte
CPU
Intel
Graphics
RX 580
Hi, I'm in France, but macunlocks is located in london UK,
it should take a week or two I think

I recommend you talk with the guy by mail before to set up things et give him your right serial number

May the chip be with you ;)
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
HP Pavilion G6-1d71nr
CPU
i3 2350
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, I'm in France, but macunlocks is located in london UK,
it should take a week or two I think

I recommend you talk with the guy by mail before to set up things et give him your right serial number

May the chip be with you ;)
I did they were very nice and responsed fast I gave them my serial and explained the situation they said the chip would fix it. They just shipped it now.

How has your machine been no problems with iMessage or powermangenent using their chip?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte
CPU
Intel
Graphics
RX 580
I don't use imessage but I have no power issue a this point ...

we'll see in the future, but anyway it's still better than nothing at all :)

keep us posted !
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
83
Motherboard
HP Pavilion G6-1d71nr
CPU
i3 2350
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I don't use imessage but I have no power issue a this point ...

we'll see in the future, but anyway it's still better than nothing at all :)

keep us posted !

Well I got it and It fixed my MacBook! I'm very happy, I have also learned my lesson and have clearly labeled hackintoish flash drives to prevent me from even plugging them into my real mac. I did have to waste $85 but still better than a new machine. I'll leave macunlocks a good review on yelp. For anyone else with this issue macunlocks is the only easy fix that won't cost hours of your time.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have just ordered one myself - howevef the instructions are a bit unclear to me. Can you describe what I need to do in order to fix my mac?

1. remove backcover
2. Disconnect battery ?
3. Put chip in ?
4. Connect battery?
5. Boot mac with commands, or just by pressing power?
6. Remove chip when the machine has booted or leave it in place?

Hope you have the time to answer, as I really don`t want to mess up my mac (again)
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus H97-PLUS HDMI
CPU
Intel Core i5-4460
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 750Ti SC 2GB GDDR5
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Trying to install High Sierra on an iMac. Took wrong USB drive. Entire install process completed via High Sierra Hackintosh USB and made it to Clover (4359). Didn't know about the bricking thing but oh **** was my reaction. Upon restart boots to black screen. No startup chime, keyboard shortcuts don't work, nada. Machine is bricked. Still hope there is a quick fix by one of the wiser folk here. Returning to Apple is not an option and it is out of warranty.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
4
Motherboard
Nuc8i5
CPU
i5-8294U
Graphics
intel 655
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Hello,

I´m a stupid German and messed up my MBP 2015 with a clover stick, also

and had the same issue like most of us, means only hearing the chime and no response by keyboard
and no workaround I found on www
solve the problem or brought up any progress

I received the chip today and assembled as described by the guys from https://macunlocks.com
installation sequence of El Capitan is still in progress

@ milde

prepare a boot-stick for your prefered osx

1. remove backcover --> Yes
2. Disconnect battery --> Yes
3. Put chip in --> Yes, take care about orientation!!!
4. Connect battery --> Yes
5. assemble backcover
6. boot-up with ⌥pr (NVRAM reset, wait until chime camp-up min 2x)
7. plug in installation stick
8. boot with and choose stick
9. I erased the ssd completely, this is also suggested by macunlocks.com

rest should be business as usual

as I understand chip should remain on the board (confirmed, has to)

I would highly recommend https://macunlocks.com,
the chip are 75,--€ incl shipment and it tooks a week
it saves me a lot of money and they delivered a very good and quick email support as well

local apple-shop suggestion was to change the motherboard
which are approx 750,-- for my 16gb board

hope it helps

cheers

PS: installation just finished and it works like charm
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top