Contribute
Register

Virus! I got a virus on my Windows Machine. Clover boot for Apple is gone now.

Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 3 GA-H270
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050ti
Mac
iMac
So I have two separate hard drives in my machine. One for Windows the other for my Hackintosh. I use clover to boot into either one.

I got a virus on the windows machine. Got rid of virus, and Windows machine works fine again.

HOWEVER. When I boot up the computer it boots straight to Windows, not Clover. giving me no option to boot into my apple hard drive.

Any clue how to fix this and get clover boot loader back at startup?


I check disk management and it says my Apple HD is a health EFI system partition.

I just have no way of booting into it now.



Thanks, any ideas are greatly appreciated.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
20,553
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Moved to Multi booting.
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
2,164
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M D3H
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I have two separate hard drives in my machine. One for Windows the other for my Hackintosh. I use clover to boot into either one.

I got a virus on the windows machine. Got rid of virus, and Windows machine works fine again.

HOWEVER. When I boot up the computer it boots straight to Windows, not Clover. giving me no option to boot into my apple hard drive.

Any clue how to fix this and get clover boot loader back at startup?


I check disk management and it says my Apple HD is a health EFI system partition.

I just have no way of booting into it now.



Thanks, any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Hi there.

1) Check your BIOS boot-drive priority to ensure your macOS drive is the first choice.

2) If this will not work then use your UniBeast installer drive to boot the system, then select your macOS. You can then re-install Clover if necessary.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 3 GA-H270
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050ti
Mac
iMac
Thanks @P1GRIM
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 3 GA-H270
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050ti
Mac
iMac
Thanks @UtterDisbelief. When I boot from my USB it prompts me to just install OS X again.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,287
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks @UtterDisbelief. When I boot from my USB it prompts me to just install OS X again.
When you boot from your USB flash drive, at the Clover boot menu, select your macOS system drive, NOT the macOS installer.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 3 GA-H270
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050ti
Mac
iMac
That option is not there sadly. Just options to boot into windows. Do I need to remake my USB drive to boot correctly?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,287
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
That option is not there sadly. Just options to boot into windows. Do I need to remake my USB drive to boot correctly?
If your macOS drive is not an option, it's likely something on there got corrupt.

The only way I know to try and fix it would be to pull the drive and attach it to a working macOS system...
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
624
If the MacOS drive is connected and is listed in your bios, it should show up in the Clover startup menu (even if the efi on that drive was trashed by the virus). Suggest you check the bios at boot to see if the drive shows up.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
54
Motherboard
Gigabyte Gaming 3 GA-H270
CPU
i7 7700k
Graphics
GeForce GTX 1050ti
Mac
iMac
@pastrychef thanks for the help. I sadly don’t have a way of doing that.

I built the system 2 years ago so I’m not up to par on everything.

I’m not sure I’m using the correct USB.

Is there a guide on creating a bootable clover USB that I can do with a new USB drive? As a final attempt.


Thanks so much for your help. I’d be totally lost otherwise
 
Top