Contribute
Register

VoodooI2C Help and Support

Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus zenbook pro UX450FDX
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, your APIC pin is 0x6D.

Thanks you :)
I tried setup touchpad again and again :(. I took this APIC pin 0x6D, found in Cannon Point-LP list value GPP_D13_IRQ 0x6d, then found decimal GPIO pin GPP_D13 81. Next, calculated new GPIO pin from CNL_GPP(0, 68, 92, 96) /* GPP_D */. Took my decimal GPIO pin 81 subtract base value = 68 and add gpio_base value = 96, and I got decimal number is 109 and converted to hex, I got again 0x6D, is it strange or not?

Then i add to DSDT file this section:
Code:
Name (SBFG, ResourceTemplate ()
{
   GpioInt (Level, ActiveLow, ExclusiveAndWake, PullDefault, 0x0000,
   "\\_SB.PCI0.GPI0", 0x00, ResourceConsumer, ,
   )
   {   // Pin list
       0x6D
   }
})

and changed _CRS section for Scope (_SB.PCI0.I2C1) and Device (ETPD):
Code:
Method (_CRS, 0, Serialized)  // _CRS: Current Resource Settings
{
   Name (SBFB, ResourceTemplate ()
   {
      I2cSerialBusV2 (0x0015, ControllerInitiated, 0x00061A80,
                      AddressingMode7Bit, "\\_SB.PCI0.I2C1",
                      0x00, ResourceConsumer, , Exclusive,
                      )
       })
       Return (ConcatenateResTemplate (SBFB, SBFG))
}

But mac os didn't launch and stopped on Virtual SMC error.
I have Scope (_SB.PCI0.I2C0) and Device (TPL0). This is scope and device need to patch too?

P.S. I run OS from usb stick.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks you :)
I tried setup touchpad again and again :(. I took this APIC pin 0x6D, found in Cannon Point-LP list value GPP_D13_IRQ 0x6d, then found decimal GPIO pin GPP_D13 81. Next, calculated new GPIO pin from CNL_GPP(0, 68, 92, 96) /* GPP_D */. Took my decimal GPIO pin 81 subtract base value = 68 and add gpio_base value = 96, and I got decimal number is 109 and converted to hex, I got again 0x6D, is it strange or not?

Then i add to DSDT file this section:
Code:
Name (SBFG, ResourceTemplate ()
{
   GpioInt (Level, ActiveLow, ExclusiveAndWake, PullDefault, 0x0000,
   "\\_SB.PCI0.GPI0", 0x00, ResourceConsumer, ,
   )
   {   // Pin list
       0x6D
   }
})

and changed _CRS section for Scope (_SB.PCI0.I2C1) and Device (ETPD):
Code:
Method (_CRS, 0, Serialized)  // _CRS: Current Resource Settings
{
   Name (SBFB, ResourceTemplate ()
   {
      I2cSerialBusV2 (0x0015, ControllerInitiated, 0x00061A80,
                      AddressingMode7Bit, "\\_SB.PCI0.I2C1",
                      0x00, ResourceConsumer, , Exclusive,
                      )
       })
       Return (ConcatenateResTemplate (SBFB, SBFG))
}

But mac os didn't launch and stopped on Virtual SMC error.
I have Scope (_SB.PCI0.I2C0) and Device (TPL0). This is scope and device need to patch too?

P.S. I run OS from usb stick.
You only need to patch _SB.PCI0.I2C1.ETPD.
0x6D seems like one option, but there's another IRQ in the first list for 0x6D. Try it too.

VirtualSMC error is probably unrelated, though. In case of a wrong GPIO pin you should see something like busy ETPD.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus zenbook pro UX450FDX
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You only need to patch _SB.PCI0.I2C1.ETPD.
0x6D seems like one option, but there's another IRQ in the first list for 0x6D. Try it too.

VirtualSMC error is probably unrelated, though. In case of a wrong GPIO pin you should see something like busy ETPD.

