Status
Not open for further replies.
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
I've been using an ATI Radeon HD5970 in my system for over 6 months now and it functions perfectly after disabling the second GPU (basically making it like a 5870). The commonly documented method involves editing two Info.plist files and adding the appropriate PCI ID as well as a PCI class match to ignore the second GPU. Performing these edits for each OS X update is kind of a hassle, especially because if you mess up the system won't boot and you have to dig up an iBoot CD....

Since Apple doesn't seem to have any interest in supporting CrossFire I was thinking about how to simplify this going forward and it got my wondering if this is something that could be done via DSDT edits. For the experts out there this is probably really obvious but after some tinkering I figured it out and thought it would be worth sharing.

On my system the card sits off of PEG0 and is nested down two PCI bridges. I added this to PEG0 device section:

Code:
                Device (P0P0)
                {
                    Name (_ADR, Zero)
                    Device (P0P4)
                    {
                        Name (_ADR, 0x00040000)
                        Device (GFX0)
                        {
                            Name (_ADR, Zero)
                            Name (_SUN, One)
                            Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                            {
                                Store (Package (0x04)
                                    {
                                        "device-id", 
                                        Buffer (0x04)
                                        {
                                            0x99, 0x68, 0x00, 0x00
                                        }, 

"model", 
                                        Buffer (0x13)
                                        {
                                            "ATI Radeon HD 5970"