Contribute
Register

Very laggy system response w/ Mountain Lion on a 4530s

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello. We have a ProBook 4530s with 16GB of RAM and an Intel 3000 graphics card and i5 CPU. We would think this would run very fast, but the system lags frequently and vigorously when it is displaying new things on the screen (e.g., when clicking the spotlight icon, or hovering over the dock icons, the system freezes for ~10 seconds).

I think that it is a graphics issue, maybe the graphics card does not have enough memory allocated to it? I've done SSDT from ProBookInstaller 6, and done the battery removal to make sure it's loaded, but no dice. I've also tried GraphicsEnabler = Yes and = No.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello. We have a ProBook 4530s with 16GB of RAM and an Intel 3000 graphics card and i5 CPU. We would think this would run very fast, but the system lags frequently and vigorously when it is displaying new things on the screen (e.g., when clicking the spotlight icon, or hovering over the dock icons, the system freezes for ~10 seconds).

I think that it is a graphics issue, maybe the graphics card does not have enough memory allocated to it? I've done SSDT from ProBookInstaller 6, and done the battery removal to make sure it's loaded, but no dice. I've also tried GraphicsEnabler = Yes and = No.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

How did you install? Maybe try fresh install to spare partition using current guide and installer...
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Installed using the latest Unibeast, Multibeast, and PBI 2 days ago. System was laggy from the start of install.

Could something in my boot.plist have an effect?
Here are my keys:
Code:
<dict>	<key>DropSSDT</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Hide Partition</key>
	<string></string>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>mach_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string></string>
	<key>Legacy Logo</key>
	<string>No</string>
	<key>ShowInfo</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Timeout</key>
	<string>1</string>
	<key>UseKernelCache</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Wake</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
	<string>No</string>
</dict>
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,827
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Installed using the latest Unibeast, Multibeast, and PBI 2 days ago. System was laggy from the start of install.

Try clean install using only ProBook Installer v6.1. We do not use Multibeast for the ProBook. Follow the sticky guide at the top of this forum.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2012
Messages
871
Motherboard
HP EliteBook_8x0G1
CPU
i7-4600U
Graphics
HD 4400, 1366 x 768
Hello. We have a ProBook 4530s with 16GB of RAM and an Intel 3000 graphics card and i5 CPU. We would think this would run very fast, but the system lags frequently and vigorously when it is displaying new things on the screen (e.g., when clicking the spotlight icon, or hovering over the dock icons, the system freezes for ~10 seconds).

I think that it is a graphics issue, maybe the graphics card does not have enough memory allocated to it? I've done SSDT from ProBookInstaller 6, and done the battery removal to make sure it's loaded, but no dice. I've also tried GraphicsEnabler = Yes and = No.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

see below.

I was reading in other forums I believe you need to change the ram to 8gb some forums say the hp probook could take up to 16GB but is really 8 GB

i'm a noob too, but just chiming in to help. you won't need to change the ram, but it's up to you to decide.

do a fresh install, make sure you use the most updated unibeast, os x 10.8.4 and, importantly the probook installer.

follow the guide to the dot, and you can probably get a good result.

if not, tell us where you didnt follow the guide.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
42
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4530s
CPU
i7-2720qm
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. eMac
  3. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I was reading in other forums I believe you need to change the ram to 8gb some forums say the hp probook could take up to 16GB but is really 8 GB


I'm currently running 16 GB at 1600 mhz and using all of it without any problems. I recently reinstalled fresh and never had to disable any ram or anything like that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top