USB 3 / Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 Sierra...some help needed

Discussion in 'Hardware Troubleshooting' started by mdg, Sep 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mdg

    mdg

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68A
    CPU:
    Core i7 2600k
    Sep 14, 2017 at 1:51 AM #1
    mdg

    mdg

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68A
    CPU:
    Core i7 2600k
    Hi Gang, I've been away from here forever, just returned cause I got the itch. Installed and have Clover up and running. System looks good, but I don't know how (and after spending 10 hours looking), I need some help getting the built in USB 3 working on my good old GA-Z68A motherboard.

    I also bought Ableconn PU31-1A1C http://ableconn.com/products_2.php?gid=59 thinking why not just do that, cause it says on the page it works OOB, but the system doesn't recognize it either (ASMedia ASM1142).

    Can anyone help me out or point me to where I don't spend 10 hours reading a circular reference on how to fix something LOL ;-)

    If I can get either USB 3 working I'd be ver psyched :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
  2. guiscard

    guiscard

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 r.11 Award BIOS
    CPU:
    i7 2600k OC 4.2Ghz
    Graphics:
    nVidia 1080GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 16, 2017 at 10:13 AM #2
    guiscard

    guiscard

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 r.11 Award BIOS
    CPU:
    i7 2600k OC 4.2Ghz
    Graphics:
    nVidia 1080GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Did you try the 3rd-party USB 3.0 option that the Sierra verion of Multibeast installs?

    I have the same board as you (just upgraded from Mavericks this week) and the USB3 ports are working for the first time ever.

    I don't have sleep anymore, but I'll deal with that next.
     
  3. mdg

    mdg

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68A
    CPU:
    Core i7 2600k
    Sep 25, 2017 at 11:46 PM #3
    mdg

    mdg

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68A
    CPU:
    Core i7 2600k
    I just tried today but not success. What is in your L/E folder? Do you have any kexts for USB other than GenergicUSB? Like is there an apple one or something? Also, did you apply some specific patch/fix in clover? Finally, if non of these are affirmative, do you mind attaching your GenericUSB kext (in case I have a bad version or something)?

    Thanks!
     
  4. guiscard

    guiscard

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 r.11 Award BIOS
    CPU:
    i7 2600k OC 4.2Ghz
    Graphics:
    nVidia 1080GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 6, 2017 at 9:18 AM #4
    guiscard

    guiscard

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 r.11 Award BIOS
    CPU:
    i7 2600k OC 4.2Ghz
    Graphics:
    nVidia 1080GTX
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Here is my L/E. I can also check bios settings later.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page