Contribute
Register

[Updated] Stork's Thunderbolt Build: i5-3570K | GA-Z77X-UP5-TH | GTX 760

Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Asus X99 PRO USB 3.1
CPU
i7 6800K
Graphics
PNY Nvidia Quadro M6000
Mac
Mac Pro
Unfortunately, I can not do so at this time since I'm not yet at Thunderball's location. (I go South for the Winter.) I'll be able to update before the end of April. Stay tuned.

That being said, did you see Post #972? I've abandoned the use of the Realtek audio codec. I recommend that you do as well. Follow Post #972 for HS which will get you ready for installing Mojave.

While I have yet to do a production install, if you want to install Mojave now, here's my best guess at the installation procedure:
:ch: update all your apps;
:ch: update Clover using the latest one in the Downloads > Clover Builds;
:ch: backing up your HS system and EFI folder;
:ch: create your Mojave UniBeast Installation USB thumb drive;
:ch: add MultiBeast for Mojave to the Installation USB thumb drive;
:ch: now install Mojave;
:ch: after the installation has been completed and you've booted to the Desktop, run MultiBeast:
Quick Start > UEFI Boot Mode​
Drivers > Audio > AppleALC​
Drivers > Disk > 3rd Party SATA​
Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC Plugins​
Drivers > Misc > Fake SMC HWMonitor Application​
Drivers > Network > Intel > AppleIntelE1000e <--- Use the latest version​
Drivers > USB > 7/8/9 Series USB Support​
Drivers > USB > Remove XHCI USB Port Limit <--- Adds PMHeart’s patch to remove XHCI USB Port Limit​
Drivers > USB > USBInjectAll​
Customize -> Inject ATI <--- For use with RX 580​
Build​
Install​
:ch: Don't reboot yet.
:ch: Since you have a RX 580 Pulse graphics card:
:ch:Run DCPIManager. If you get this result, skip the rest of these instructions as you have an early, macOS supported Sapphire RX 580 Pulse. If you don't get this result, the proceed, otherwise you are good to go.​

:ch: Add the FBName = Orinoco and Inject > ATI=true & Intel=True to config.plist which you can do with Clover Configurator or Xcode or PlistEditor Pro (which I use):​
Code:
[/INDENT]
[INDENT]    <key>Graphics</key>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]    <dict>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]        <key>FBName</key>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]        <string>Orinoco</string>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]        <key>Inject</key>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]        <dict>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]            <key>ATI</key>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]            <true/>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]            <key>Intel</key>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]            <true/>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]            <key>NVidia</key>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]           <false/>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]           </dict>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]    </dict>[/INDENT]
[INDENT]
:ch: Reboot the computer.
:ch: Reboot into the BIOS.
:ch: Change BOOT > Boot Options Priorities > Select your installation disk to the UEFI setting for your High Sierra drive.
Note: Always pick the UEFI choice if there are two entries for the same drive.​
:ch: EXIT to save the BIOS update and reboot.
Hello Stork,

How are you doing? I tried injecting ATI and setting de Orinoco Frambuffer, but I found not differences at all. The system works just the same way with o without it.
If I use a Sapphire RX 570 8b Pulse, should I inject Ati and set an Radeon Frambuffer? Which one? And Why for?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
1,136
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Summer home nice. No, wonder you're the Stork, LOL.

Since, I was having all these Thunderbolt issues. I went ahead and sold the GA-Z77-UP5-TH system to a buddy. Would you happen to know if any of the more modern boards work better with TB technology? By better I mean, add/remove peripherals, items showing up while booting, plug and play support, etc...?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,694
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Summer home nice. No, wonder you're the Stork, LOL.

Since, I was having all these Thunderbolt issues. I went ahead and sold the GA-Z77-UP5-TH system to a buddy. Would you happen to know if any of the more modern boards work better with TB technology? By better I mean, add/remove peripherals, items showing up while booting, plug and play support, etc...?
Check out @CaseySJ's Golden Build Thread > https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/success-gigabyte-designare-z390-thunderbolt-3-i7-9700k-amd-rx-580.267551/
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Asus X99 PRO USB 3.1
CPU
i7 6800K
Graphics
PNY Nvidia Quadro M6000
Mac
Mac Pro
@arquicion Since you have a RX 570 instead of a 580, I don't know your solution. I recommend you post your question in the Graphics forum section > https://www.tonymacx86.com/forums/graphics.13/
Thanks, but I have an RX 580 Pulse as well, and I found no difference with o without the Orinoco injection. It works smoothly both ways...