Ok, I tried new number 0x41.
But again error busy ETPD and after some time os is launched without touchpad. :(
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok, I tried new number 0x41.
But again error busy ETPD and after some time os is launched without touchpad. :(
GPIO pin 0x55 didn't hang busy? Did you get a few seconds of operation with it?
If so, please try reverting to 0x55 and attach a new troubleshooting archive, after removing VoodooI2C* and installing to /L/E.
Re-download the kexts before installing, just to be sure it's latest.

Patching Apple's I2C kexts is usually necessary when installing to /L/E, if VoodooI2C doesn't load:
Edit: Cannon Lake/Coffee Lake/Whisky Lake era controllers might not need the patch, actually. Try installing to /L/E without adding the patch, first.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus zenbook pro UX450FDX
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
GPIO pin 0x55 didn't hang busy? Did you get a few seconds of operation with it?
If so, please try reverting to 0x55 and attach a new troubleshooting archive, after removing VoodooI2C* and installing to /L/E.
Re-download the kexts before installing, just to be sure it's latest.

Patching Apple's I2C kexts is usually necessary when installing to /L/E, if VoodooI2C doesn't load:
Edit: Cannon Lake/Coffee Lake/Whisky Lake era controllers might not need the patch, actually. Try installing to /L/E without adding the patch, first.
Yes, GPIO 0x55 didn't hang busy.
I added VoodooI2C.kext and VoodooI2CHID.kext to /L/E and removed from System/EFI/Clover/kext/other. Then returned 0x55 APIC pin in dsdt. But touchpad not found. If placed VoodooI2C* to /S/L/E touchpad found in system preference, but didn't work or worked after login to system about 5-10 seconds and stoped. I tried with/without patch for config.plist
 

Attachments

  • debug_26656.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 32
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yes, GPIO 0x55 didn't hang busy.
I added VoodooI2C.kext and VoodooI2CHID.kext to /L/E and removed from System/EFI/Clover/kext/other. Then returned 0x55 APIC pin in dsdt. But touchpad not found. If placed VoodooI2C* to /S/L/E touchpad found in system preference, but didn't work or worked after login to system about 5-10 seconds and stoped. I tried with/without patch for config.plist
Don't install to /S/L/E, only /L/E...
kextcache output shows you didn't install kexts properly. Remove them, then re-install like this:
Bash:
# For each kext run this
sudo cp -R kextName.kext /Library/Extensions

# After copying all kexts, rebuild kextcache
sudo kextcache -i /
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2016
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus zenbook pro UX450FDX
CPU
i7-8565U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Don't install to /S/L/E, only /L/E...
kextcache output shows you didn't install kexts properly. Remove them, then re-install like this:
Bash:
# For each kext run this
sudo cp -R kextName.kext /Library/Extensions

# After copying all kexts, rebuild kextcache
sudo kextcache -i /

Thanks you, I forgot to make chmod and chown for kexts in L/E before kextcache rebuild.
After that touchpad showed in preference, but also work sometime and stops. I guess setup touchpad in next time, maybe I'll find solution :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks you, I forgot to make chmod and chown for kexts in L/E before kextcache rebuild.
After that touchpad showed in preference, but also work sometime and stops. I guess setup touchpad in next time, maybe I'll find solution :)
If you'd like some help, please attach a new troubleshooting archive.
How often does it start/stop?
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
175
Motherboard
HP EliteBook 850 G5
CPU
i5-8350U
Graphics
UHD 620
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I finally get my touchpad to work with VoodooI2CHID, but I can't smoothly moving mouse with touchpad. It randomly freezes for 1 second.
I'm attaching IOReg screenshot.
 

Attachments

  • Snímek obrazovky 2019-08-13 v 8.20.23.png
    Snímek obrazovky 2019-08-13 v 8.20.23.png
    148.7 KB · Views: 72
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
1,011
Motherboard
ASUS X556UA-Clover
CPU
i5-6200U
Graphics
HD 520,1366x768
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I finally get my touchpad to work with VoodooI2CHID, but I can't smoothly moving mouse with touchpad. It randomly freezes for 1 second.
I'm attaching IOReg screenshot.
A screenshot of IOReg is definitely not enough for troubleshooting. Attach a full troubleshooting archive.
 
Top