[Updated] Stork's Thunderbolt Build: i5-3570K | GA-Z77X-UP5-TH | GTX 650 Ti

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by Stork, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. make-it-mac

    make-it-mac

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-3700S (3.1 GHz #BX80637I73770S)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Nov 23, 2016 at 10:44 PM #871
    make-it-mac

    make-it-mac

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
    CPU:
    i7-3700S (3.1 GHz #BX80637I73770S)
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Thanks for the heads-up. I do prefer iMac14,2, as it more closely matches my hardware. But, if using sysdef MacPro3,1 eliminates the audio "pop" sound, then how might I correct this when using iMac14,2? It seems somehow related to a "soft wake" of the audio system but I am not sure what about the sysdef would change this.
     
  2. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 23, 2016 at 11:16 PM #872
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well, you could use MacPro5,1. Check the MultiBeast Features document because, if you choose the 5,1, MultiBeast also modifies one of the kexts to make it work.
     
  3. liquid_gabe

    liquid_gabe

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    gtx 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Dec 1, 2016 at 4:44 PM #873
    liquid_gabe

    liquid_gabe

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    3770K
    Graphics:
    gtx 970
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Hello Stork, et al,

    I've been running this motherboard and components (with a 570, though now I have a 970) ever since they were the recommended mac pro system years ago. It has been perfect, thanks to everyone here!

    Adobe stopped supporting the 570 for Premiere and After Effects, and I was getting all kinds of screen tearing problems and occasional system crashes so I put in the 970, and the problems have been greatly reduced. Sadly, I still can't leave the system rendering overnight without finding it crashed in the morning.

    Maybe its just Adobe, but would anyone advise on whether to upgrade the OS and what to update it to, ElCap/Sierra? I don't use onboard audio and would be okay if the firewire went away, but I do need the Thunderbolt and the video card to be solid. Is there a quick ref for this board with BIOS version and settings as well as multibeast settings.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 1, 2016 at 6:56 PM #874
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'd check with Adobe support or on their support forums. Make sure you have the correct Nvidia drivers & CUDA for your version (build #) of the OS X you're using. MacVidCards has a listing and links for the Nivida drivers > Which Driver Should I Install for My New GPU - MacVidCards.coM

    Do you have Thunderbolt peripherals? If so, I'd be cautious about updating. Unfortunately, all I have left for this system is a TH to FireWire adapter...and I can't find my FW external drive to test Sierra's compatibility with the Z77X-UP5 TH Thunderbolt external peripherals. I hooked up my OWC (Other World Computing) Thunderbolt 2 Dock, and I can read USB drives. So, Thunderbolt 1 works OK with Sierra. But, I recommend that you check around the forum to see if there is any Thunderbolt compatibility problems with El Capitan and/or Sierra with our motherboard.

    If you update the OS, you'll most likely have to pay for application compatibility updates, too. So, consider that in you decision making.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2016
  5. Chow7

    Chow7

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 3, 2016 at 3:03 AM #875
    Chow7

    Chow7

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have this same setup and it is running on Sierra. Does the included wireless/bluetooth card that came with the motherboard work? For some reason I did not install it, but now realize I need wireless to get my apple watch to unlock the computer.
     
  6. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 3, 2016 at 1:27 PM #876
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,939
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No, the wireless card PCI card uses an Intel wireless chipset which Apple doesn't support. See the Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5TH wifi bluetooth card thread; Post #13 summarizes the problem.

    However, time flies, and there are better solutions to getting WiFi/BT working on your system than the older WiFi/BT card that came with your system. I'm using the TP-Link Archer T8E AC1700 PCIe card and the GMYLE Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter, both are in the tonymacx86 Buyer's Guide, Accessory section. The drawback with those two solutions is the price: $60 for the TP-Link card and $8 for the GMYLE USB dongle. The other solution that I've tried - the iMac Boardcom AC1300/BT4 card and PCIe adapter card have also risen in price to > $100.

    The other day I read here in the tonymacx86 Forum where the Fenvi combo WiFi/BT4 works in our hacks; it's AC1300, which a tad slower than the TP-Link T8E/GMYLE combo but about $10 less expensive. I ordered one and it should be here early next week.

    There are less expensive wireless card solutions. I've seen the TP-Link TL-WDN4800 PCIe card, which is a N900 WiFi card, go on sale for $25. However, you're getting 801.11/n speeds instead of AC1300 speeds. Amazon | Newegg

    Good luck! Post back on what you finally decided to do and how your solution is working. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2016
  7. Chow7

    Chow7

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 6, 2016 at 1:44 AM #877
    Chow7

    Chow7

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    GTX 1080Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks for the information. I probably wont do anything as I have a wired connection anyways. The only reason I believe I need wireless is so that I can use my new apple watch to unlock the computer. Unless there is a way using only bluetooth that someone knows about.
     
  8. calimocco

    calimocco

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Dell D630, Lenovo T510
    CPU:
    Core 2 Duo, Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVidia
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Dec 31, 2016 at 11:16 PM #878
    calimocco

    calimocco

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Mobo:
    Dell D630, Lenovo T510
    CPU:
    Core 2 Duo, Core i7
    Graphics:
    NVidia
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    I'm just starting to look into HDMI audio support for my build through a
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti. Anybody have any suggestions of which method(s) have given the best results?
     
  9. olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 10:32 AM #879
    olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Stork,

    I followed your guide to install El Capitan, same mobo with 660 ti GPU but sound is not working, it only displays soundflower on output devices, any idea on how to solve it?

    Thanks,
     
  10. olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 9:04 PM #880
    olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Seems like after rebooting a second time, alc898 doesn't work anymore. Any suggestions?
     

Share This Page