RX 570 works fine, but Cannot have Quick Sync Enabled, it only detects H265 HE, not H264... Any ideas? I tried every single method...

Cheers!
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
1,136
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX560
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks, but I have an RX 580 Pulse as well, and I found no difference with o without the Orinoco injection. It works smoothly both ways...

RX 570 works fine, but Cannot have Quick Sync Enabled, it only detects H265 HE, not H264... Any ideas? I tried every single method...

Cheers!
Did you attach the Inject Intel in Multibeast? Also, is the HD4000 graphics activated on the motherboard?
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Messages
49
Motherboard
Asus X99 PRO USB 3.1
CPU
i7 6800K
Graphics
PNY Nvidia Quadro M6000
Mac
Mac Pro
Did you attach the Inject Intel in Multibeast? Also, is the HD4000 graphics activated on the motherboard?
Hi there,

I just made ir work right ! Using Whatevergreen + Lilu injection, with the proper Properties Devices values. I can share it if somebody need it for this setup, just let me know. Sorry, Im working with another PC in this case, ASUS PRIME B360M-A + i7 8700+ RX 570 8gb. It is my new build.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus Z170-Deluxe-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
:ch: Since you have a RX 580 Pulse graphics card:
:ch:Run DCPIManager. If you get this result, skip the rest of these instructions as you have an early, macOS supported Sapphire RX 580 Pulse. If you don't get this result, the proceed, otherwise you are good to go.​

:ch: Add the FBName = Orinoco and Inject > ATI=true & Intel=True to config.plist which you can do with Clover Configurator or Xcode or PlistEditor Pro (which I use):​
Code:
[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]    <key>Graphics</key>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]    <dict>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]        <key>FBName</key>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]        <string>Orinoco</string>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]        <key>Inject</key>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]        <dict>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]            <key>ATI</key>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]            <true/>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]            <key>Intel</key>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]            <true/>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]            <key>NVidia</key>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]           <false/>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]           </dict>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]    </dict>[/INDENT][/INDENT]
[INDENT][INDENT]
@Stork, is this still the right way to do properly setup a Sapphire RX 580 card on Mojave 10.14.4? This is what I got from DPCIManager. I got black screen when waking up from sleep or system just freezes up not long after waking up from sleep.

Thanks in advance.
Screen Shot 2019-04-16 at 21.55.21.png
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,694
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Stork, is this still the right way to do properly setup a Sapphire RX 580 card on Mojave 10.14.4? This is what I got from DPCIManager. I got black screen when waking up from sleep or system just freezes up not long after waking up from sleep.

...
I've have very good results when I used the config.plist patch to set the FrameBuffer to Orinoco. The reason you have to do this is that macOS only recognized the first two "versions". Later "versions", like yours and mine, are not hard coded into the macOS. So, by doing this config.plist patch, all your ports will be recognized, and, maybe your black screen problem will be fixed.

Reference: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/turn-a-new-sapphire-rx580-pulse-into-the-mac-edition-card.2101909/
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
42
Motherboard
Asus Z170-Deluxe-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've have very good results when I used the config.plist patch to set the FrameBuffer to Orinoco. The reason you have to do this is that macOS only recognized the first two "versions". Later "versions", like yours and mine, are not hard coded into the macOS. So, by doing this config.plist patch, all your ports will be recognized, and, maybe your black screen problem will be fixed.

Reference: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/turn-a-new-sapphire-rx580-pulse-into-the-mac-edition-card.2101909/
Will try it and post the result. My LG 4K TV is also not detected on the HDMI port.

Update: So, I added the FBName = Orinoco and Inject > ATI=true (without Intel injection) to my config.plist and my LG TV works as second display now. Will test the wake from sleep/black screen problem.

Thanks, @Stork.
Screen Shot 2019-04-17 at 22.05.04.png

Screen Shot 2019-04-17 at 22.10.47.png
 
Last edited:
Top