Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
i7 2600k
Graphics
GTX 960
Hi there,

I have an audio issue that's driving me mad. I'm a professional audiovisual artist and having a flaky sound system is just no option. Breakdowns in the midst of a live show are no fun.

It started with my old 'n trusty MOTU 828mk2 firewire interface. After not having used any hardware synths for a long time (pre-mountain lion times) I hooked some stuff up and noticed that I 'm getting crackles on the input and output signals intermittently. Comes in every hour or so and lasts for about 10 minutes and goes away again, till it comes back an hour later... Sounds like audio clock sync crackle issues, like when the CPU is overloaded, though here it definitely isn't. It only occurred when hardware audio inputs were being used. Not when only soft synths were used. This is using MaxMSP as software on ML 10.8.3. The integrated audio on the mobo doesn't seem to display the issue.

It doesn't happen with the MOTU connected to my genuine macbook pro so it doesn't seem to be a hardware failure on the MOTU.

Now recently the intermittent crackling also started occurring when using only Ableton Live. No hardware inputs used.

I replaced my FW PCIe card to rule out a flaky adapter. I updated to 10.8.5. No success. So I figured some weird incompatibility issue is happening between my specific hackintosh rig and the MOTU audio interface.

I was planning to upgrade my interface sometime anyway so I got me an RME UCX. It's got both USB2.0 and FW400 so I thought I could switch to USB if FW would be flaky too. And what do you know... Problem is there as well, on both the USB and FW connections. So it's not specific to firewire or the MOTU. Good to know the MOTU is fine but now I'm stuck with 2 interfaces and still no reliable sound.

I'm out of ideas now. Does anyone have any insights?