Contribute
Register

Update HP Laptops to Yosemite with Clover UEFI

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi ,
Thanks for this cool guide. I have successfully upgraded from mavericks to yosemite on my probook 4430.
But in yosemite, my ZTE usb modem has stopped working. Its an issue with yosemite (in real mac also), and now i am forced to buy a usb wify adapter for internet access.
So my question is, can I buy any usb wify adapter which works with yosemite ? Will there be any Hackintosh specific issue ? If so, which usb wify adapter should I purchase ??
USB WiFi not recommended. Instead install a compatible half-mini PCIe WiFi. Details in post #1.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP Probook 4430s
CPU
Intel® Core™ i3-2350M
Graphics
intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
USB WiFi not recommended. Instead install a compatible half-mini PCIe WiFi. Details in post #1.
I have already tried to purchase a Atheros AR5B195 wify card but it is not available in india.. If i order at amazon.com i wil have to wait for a month to get it shipped here. Thats why i thought of buying a usb adapter temporarily.
May i know what is the issue of usb adapters ? Since it is an external hardware, will there be a compatibility issue ? Will it not work at all in hackintosh ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have already tried to purchase a Atheros AR5B195 wify card but it is not available in india.. If i order at amazon.com i wil have to wait for a month to get it shipped here. Thats why i thought of buying a usb adapter temporarily.
May i know what is the issue of usb adapters ? Since it is an external hardware, will there be a compatibility issue ? Will it not work at all in hackintosh ?
USB WiFi tends to cause instability, especially with sleep. The drivers are not well written.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
HP Probook 4430s
CPU
Intel® Core™ i3-2350M
Graphics
intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
USB WiFi tends to cause instability, especially with sleep. The drivers are not well written.
I could not get a PCIe wify card for my probook. I think it is unavailable in India. (since my laptop is 4x30s series, the laptop has whitelist BIOS, so only usable card is HP-branded Atheros AR5B195)
So i will have to take the challenge of this instability.. :(
I got the usb adapter :Netgear WNA3100M N300 from this post : http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook-yosemite/145932-usb-wifi-adapter-yosemite.html#post1083271 . Can I go with this ? do u have any other usb adapter suggestion ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I could not get a PCIe wify card for my probook. I think it is unavailable in India. (since my laptop is 4x30s series, the laptop has whitelist BIOS, so only usable card is HP-branded Atheros AR5B195)
So i will have to take the challenge of this instability.. :(
I got the usb adapter :Netgear WNA3100M N300 from this post : http://www.tonymacx86.com/hp-probook-yosemite/145932-usb-wifi-adapter-yosemite.html#post1083271 . Can I go with this ? do u have any other usb adapter suggestion ?
I've used an Edimax EW-7811Un in the past.
 
Joined
May 21, 2013
Messages
70
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s (Chameleon)
CPU
i5 3210M/HM76
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a couple questions, and sorry if these are dumb questions lol.

First, I have Mavericks installed on here with Chameleon.

I followed the instructions in the other thread to convert Chameleon to Clover Mavericks, and I have it working (partially at least). When I boot now I see Clover and can select my OSX disk drive to boot up (and am in it now). If I exit clover it takes me to Chameleon where I can boot with that.

So I'm trying to follow this guide and press F4 at Chameleon screen. When I do that, nothing happens and I'm not sure what is supposed to happen. Because of that, I'm not sure what is supposed to do in the step following that one. So I am a bit confused so could someone explain what is supposed to happen here?

On a side note, when I boot up with Clover, I get a black screen after the apple load screens, then OSX seems to boot up fine. I am not sure if that's normal or not either, or if that could have something to do with this issue.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have a couple questions, and sorry if these are dumb questions lol.

First, I have Mavericks installed on here with Chameleon.

I followed the instructions in the other thread to convert Chameleon to Clover Mavericks, and I have it working (partially at least). When I boot now I see Clover and can select my OSX disk drive to boot up (and am in it now). If I exit clover it takes me to Chameleon where I can boot with that.

So I'm trying to follow this guide and press F4 at Chameleon screen. When I do that, nothing happens and I'm not sure what is supposed to happen. Because of that, I'm not sure what is supposed to do in the step following that one. So I am a bit confused so could someone explain what is supposed to happen here?

On a side note, when I boot up with Clover, I get a black screen after the apple load screens, then OSX seems to boot up fine. I am not sure if that's normal or not either, or if that could have something to do with this issue.
F4 is pressed at the Clover screen, not Chameleon. You will not see anything "happen".
 
Joined
May 21, 2013
Messages
70
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s (Chameleon)
CPU
i5 3210M/HM76
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
F4 is pressed at the Clover screen, not Chameleon. You will not see anything "happen".
Ah okay. I did press it then and nothing happened so I wasn't sure if it did anything.

Okay I will do that, then run Pro Book Installer CE and update that stuff and then grab Yosemite and hopefully it works. Thanks.
 
Joined
May 21, 2013
Messages
70
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4540s (Chameleon)
CPU
i5 3210M/HM76
Graphics
HD4000, 1366x768
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So I got everything up and running, and 10.10.5 is running stable.

However I updated Xcode and now I can't get the simulators to run. I am wondering if anyone has any idea if this error has to do with the upgrade to Yosemite or something else. I have googled for a bit and haven't had much luck.

I'm getting the following error:

"Simulator cannot be opened because of a problem.
Check with the developer to make sure Simulator works with this version of OS X. You may need to reinstall the application. Be sure to install any available updates for the application and OS X."

