[Updated] Stork's Thunderbolt Build: i5-3570K | GA-Z77X-UP5-TH | GTX 650 Ti | El Capitan

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by Stork, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 10:32 AM #881
    olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Stork,

    I followed your guide to install El Capitan, same mobo with 660 ti GPU but sound is not working, it only displays soundflower on output devices, any idea on how to solve it?

    Thanks,
     
  2. olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2017 at 9:04 PM #882
    olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Seems like after rebooting a second time, alc898 doesn't work anymore. Any suggestions?
     
  3. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,275
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 12, 2017 at 1:34 AM #883
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,275
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The only thing I can think of is to rerun MultiBeast only selecting the ALC898 audio driver.
     
  4. olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2017 at 10:26 AM #884
    olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I think I know what is the problem:
    If I install everything as you describe in your guide, everything is ok.
    By the way, I'm using Z77 UP5 TH, i7 3,5GHz and 660 ti.
    The moment I save the plist with any modification (trim enable, fix shutdown...) audio goes away upon restart.
    As far as I'm reading in the forum, El Capitan has added Security changes (SIP). I think this is the problem, it messes up the configuration when you change anything with lover configurator.
    I saw Toleda developed a method to bring ALC audio back, but I would like to disable SIP before it goes away. Does it make sense? Anyone having this issue too?
     
  5. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,275
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2017 at 5:28 PM #885
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,275
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Check your config.plist to see if MultiBeast modified the SIP. Check in the RtVaribles section. it should be 0x30 > https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...s-workarounds-and-current-information.170611/

    You might have to disable Gatekeeper which you use to be able to do in the Security & Privacy Preference Pane in System Preferences. However, now you need to use the following Terminal commands:
    Code (Text):
    sudo spctl --master-disable
    spctl --status
    To turn Gatekeeper back on, use:
    Code (Text):
    sudo spctl --master-enable
     
  6. olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2017 at 6:30 PM #886
    olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thank you Stork,
    Actually RTVariables looks like this:

    <dict>

    <key>BooterConfig</key>

    <string>0x28</string>

    <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>

    <string>0x3</string>

    </dict>

    Wouldn't it be better to disable it completely? (car-active-config 0x67)
    That way I shouldn't loose audio when I edit the plist, right?
     
  7. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,275
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 13, 2017 at 6:37 PM #887
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,275
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    You could try it, but I think 0x3 is good enough. I'd try disabling GateKeeper first, though.
     
  8. olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 14, 2017 at 1:50 PM #888
    olvido

    olvido

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
    CPU:
    i7 3,5 GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Classic, iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Finally I managed to solve the audio problem. Even when I disabled gatekeeper and SIP, after changing plist with clover configurator, lost sound after reboot. I followed Toleda's ALC guide and sound came back.
    Thank you all, this is a great community.
     
    Stork likes this.
  9. L3rd

    L3rd

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mar 3, 2017 at 5:53 AM #889
    L3rd

    L3rd

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hello Strok,

    I have similar set up like you have.
    GA-Z77X-UP5-TH, GeForce GTX650, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB Ram.

    I am still using OS X 10.8.4(Mtn. Lion).(Since, I have been nervous to upgrade) I know it's been a long time to upgrade.

    I wanted to go up to MacOS 10.12(Sierra) with clean install with new 500GB SSD.

    So, what would be the best way to do this?(Where to start?)

    I am not a computer savvy and a kinda nervous user. (I don’t know how to use Clover or UniBeast or MultiBeast and …BIOS settings?)

    So could you guide me a easy step by step to do this?

    With many thanks.
     
  10. Burbank

    Burbank

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Slugnet's Video Editor Build
    CPU:
    i7-3770K Quad-Core 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache (Overclocked to 4.4 GHz)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 680
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 3, 2017 at 12:55 PM #890
    Burbank

    Burbank

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Slugnet's Video Editor Build
    CPU:
    i7-3770K Quad-Core 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache (Overclocked to 4.4 GHz)
    Graphics:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 680
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    The forum is filled with step-by-step resources on doing just what you want. It takes some time but you will find people more willing to help after you've exhausted the resources here.

    The very first thread I would read carefully is this one: UniBeast: Install macOS Sierra on Any Supported Intel-based PC

    https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ierra-on-any-supported-intel-based-pc.200564/

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page