Contribute
Register

Very odd issue.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
107
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i5 4670K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600 1536 MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hiya,

I have built 2 hacks and both of them work well individually. Both of them are GA-X58A-UDR3 rev2

Lets call them Hack A (BIOS FF) and Hack B (BIOS FF), both running Lion in 64bits

Hack A connects to the router using ethernet cable, gets DHCP ip address from the router.

Hack B connects to a homeplug at one end. Another homeplug then connects to the router, and Hack B gets DHCP ip address.

When Hack A is switched on, Hack B won't get a IP address to connect to the internet.
When Hack A is off, Hack B gets an ip address and connects to the internet.

I use mac filtering on the router and have entered mac addresses for both of them.

I'm at my wits end as I can't figure it out.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

HW
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
246
Motherboard
i3 Hp
CPU
i3
Graphics
3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
What happens when both Hacks are connected via Ethernet wire. Both directly to router.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
107
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i5 4670K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600 1536 MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

I Hack B is two floors away from the router, that's why I plug it through a home plug

HW
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
246
Motherboard
i3 Hp
CPU
i3
Graphics
3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Can you move it and try? It could be the home plug you use.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
107
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i5 4670K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600 1536 MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I really don't understand why it won't work, when the other Hack is not switched on, it works
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-P45
CPU
Core i3 3225
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hw007 said:
When Hack A is switched on, Hack B won't get a IP address to connect to the internet.
When Hack A is off, Hack B gets an ip address and connects to the internet.

I use mac filtering on the router and have entered mac addresses for both of them.
Looks like your configuration is incorrect. Either you have a conflict in ip addresses or a conflict in mac addresses? Why do you use mac filtering on the router? Are you sure that the filter rules are setup correctly?

Mieze
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
107
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i5 4670K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600 1536 MB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

I actually don't know why I was using mac filtering (MF)! In any case I have now switched it off, and low and behold, it now works with both Hacks being on.

I actually never thought of turning mac filtering (MF) off.

I feel so stupid.

Thanks for actually mentioning why I use MF?

HW
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2012
Messages
301
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-P45
CPU
Core i3 3225
Graphics
Intel HD 4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hw007 said:
Hi,

I actually don't know why I was using mac filtering (MF)! In any case I have now switched it off, and low and behold, it now works with both Hacks being on.

I actually never thought of turning mac filtering (MF) off.

I feel so stupid.

Thanks for actually mentioning why I use MF?

HW
No problem! I just asked because MF doesn't have any security advantages in comparison with ip filtering as changing a MAC address is nearly as simple as changing an ip address if you know how to do it.

Mieze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top