Contribute
Register

Using a Presonus Quantum Thunderbolt 2 Audio Interface...HELP

Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
21
Mac
iMac
@joevt that sounds promising! Still, I'd like to check w @Mixerjack what his set up is. Unfortunately not only is he suspended, but when I tried to message him this website states "You need to have 75 posts to be able to start a conversation." 75???? Gosh. I wonder... how do I get around this and make contact?
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Designare
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
iMac
@joevt that sounds promising! Still, I'd like to check w @Mixerjack what his set up is. Unfortunately not only is he suspended, but when I tried to message him this website states "You need to have 75 posts to be able to start a conversation." 75???? Gosh. I wonder... how do I get around this and make contact?
Heheh. Don’t panic my friend!

Sorry I had a little time out there... I’ve fully read the rules now... :-/

The Quantum has integrated into my work very well, not a flinch. I really love it, it’s actually gives the same latency specs as HDX, which is very very impressive, not to mention useful!

I run HS and use Studio One, though the hackintosh relationship has no influence on DAW compatibility/usability.

The hardest part for you will actually be getting thunderbolt working, with hotplugging, that took me some time. Until you’ve built a machine it’s all theory! Hackintoshing requires a fair amount of drive and resiliance. When I first googled the presonus issue, this thread was years old, couldn’t find any evidence of the quantum working. My heart sank... but then with the knowledge and expertise of people like Joe and others here, you can figure out any problem, you just have to work for it!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
737
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
The OS version doesn't matter. The driver will fail on any OS if the Apple Thunderbolt property "IOPCITunnelled" is not set by the Apple Thunderbolt drivers. That's ok because the Apple Thunderbolt drivers are not needed to use the PCIe devices connected through Thunderbolt.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Protools though doesn't have Mojave support as of yet... so no one can promise you that it would be working... Avid has explicitly told people not to do the upgrade.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
21
Mac
iMac
@MyTosh oh, yes, that's a good point - I did know that but am facepalming myself for asking if @Mixerjack was running Mojave + ProTools... duh! My aim is to at least know if Mojave + PreSonus is looking doable on a Hackintosh. PT will be Mojave compatible at some point of course, hence I'd be upgrading once that happens should I go the Hackintosh route.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
737
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have an Nvidia graphics card, so I won't be switching to Mojave for a while.
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Designare
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
iMac
I have an Nvidia graphics card, so I won't be switching to Mojave for a while.
Ditto. Slaughter it’s usually advisable to stay one OS behind in the music world. And especially in the music/hackintosh world. A year is normally enough time for compatibility quirks to be ironed out.

I would always advise having two system drives anyway. A main, and a backup. Then you can at least experiment with Mojave and still have a stable tested OS ie HS.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
21
Mac
iMac
@Mixerjack that is such a good idea, I never thought of it until now... ideally then I'd have one system drive set up with Sierra and one with Mojave. The trick then will be to find GPU etc which suit both (so not NVIDIA for me). I'm liaising with a builder for this potential workstation, hence the research...
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
29
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299 Designare
CPU
i9-7940X
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
iMac
@Mixerjack that is such a good idea, I never thought of it until now... ideally then I'd have one system drive set up with Sierra and one with Mojave. The trick then will be to find GPU etc which suit both (so not NVIDIA for me). I'm liaising with a builder for this potential workstation, hence the research...
Also my advice is to build it yourself. Any problems that arise in the future you will be well equipped to deal with. If someone else builds it, you won’t have experience with troubleshooting...
 
Top