Vega Frontier Edition on High Sierra

Discussion in 'Graphics' started by dnetcrawler, Jul 11, 2017.

  1. Inrvuuvamp

    Inrvuuvamp

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58a-ud7
    CPU:
    Intel 980x
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Sep 27, 2017 at 5:10 AM #41
    Inrvuuvamp

    Inrvuuvamp

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58a-ud7
    CPU:
    Intel 980x
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    I'm seeing the exact same thing atm on my Vega 64 install with the new High Sierra release.
     
  2. dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 28, 2017 at 1:53 AM #42
    dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Is the Vega Frontier Edition or RX Vega 64? I have an RX 64 and it does not work OOB. I get display on only one unit.
     
    unklemac likes this.
  3. unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    Sep 29, 2017 at 12:57 PM #43
    unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    Did you get it to work @dashingncool ? I need both displayports to connect a single display (Dell 5K via. DP).

    Especially important, what you did, please share :)
     
  4. dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 29, 2017 at 5:59 PM #44
    dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes!! All ports are working now when I add this patch.

    Kext: AppleGraphicsDevicePolicy
    Find: <626f6172 642d6964>
    Replace: <626f6172 642d6978>
    (c)Pike R. Alpha
     
    Midoo and unklemac like this.
  5. unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    Sep 30, 2017 at 6:34 AM #45
    unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    @dashingncool that is awesome! I have been out of the game for a while, but I just replace those lines in the kext, on each update? The copyright i dont need to add anywhere?

    Bonus question: do you have acceleration in FCP X if you use that? ;)
     
  6. dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 8:52 AM #46
    dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Instead of editing the kext, I use clover kext patching. Checknout Clover Configurator and how to patch kexts in clover if you don't know already.

    What is FCP X? Sorry, I am a noob haha
     
    Stork and unklemac like this.
  7. unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    Sep 30, 2017 at 9:08 AM #47
    unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    @dashingncool He he! I should probably have said Final Cut Pro X :) Its a video editor on Mac that uses AMD cards for accellerating jobs (much much faster then NVIDIA).

    That’s great - I think the RX56 Vega will come monday or tuesday then I can get started with Clover Kext Patching (you make it sound not so complicated) :)
     
    dashingncool likes this.
  8. dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2017 at 9:12 AM #48
    dashingncool

    dashingncool

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Mobo:
    Asus Z170X Premium
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    XFX RX Vega 64 Air Cooled
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I cannot say anything about full acceleration. I just tested the software and I am able to export the H264. I did run some benchmarks but the card freezes or crashes with Heaven and some other programs like VS Code, Opera etc. Just keep that in mind -> my Nvidia 960 is way more stable than this card, if not the fastest. I know almost everyone here has had trouble with Vega's stability.

    I am also using this patch which has made Google Chrome to work

    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/high-sierra-rx-vega-final-cut-h-264-fix.233067/


    This time, I tried to understand more about clover cuz I alway thought it was so Complicated. But it turned out to be quite easy to understand. I cleaned up my whole config.plist file and now it has minimal things. It took some time but I think it was worth it haha.
     
    unklemac likes this.
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2017
  9. unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    Sep 30, 2017 at 12:09 PM #49
    unklemac

    unklemac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    z87
    CPU:
    4790k
    Graphics:
    RX VEGA 56 (UP2715K)
    That link will be really useful especially with FCP X ;-) I am sure the driver will mature over time so we can use it to its fullest.

    All I seek is really to start using my 5K Dell and FCP X without crashes or freezes - so hopefully with your patch and the workaround in the link will get me there.

    A clean bootup sounds nice, do share your findings if they add anythingof value to you.
     
  10. Inrvuuvamp

    Inrvuuvamp

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58a-ud7
    CPU:
    Intel 980x
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Sep 30, 2017 at 11:40 PM #50
    Inrvuuvamp

    Inrvuuvamp

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58a-ud7
    CPU:
    Intel 980x
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 780
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Running 3d apps without antialiasing fixed that crash for me. I've also been running with vsync on to eliminate a strange line across the screen that I was seeing in some 3d apps.
     

Share This Page