Contribute
Register

Vega Frontier Edition on High Sierra

Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
183
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 designare
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega vii
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
  3. Performa
  4. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just curious, but what system definition are you using?


18,3

I've heard of others trying to use the 19,1 or that it came up automatically but I didn't see it as a viable offering when I did my clover install ? Only thing that seems terribly off is my actual boot times take 15-20 seconds of the apple logo screen, with my old 6700K it booted in 6 seconds flat.. Would love to hear if others have seen this or how they fixed it..
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
188
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Radeon VII
....Only thing that seems terribly off is my actual boot times take 15-20 seconds of the apple logo screen, with my old 6700K it booted in 6 seconds flat.. Would love to hear if others have seen this or how they fixed it..

Have you booted with -v to see what is stalling your boot?

This is what I would try to see if it does anything.
Remove "SSDT/DSDT", and only keep "fake smc kext". Disconnect all drives except OS X drive. Install latest Whatevergreen/Lilu kexts.

See if it makes any difference.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2017
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare F9b
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD 630 / Vega
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Under macOS it runs perfect and works fluid in ALL Adobe apps and Davinci Resolve. I can't say the same for nVidia cards as I had issues with them in High Sierra.

Overall very happy. I just wish it ran cooler on stock speeds. You can barely touch the thing when it's at 80% load.

Awesome news. I have a 1080 and since the latest driver updates it is borderline unusable.

One question about your setup. I was about to get the FE for 10-bit display in photo and video apps on a Z370/i7-8700K. I have been reading conflicting reports on whether Vega 64 supports 10-bit (or only under DirectX like Nvidia). Do I need the FE or is 64 good for 10-bit?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,548
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Awesome news. I have a 1080 and since the latest driver updates it is borderline unusable.

One question about your setup. I was about to get the FE for 10-bit display in photo and video apps on a Z370/i7-8700K. I have been reading conflicting reports on whether Vega 64 supports 10-bit (or only under DirectX like Nvidia). Do I need the FE or is 64 good for 10-bit?

Most modern cards support 10bit color and so does macOS.

You need a 10bit display tho.

For example, I do a fair amount of video/photo color correction and I still use a real Mac display (27" Apple LED display @1440p). It is an 8bit display but photos look very good and I know what results I'll get since I've been using this display for a long time even previously on a real Mac.

Afaik, if you do find a real 10bit display that you want to use, it should work fine under macOS.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2017
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare F9b
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD 630 / Vega
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Most modern cards support 10bit color and so does macOS.

You need a 10bit display tho.

For example, I do a fair amount of video/photo color correction and I still use a real Mac display (27" Apple LED display @1440p). It is an 8bit display but photos look very good and I know what results I'll get since I've been using this display for a long time even previously on a real Mac.

Afaik, if you do find a real 10bit display that you want to use, it should work fine under macOS.


Thanks, @izo1 .

I had read that all supported 10-bit DIrectX, but not always OpenCL. Good to know.
I do have 10-bit displays (BenQ SW320 and Ben SW2700P).

Now, I just have to find a card. Still leaning toward the FE, though. :)
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,548
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 SAGE/10G
CPU
i9-9980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, @izo1 .

I had read that all supported 10-bit DIrectX, but not always OpenCL. Good to know.
I do have 10-bit displays (BenQ SW320 and Ben SW2700P).

Now, I just have to find a card. Still leaning toward the FE, though. :)

Well the good thing is Apple uses Metal now. Other companies need to adapt it tho. If you check the graphics settings in photoshop there is a new Metal option. Not sure about Lightroom etc.

https://petapixel.com/2015/10/30/os...-unlocked-10-bit-color-in-imacs-and-mac-pros/

Here’s an older article about El Capitan supporting 10bit color, so by now many apps and macos has full support.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
Vega 64
Hi everyone, I just picked up a Vega FE card and installed it on my Hack running 13.3, and it seems to boot fine until I get to the login screen of my boot drive and all I see is the cursor and some weird white artifacts on the screen. Is this a sign of a bad card? I was able to get into the OS once, but every time I try and boot into the login screen the same black screen with the cursor and artifacts. Anyone here has any clues of what might need to do to fix this issue?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
915
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone, I just picked up a Vega FE card and installed it on my Hack running 13.3, and it seems to boot fine until I get to the login screen of my boot drive and all I see is the cursor and some weird white artifacts on the screen. Is this a sign of a bad card? I was able to get into the OS once, but every time I try and boot into the login screen the same black screen with the cursor and artifacts. Anyone here has any clues of what might need to do to fix this issue?
Did you try it in Windows first?
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
i7-4930K
Graphics
Vega 64
Did you try it in Windows first?
I have not, but I'm looking at getting a vega 64, people seem to be getting better results with that card in high sierra.
 
Top