Contribute
Register

USB Start-up Problem (aka the Audio problem)

Status
Not open for further replies.

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,086
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mods, comments welcome, post Tuesday

USB Start-up Problem
, frequently blamed on audio

Symptoms

  1. Long boot
  2. Delayed working keyboard and mouse
Reality

  1. Not an Audio problem; nothing wrong AppleHDA.kext (any version)
  2. Enabler has no connection to USB
  3. Likely, USB problem.
Cause

  1. Unknown
Special Request/Additional information to identify the cause

  1. Something is conflicting with HDAEnabler
    1. Most HDAEnabler installations successful
    2. What is different with the systems effected
  2. Reply on this thread with the following information
    1. motherboard
    2. codec
    3. org.chameleon.Boot.plist
    4. list of non-native kexts installed
Work Around

  1. Remove S/L/E/HDAEnabler….kext (Enabler1, 2, 889, etc.)
  2. Install an alternate audio enabler
Alternate Audio Enablers

  1. dsdt/HDEF/layout-id - see ML: How to Add or Edit dsdt/HDEF
  2. ssdt enabler (select zip to download)
    1. View attachment audio_ssdt-hdae-1.zip supports
      1. Audio_ID: 1 for 3, 5 and 6 port Realtek ALC onboard audio
      2. Realtek audio codecs: ALC885, ALC887, ALC888, ALC889, ALC892, ALC898
    2. View attachment audio_ssdt-hdae-2.zip supports
      1. Audio_ID: 2 for 3 port (5.1) Realtek ALC onboard audio
      2. Realtek audio codecs: ALC887, ALC888, ALC889, ALC892, ALC898
SSDT Installation

  1. Copy Downloads/audio_ssdt-hdae-1 or audio_ssdt-hdae-2 to Extra
    1. If Extra/SSDT.aml is present, install Downloads/audio_ssdt-hdae-1 or 2/SSDT-1.aml as Extra/SSDT-1.aml
    2. If no Extra/SSDT.aml, rename Downloads/audio_ssdt-hdae-1 or 2/SSDT-1.aml to SSDT.aml and install as Extra/SSDT.aml
  2. The 1st SSDT is SSDT, 2nd is SSDT-1, 3rd is SSDT-2, etc.; no gaps
Finish installation

  1. Enable SSDT
    1. Chimera or Chameleon - Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist
      1. Code:
        [INDENT=2]<key>DropSSDT</key>
        [/INDENT]
        [INDENT=2]<string>Yes</string>
        [/INDENT]
    2. Clover_v2000+ - EFI/CLOVER/config.plist/ACPI/SSDT
      1. Code:
        [INDENT=2]<key>DropOem</key>
        [/INDENT]
        [INDENT=2]<true/>
        [/INDENT]
  2. Rebuild kernel cache - see Guide
  3. Restart
  4. Verify HDMI audio
Guide: Rebuild kernel cache
Tool: SourceForge.net: DPCIManager - Project Web Hosting - Open Source Software
Open Downloads/DPCIManager_ML/DPCIManager
Select: Rebuild Cache
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
202
Motherboard
GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Totally works and easy as eating pie to implement! Toleda, you are a true gentleman and scholar! Really cannot Thank You enough! Excellent attention to the community wants.


  1. motherboard - B75M-D3H
  2. codec - audio_ssdt-hdae-1 (I Think this is the answer?)
  3. org.chameleon.Boot.plist - ?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GenerateCStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GeneratePStates</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Kernel</key>
    <string>mach_kernel</string>
    <key>Kernel Flags</key>
    <string>darkwake=0</string>
    <key>Legacy Logo</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <string>2</string>
    <key>UseKernelCache</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    </dict>
  4. list of non-native kexts installed - None

Sincerely
Spang1974

Also fixed my keyboard region problem:) I'm i the UK and my Mac was always setting it to USA.
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,086
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Totally works and easy as eating pie to implement!
Thanks. As mentioned, this is a work around; the problem is not solved. Someone with the problem will find the cause and solution. In the meantime, add the information requested in Post #1 to your post to help understand the attributes of the problem.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
8
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 Rev. 3.0
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.50GHz
Graphics
NVidia GT 610 Low Profile
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thank You--- Solved my problem!
This occurred after installing the GeForce 210 graphics card, had to wait a while for mouse & keyboard to work. This is how I did it:
I used audio_ssdt-hdae-1, there was no SSDT in my \Extra folder so I simply renamed it to SSDT. Rebuilt the kernel cache using DPCIManager, reboot and boom mouse & keyboard are working and audio as well. THANKS AGAIN!

Spec on this hackintosh: Asus P8H77-M PRO, Intel Core i5 3470 @ 3.2GHz, ASUS NVidia GeForce 210
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,086
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thank You--- Solved my problem!
This occurred after installing the GeForce 210 graphics card, had to wait a while for mouse & keyboard to work.
No need to quote the first post. I know what is says.
The GT210 is not the cause of the problem. Reply with the Post #1/Special Request/Info.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
10.7, 10.8, 10.9
CPU
i5-3570K, i3-2105
Graphics
HD4000, NVidia 210
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I too have this problem and am about to try the work arounds. Everything works fine using HD3000 onboard graphics but I get this problem only when my gt210 graphics card is installed (which I need to use because my monitor only has vga).
In answer to the question:

1. Motherboard is: GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
2. Codec: ALC889. Am using the UEFI bios
3. org.chameleon.Boot.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>darkwake=0</string>
<key>Legacy Logo</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>UseKernelCache</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Default Partition</key>
<string>D17CAD10-F855-38DB-BB32-66579B8B4FBA</string>
</dict>
</plist>

4. Non-native kexts: I used multibeast 5.5.2 with the options selected in this post:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...-uefi-bios-all-working-dsdt-not-required.html

Hope a solution can be found. Thanks for all your hard work!
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
202
Motherboard
GA-Z97-HD3
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have the ALC887 audio codec.
Why do you use darkwake=0?

I have no idea what that is for? What is that supposed to do? Wasn't even aware I had installed it.As you can imagine I only notice certain things and only when they cause a problem.

I can assume I just delete that line and the one before it?

Spang1974
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
24,086
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can assume I just delete that line and the one before it?
No remove the flag; leave Kernel Flag empty.
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string></string>

If you are inclined, restore your system back to the USB start-up problem. Test if the presence of darkwake produces the problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top