Update on Ivy Bridge CustoMac Mini 2012

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,388
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 8, 2015 at 5:45 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,388
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    customacmini2012.jpg
    Update on the CustoMac Mini 2012 Ivy Bridge build. GA-H77N-WIFI + Core i3-3225 + HD 4000 graphics

    http://www.tonymacx86.com/mountain-...-customac-mini-2012-guide-notes-progress.html

    Still running incredibly well and on the latest OS X Yosemite. CustoMac Mini 2012 working great- I stuck a Apple iMac mini card with mini-pcie adapter in. Using the White Prodigy and HD 4000. Here are the MultiBeast settings for a fresh install. Audio fully working using the lower HDMI port for HDMI audio with HDAEnabler layout 3.

    MultiBeast settings:
    Screen Shot 2015-01-08 at 12.51.06 PM.png
    Related:
    Update on Sandy Bridge CustoMac Mini 2011
    Update on CustoMac Pro 2010
     
  2. Joe90k

    Joe90k

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    CustoMacMini 2012
    CPU:
    Core i5
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 8, 2015 at 7:12 PM #2
    Joe90k

    Joe90k

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    CustoMacMini 2012
    CPU:
    Core i5
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a H77n-WiFi and a Z77n-WiFi with an i3 and i5 respectively. The i5 box is a part of my home AV setup and it runs great however, I am having problems with sleep. I think this may be because I am using a DSDT that toleda made for me which does give me HDMI audio and good graphics but the bluetooth takes 30 seconds to kick in after sleep and sometimes the display doesn't wake at all. I also get "A Graphics Problem was detected" window after sleep or even just display sleep.

    I have a Multibeast free 10.10.1 SuperDuper backup which I will restore to and try your settings and report back.

    Thanks tonymacx86! You are a hero.
     
  3. codf4ther

    codf4ther

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 10, 2015 at 6:02 PM #3
    codf4ther

    codf4ther

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i3-3225
    Graphics:
    HD4000
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thanks for the update Tony. I notice you are still running with the old MacPro definition. Do you ever get sound issues with that?
     
  4. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,388
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 10, 2015 at 6:05 PM #4
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,388
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    To be honest I mainly use HDMI audio in the ITX builds, but haven't noticed anything wrong with MacPro3,1. I usually keep it simple for testing purposes and use the defaults, but for further power mgmt optimization you could go with an Ivy Bridge iMac or Mac Mini system definition.
     
  5. colinzeal

    colinzeal

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Mobo:
    Power Mac G5
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 10, 2015 at 10:15 PM #5
    colinzeal

    colinzeal

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    207
    Mobo:
    Power Mac G5
    CPU:
    Intel i3 3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I still use the i3 3225 processor with the GA-B75M-D3P board running Yosemite. I've always had a full working system except for sleep. That was until I used clover.

    It wasn't the fact that I was using a different boatloader, clover by default decides the best smbios for you. It made my system into a Mac mini late 2011 I think from memory.

    Sleeps perfectly.
     
  6. Andalusia

    Andalusia

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    HD 4400
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Lisa, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 11, 2015 at 7:52 AM #6
    Andalusia

    Andalusia

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Z77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    HD 4400
    Mac:
    Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Lisa, Performa, Power Mac, Quadra, Xserve
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My first true Hack was built on this platform - it's currently running 10.10.1.

    Managed to squeeze a full-blown i7-3770K machine into an M-350 ITX case with a PicoPSU. Runs a multitude of programs and virtual machines and has never given me fits. Even managed to get the AzureWave Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card running. Pure horsepower in 160 square inches. Nice.

    The H77N Mini should be awarded the Platinum Build designation.
     
  7. MattBon

    MattBon

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GAH77Nwifi
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    geforce gtx 560ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 12, 2015 at 9:05 AM #7
    MattBon

    MattBon

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GAH77Nwifi
    CPU:
    i7 3770
    Graphics:
    geforce gtx 560ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android

    I concur, I have the h77n in ac prodigy, with an i7 3770, gtx 560ti, and 16gb ram, running mavericks, and it's the main build for my business. I run zbrush and modo concurrently every day, alongside windows 8 on parallels desktop, so that I can open Artcam (win only cad programming). Cs6 gets chucked into the mix every day as well.
    The rig never breaks a sweat. The enthusiast in me wants to upgrade, but I can't find any justification to me with the setup!
     
  8. wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,663
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    Jan 13, 2015 at 8:45 PM #8
    wildwillow

    wildwillow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,663
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD4600+R9 380 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS, Other
    My H77N-Wifi with i3-3225 was the first system I upgraded to Yosemite. It's still one of my favourite systems and is used daily in the Lounge as a media centre. IvyBridge still takes some beating for ease of installation and use. Working perfectly.
     
  9. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,011
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Jul 9, 2015 at 2:52 PM #9
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,011
    Mobo:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    my main System is a Z77-DS3H with a Core i7 3770 16GB DDR3 and a GTX760 and I've got to admit its once of the easiest hacks to run OS X on pretty much its my favourite machine tbh :thumbup:
     
  10. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,388
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 14, 2016 at 9:28 PM #10
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,388
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Anyone else still using a Gigabyte Ivy Bridge? I'm only able to use Clover in Legacy Boot Mode on both the H77N-WIFI and the Z77X-UD5-TH. I think it could be due to the first iteration of UEFI?

    If anyone finds this post, Clover in Legacy Boot Mode works.
     

Share This Page