When I go and view details, this is the error report that is displayed:

Code:
Process:               Simulator [4009]
Path:                  /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Applications/Simulator.app/Contents/MacOS/Simulator
Identifier:            com.apple.iphonesimulator
Version:               9.0 (620)
Build Info:            Indigo-620000000000000~150
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           Simulator [4009]
User ID:               501


Date/Time:             2015-09-26 09:25:00.490 -0400
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.10.5 (14F27)
Report Version:        11
Anonymous UUID:        0C22CFDF-23CC-7D72-AADE-7641C652302B




Time Awake Since Boot: 67000 seconds


Crashed Thread:        0


Exception Type:        EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes:       0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000


Application Specific Information:
dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries
DYLD_INSERT_LIBRARIES=/usr/lib/libignitor.dylib


Dyld Error Message:
  could not load inserted library '/usr/lib/libignitor.dylib' because no suitable image found.  Did find:
	/usr/lib/libignitor.dylib: mmap() error 1 at address=0x108E2F000, size=0x00001000 segment=__TEXT in Segment::map() mapping /usr/lib/libignitor.dylib


Binary Images:
       0x108dec000 -        0x108e14fff  com.apple.iphonesimulator (9.0 - 620) <853F524A-8A56-38F2-9099-2A6A478D241D> /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Applications/Simulator.app/Contents/MacOS/Simulator
    0x7fff6efb8000 -     0x7fff6efee887  dyld (353.2.3) <B1B370A5-479F-3533-8AD7-97B687D4F989> /usr/lib/dyld


Model: MacBookPro9,2, BootROM MBP91.00D3.B08, 2 processors, Intel Core i5, 2.49 GHz, 8 GB, SMC 2.2f44
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000, Intel HD Graphics 4000, Built-In
Memory Module: BANK0/DIMM0, 4 GB, DDR3, 1600 MHz, Elpida, EBJ40UG8EFU0-GN-F
Memory Module: BANK1/DIMM0, 4 GB, DDR3, 1600 MHz, Elpida, EBJ40UG8EFU0-GN-F
Network Service: Ethernet Adaptor (en4), Ethernet, en4
Network Service: 802.11n WLAN Adapter 4, Ethernet, en5
Serial ATA Device: WDC WD7500BPKT-60PK4T0, 750.16 GB
Serial ATA Device: hp       DVDRAM GT80N
USB Device: Hub
USB Device: 802.11n WLAN Adapter
USB Device: Hub
USB Device: HP HD Webcam [Fixed]
USB Device: Vendor-Specific Device
Thunderbolt Bus:
Doesn't seem like it is specific to the installation, but I wasn't sure if that library it is trying to load is of any significance to the upgrade.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,691
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
So I got everything up and running, and 10.10.5 is running stable.

However I updated Xcode and now I can't get the simulators to run. I am wondering if anyone has any idea if this error has to do with the upgrade to Yosemite or something else. I have googled for a bit and haven't had much luck.

I'm getting the following error:

"Simulator cannot be opened because of a problem.
Check with the developer to make sure Simulator works with this version of OS X. You may need to reinstall the application. Be sure to install any available updates for the application and OS X."

When I go and view details, this is the error report that is displayed:

Code:
Process:               Simulator [4009]
Path:                  /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Applications/Simulator.app/Contents/MacOS/Simulator
Identifier:            com.apple.iphonesimulator
Version:               9.0 (620)
Build Info:            Indigo-620000000000000~150
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           Simulator [4009]
User ID:               501


Date/Time:             2015-09-26 09:25:00.490 -0400
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.10.5 (14F27)
Report Version:        11
Anonymous UUID:        0C22CFDF-23CC-7D72-AADE-7641C652302B




Time Awake Since Boot: 67000 seconds


Crashed Thread:        0


Exception Type:        EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes:       0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000


Application Specific Information:
dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries
DYLD_INSERT_LIBRARIES=/usr/lib/libignitor.dylib


Dyld Error Message:
  could not load inserted library '/usr/lib/libignitor.dylib' because no suitable image found.  Did find:
	/usr/lib/libignitor.dylib: mmap() error 1 at address=0x108E2F000, size=0x00001000 segment=__TEXT in Segment::map() mapping /usr/lib/libignitor.dylib


Binary Images:
       0x108dec000 -        0x108e14fff  com.apple.iphonesimulator (9.0 - 620) <853F524A-8A56-38F2-9099-2A6A478D241D> /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Applications/Simulator.app/Contents/MacOS/Simulator
    0x7fff6efb8000 -     0x7fff6efee887  dyld (353.2.3) <B1B370A5-479F-3533-8AD7-97B687D4F989> /usr/lib/dyld


Model: MacBookPro9,2, BootROM MBP91.00D3.B08, 2 processors, Intel Core i5, 2.49 GHz, 8 GB, SMC 2.2f44
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000, Intel HD Graphics 4000, Built-In
Memory Module: BANK0/DIMM0, 4 GB, DDR3, 1600 MHz, Elpida, EBJ40UG8EFU0-GN-F
Memory Module: BANK1/DIMM0, 4 GB, DDR3, 1600 MHz, Elpida, EBJ40UG8EFU0-GN-F
Network Service: Ethernet Adaptor (en4), Ethernet, en4
Network Service: 802.11n WLAN Adapter 4, Ethernet, en5
Serial ATA Device: WDC WD7500BPKT-60PK4T0, 750.16 GB
Serial ATA Device: hp       DVDRAM GT80N
USB Device: Hub
USB Device: 802.11n WLAN Adapter
USB Device: Hub
USB Device: HP HD Webcam [Fixed]
USB Device: Vendor-Specific Device
Thunderbolt Bus:
Doesn't seem like it is specific to the installation, but I wasn't sure if that library it is trying to load is of any significance to the upgrade.
Do a fresh install to compare.
 
Top