Contribute
Register

[Updated] Stork's Thunderbolt Build: i5-3570K | GA-Z77X-UP5-TH | GTX 760

Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
38
Motherboard
ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 1060
I have no knowledge of X99 motherboards. Since this thread is dedicated to my build components, I recommend you post your question in the Graphics forum section.

Ah, my apologies, I forgot to list my specs. Those specs aren't the specs of the current rig I'm working on. Here are the specs in question:

3770K
ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 Gaming
2 x 8GB RAM
500GB SSD

Right now I have the rig running with the nvidia web drivers, but there's only 1 GPU detected, the 970. I have to disable my igpu in bios too just to even boot. I'm just curious if anyone got quick sync to work in tandem with a discrete GPU.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UP5 TH v1.0 BIOS: F12J
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
HD4000 - Apple Thunderbolt
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My rig has 3 SSD drives so I can experiment with new OS X versions before changing my default boot.
Using the “UniBeast: Install macOS High Sierra on Any Supported Intel-based PC” guide I tried to install High Sierra on a separate disk (HS), but I did not succeed to get High Sierra properly set up. To get it to work I cloned my sierra (10.12.6) install to the HS disk and followed the guide to install High Sierra on this HS disk. I did not prevent APFS file system and used Multibeast 10.0.0 for post installation.

I ended up with a setup where the HS (APFS) disk is not listed in the Clover menu after a regular boot.
Only when I boot from the High Sierra USB stick I get a Clover menu containing “Boot macos High Sierra”.
I tried today if updating to 10.13.1 would help, but the situation remained the same.

I tried changing the BIOS startup disk (to UEFI P2 in stead of Mac OS X). Now regular boot shows the High Sierra volume.
However selecting this volume causes an error using Clover options safe, verbose and no cache:
"error allocating 0x2047 pages alloc type 2"

Because of this I have to stick to using Sierra as my default boot.
Hope someone can help to resolve the above issues to move towards High Sierra.

P.S. When I boot the High Sierra USB stick the Clover menu also contains “Boot macos Install Prebooter from Preboot” and “Boot Filevault Prebooter from Preboot”, but I found on the forum that I can hide both via Clover Configurator by adding 'Preboot' in the “Hide Volume” field of the GUI section.
 

Attachments

  • 20171113_135110.jpg
    20171113_135110.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 174
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UP5 TH v1.0 BIOS: F12J
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
HD4000 - Apple Thunderbolt
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
My rig has 3 SSD drives so I can experiment with new OS X versions before changing my default boot.
Using the “UniBeast: Install macOS High Sierra on Any Supported Intel-based PC” guide I tried to install High Sierra on a separate disk (HS), but I did not succeed to get High Sierra properly set up. To get it to work I cloned my sierra (10.12.6) install to the HS disk and followed the guide to install High Sierra on this HS disk. I did not prevent APFS file system and used Multibeast 10.0.0 for post installation.

I ended up with a setup where the HS (APFS) disk is not listed in the Clover menu after a regular boot.
Only when I boot from the High Sierra USB stick I get a Clover menu containing “Boot macos High Sierra”.
I tried today if updating to 10.13.1 would help, but the situation remained the same.

I tried changing the BIOS startup disk (to UEFI P2 in stead of Mac OS X). Now regular boot shows the High Sierra volume.
However selecting this volume causes an error using Clover options safe, verbose and no cache:
"error allocating 0x2047 pages alloc type 2"

Because of this I have to stick to using Sierra as my default boot.
Hope someone can help to resolve the above issues to move towards High Sierra.

P.S. When I boot the High Sierra USB stick the Clover menu also contains “Boot macos Install Prebooter from Preboot” and “Boot Filevault Prebooter from Preboot”, but I found on the forum that I can hide both via Clover Configurator by adding 'Preboot' in the “Hide Volume” field of the GUI section.

This weekend I tried to use a new Unibeast 8.1 and Multibeast 10.1 USB stick to install over my existing 10.13.1 setup.
Install went smooth. In the resulting setup I have the options in Clover to boot Sierra or High Sierra.
However booting High Sierra directly from the Clover menu still doesn't work, it only works when I first boot from USB.

