Contribute
Register

[Updated] Stork's Thunderbolt Build: i5-3570K | GA-Z77X-UP5-TH | GTX 760

Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
840
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just one quick question, if I wanted to install a second internal HDD and an optical drive, would I need to install third party SATA drivers using MultiBeast or can I just install them?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just one quick question, if I wanted to install a second internal HDD and an optical drive, would I need to install third party SATA drivers using MultiBeast or can I just install them?
You will be OK to just add another HDD and Optical drive. Install the Optical drive on SATA0, the macOS drive on SATA1 and the HDD on SATA2. Check the Z77 User Manual for how many drives the Intel chipset supports. But, IIRC, you can have three drives.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
840
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
One other question, I have an Nvidia GTX 960 in my build currently driving two 1080p monitors nicely, one on DVI the other on HDMI. I am toying with the ID of adding a third monitor which would have to run of a DP, is this possible at all and if so do you know what I would have to do to make it happen?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I would check on your GTX 960 manufactor's web site for your model graphics card. The web site description should indicate how many monitors your card should support. My Gigabyte GTX 9xx cards support 4 monitors and tested one for 4 monitors. Worked as advertised.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
840
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've actually switched away from the GTX 960 due to laggy graphics and I am using an Asus RX 560 4GB OC, however I was experiencing some random freezing and someone advised me to add this -rad4200 custom flag under the boot options in my config.plist . I thought all was ok today since I added it last night and I hadn't experienced any freezing today however when I stepped away from my monitor and put them to sleep using hot corners, I could not wake them when I returned and had to hard reset the system. Attached is a copy of my config.plist for review if you have a moment. I'd like to keep the 560 as the graphics are very fast and snappy.
 

Attachments

  • config.plist.zip
    2.3 KB · Views: 36

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've actually switched away from the GTX 960 due to laggy graphics and I am using an Asus RX 560 4GB OC, however I was experiencing some random freezing and someone advised me to add this -rad4200 custom flag under the boot options in my config.plist . I thought all was ok today since I added it last night and I hadn't experienced any freezing today however when I stepped away from my monitor and put them to sleep using hot corners, I could not wake them when I returned and had to hard reset the system. Attached is a copy of my config.plist for review if you have a moment. I'd like to keep the 560 as the graphics are very fast and snappy.
On MyHero II, I used the following MultiBeast item:
Customize > Graphics Configuration > AMD Graphics Fixup​
in lieu of Luli and whatervergreen kexts.

I also noticed that you have the Intel > true in your config.plist. I don't know if it will cause any problems, but it should be false.

Finally, are you using RehabMan's Codec Commander kext?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
840
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for responding. There was a new release of Whatevergreen.kext today and in the release notes it mentioned fixing issues with sleep concerning 4k monitors so I have installed it and will see if it makes a difference, otherwise I can try your settings. No I am not using Rehabman's CodecCommander.kext, should I be?

If I was to install that Multibeast item in lieu of Lilu and Whatevregreen kext, would I just run multibeast and select that by itself?

Also where do you see this Intel > true in your config.plist.

I can't find it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
840
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have removed lilu and whatevergreen kexts and enabled RadeonDeInit in my config.plist. The Intel > ture you were referring to, was that in the graphics section also? I disabled it. Will report back to let you know how things progress, hopefully no more freezing. Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2013
Messages
211
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH - Opencore
CPU
I7-3770K OC 4.5
Graphics
R9 280
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Stork and or anyone else,

I've recently lost a output on my graphics card so I used a different output port to run my two screens. However it continues to "lose" a screen on startups which when I disconnect and reconnect it returns. However, I'm now considering replacing the graphics card.

Have any advice? The machine is a dual boot with Windows 10, I do play "some" games but not many. Currently on Sierra with a very stable build. Am considering moving to High Sierra but in no rush.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,653
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do you want a new, current graphics card or a used, last year's graphics card?

I'm currently using a used EVGA GTX 770 in Thunderball. It doesn't require the Nividia drivers. (I've not updated my build description as it hasn't really changed anything in the OP.) The GTX 770 is about equivalent to a AMD 280X.

I would stay away from the GTX 10x0 cards at the current time as the current Nvidia drivers are causing some users problems (see the Graphics forum section). A used GTX 970 is also a good graphics card, but it also requires the Nvidia drivers, but I haven't read of any GTX 970 user having problems with the latest Nvidia drivers.

BTW, I'll update Thunderball to High Sierra 10.13.4 later next week after I return from Spring break.
 
Top