Contribute
Register

Video Editing Hackintosh

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi! First of all: I have never built a machine before, and certainly not a hackmac. I´m pretty n00b at this, but I have decided to try this one out and maybe learn something on the way. (Many of our grandparents knew how radios work, so the least I can do for my generation is tho know a little more about the inside of a computer.) :angel: I work as a video editor and I really want a powerful 4k build at home for that purpose, mainly with Avid Media Composer.

As I said I don´t know much about this but, from what I have learned from you guys, I have managed to make a list with the stuff i assume is the best within reason. It is pretty maxed out price-wise, so please tell me where I could start going lower without loosing all the significant juice. The tag at the moment is about 2900$ (23000 NOK). I really wanna get closer to the 2grand mark.

Feel free to tell me why this build won´t work for any reason, where the worst overkill is, what could be done smarter or what I clearly lack in insight. o_O Thanx!!

3174962.jpg

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980 Ti G1 Gaming HDMI 3xDP 2xDVI 6GB

3226016.jpg

Intel Core i7 6700K 4,0GHz Socket 1151 Box without Cooler

3266687.jpg

Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH

3509218.jpg

2x Crucial Ballistix Sport LT Grey DDR4 PC19200/2400MHz CL17 2x16GB

1554043.jpg

Corsair Hydro H60 V2

2954236.jpg

Corsair Carbide 330R Blackout Edition (Sort)

2185202.jpg

Corsair RM650 650W

2880218.jpg

Samsung 850 EVO Series MZ-75E250B 250GB

3555695.jpg

(2x?) AOC U2879VF

2978484.jpg

TP-Link Archer T9E

543400.jpg

Apple Keyboard with Numeric Keypad (NO)

2778058.jpg

Razer DeathAdder Chroma

Btw: The links are norwegian. :p

Last edited:
I have just finished putting together my first Hack - thanks to some excellent guides on this site (specifically, this is the one I used: http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/g...0k-intel-hd-530-thunderbolt-dual-boot.191292/.