If I boot with Clover boot option verbose I get a dump filing up and scrolling the screen.
I tried to find the clover boot log, but is is not in the console logs.
Is there a Clover boot option to save the boot log?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
89
Motherboard
Z77-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770k
Graphics
GTX 670
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
anybody z77x up5th have update to high sierra version 10.13.1
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,671
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
anybody z77x up5th have update to high sierra version 10.13.1
Not yet. I'll wait for at least 10.13.3 to be released which is my normal procedure on new versions of macOS. I may wait until I'm convinced that the Apple File System (APFS) is bug free; it's getting there but not yet. Additionally, the High Sierra AMD native drivers are immature for the RX and Vega graphics cards. So, I recommend waiting for High Sierra 10.13.3. :thumbup:

If you're contemplating getting an AMD RX 4xx/5xx or Vega graphics card, See my post here for the latest info on how well AMD graphics cards are supported in Sierra 10.12.6 and High Sierra.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UP5 TH v1.0 BIOS: F12J
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
HD4000 - Apple Thunderbolt
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
This weekend I tried to use a new Unibeast 8.1 and Multibeast 10.1 USB stick to install over my existing 10.13.1 setup.
Install went smooth. In the resulting setup I have the options in Clover to boot Sierra or High Sierra.
However booting High Sierra directly from the Clover menu still doesn't work, it only works when I first boot from USB.

If I boot with Clover boot option verbose I get a dump filing up and scrolling the screen.
I tried to find the clover boot log, but is is not in the console logs.
Is there a Clover boot option to save the boot log?

Last weekend I upgraded to 10.3.2 and used MultiBeast 10.2.0 for post configuration, but the problem remains: I can only boot High Sierra using boot from the usb stick. Regular boot of High Sierra fails.
I tried to make a video of the verbose log and capture a frame with useful error logging but it is hard to get readable output.
This is the best I could get, hope somebody can make up what goes wrong:
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-12-20 at 16.12.21.png
    Screen Shot 2017-12-20 at 16.12.21.png
    4.2 MB · Views: 171
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
147
Motherboard
macOS 10.13.1
CPU
Intel i3-6320 3.9 GHz
Graphics
ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce® GTX 750 ZONE Edition 1 GB
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Last weekend I upgraded to 10.3.2 and used MultiBeast 10.2.0 for post configuration, but the problem remains: I can only boot High Sierra using boot from the usb stick. Regular boot of High Sierra fails.
I tried to make a video of the verbose log and capture a frame with useful error logging but it is hard to get readable output.
This is the best I could get, hope somebody can make up what goes wrong:

I had same problem, two days ago, after successfully installed High Sierra was boot only from UniBeast USB, not from SSD. I solved this simple just, copy USB EFI to SSD EFI (overwrite complete all) and then run and apply MultiBeast at SSD EFI. You can do this with efi mounter app, just be careful which EFI is which after mount, or be sure just mount one. copy that, unmount, then mount second and overwrite that :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
71
Motherboard
GA-Z77x-UP5 TH v1.0 BIOS: F12J
CPU
i7 3770K
Graphics
HD4000 - Apple Thunderbolt
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I had same problem, two days ago, after successfully installed High Sierra was boot only from UniBeast USB, not from SSD. I solved this simple just, copy USB EFI to SSD EFI (overwrite complete all) and then run and apply MultiBeast at SSD EFI. You can do this with efi mounter app, just be careful which EFI is which after mount, or be sure just mount one. copy that, unmount, then mount second and overwrite that :)
Thanks cumik2: I tried your solution and High Sierra now boots fine from the SSD!
Only remaining issue is that my Thunderbolt monitor is not detected in High Sierra, getting 1280x1024 graphics :banghead:
In Sierra the System Information Graphics/Displays showed Thunderbolt...
I will post a request in the Clover section.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
840
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just want to thank you Stork for this guide, I resurrected this build which I couldn't get working under Mavericks years ago and was able to install High Sierra without too many issues. I now have it running driving dual monitors with a GTX 960, working wifi, bluetooth and thunderbolt. Everything works great and is stable!
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,671
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just want to thank you Stork for this guide, I resurrected this build which I couldn't get working under Mavericks years ago and was able to install High Sierra without too many issues. I now have it running driving dual monitors with a GTX 960, working wifi, bluetooth and thunderbolt. Everything works great and is stable!
I'm glad to hear about your success. I'm not upgrading until 10.13.4 as High Sierra is still too immature unlike previous macOS versions. Additionally, Mac Pro owners are reporting that the 10.13.4 Beta release(s) are supporting the full range of new AMD RX and Vega graphics cards. I'll update Post #1 at that time.

Enjoy your hack! I really like my Thunderbolt build. :thumbup:
 
Top