Contribute
Register

VideoProc not seeing GPU

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K 4.9 GHz OC'd
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey,

My system running 10.14.2 18,3 is working perfectly fine. I downloaded VideoProc to use for converting video's. I noticed that when I tell it to show me the HW acceleration settings, it's only showing me the Intel 530 (see system details in sig). The system knows there's a RX580 installed since my monitors are connected to it and it uses the GPU for games, movies, et al (based on performance andiStat GPU meter). the RX580 shows up in 'about this Mac', as well. Does the trial version of VideoProc only use the Intel 530?

Very weird. thanks -gh
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2016
Messages
87
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm seeing the same problem. Not limited to the trial as I have a licence. Would like to use my RX580 instead of the HD650 for video conversion.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K 4.9 GHz OC'd
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
151
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-GAMING 3
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Sapphire Nitro RX 480 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I don't know what they're using to display what graphics card you have (I didn't dig into the binary that much). However, for encoding/decoding they are using ffmpeg, which in turn is using VideoToolbox on macOS.

With VideoToolbox you don't get to choose which encoder/decoder is used, the system will pick it for you. What it picks is a combination of your mac model and what hardware is installed. Most mac models default to using the built in intel hardware if it is available.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K 4.9 GHz OC'd
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
GA-B250-D3H
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
although FCPX Brucetest was done in 12 sec, I'm not sure if fcpx is cpu or gpu dependent. and LuxMark shows 300MHz frequency for GPU in Mojave while showing 1365MHz in High Sierra, same smbios and other configurations
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2019-04-12 at 12.51.14.png
    Screenshot 2019-04-12 at 12.51.14.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 784
  • Screenshot 2019-04-12 at 12.51.28.png
    Screenshot 2019-04-12 at 12.51.28.png
    164.8 KB · Views: 673
Joined
Dec 19, 2016
Messages
87
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Found the solution - at least on my hardware with 10.14.5.

Set Graphics>FB Name to 'Orinoco' (available from drop-down list).
Set Graphics>Inject ATI

Screen Shot 2019-05-31 at 4.19.50 pm.png
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top