Contribute
Register

Update HP Laptops to Yosemite with Clover UEFI

Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
62
Motherboard
Win 8.1 / Mac 10.9.2
CPU
Core i5
Graphics
Radeon 2gb
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Ckjf5T5.png

The guide is ONLY for current HP laptop users with WORKING Mavericks using my Clover Mavericks guide.

Procedure to update to Yosemite

1. Press F4 at Clover screen.

2. Run latest PBI CE and update Clover, kexts, DSDT, config.

3. Restart to check if you're still alive :lol:

4. Go to AppStore, download and install Yosemite, the installer will tell you to restart.

5. When it restarts, select the new boot option in Clover screen to install.

6. When everything is done, check your bluetooth/audio. If it does not work, rerun PBI CE to update kexts and use Kext Wizard to repair permission, rebuild cache a few times to make it really stable.

8. For anyone with HD4400/HD4600, you have to generate config/patch dsdt, and select option to enable OpenGL/OpenCL in PBI CE.

97. Enjoy!
Troubleshoot

- For users with Broadcom 43224 wifi card, you have to set SMBIOS to MacBook Air 5,2 to get Wifi working.

Do i need to backup my files ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Do i need to backup my files ?

A backup is always a good idea. HDD/SSD devices can fail at any moment without warning. But more often than not, the cause of data loss is human error.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
62
Motherboard
Win 8.1 / Mac 10.9.2
CPU
Core i5
Graphics
Radeon 2gb
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
A backup is always a good idea. HDD/SSD devices can fail at any moment without warning. But more often than not, the cause of data loss is human error.

so if i do it right .. my files and apps (in macintoshHD) will be the same ?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
so if i do it right .. my files and apps (in macintoshHD) will be the same ?

Yes, but always have a backup and know how to use it.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Probook 4530s A7K05UT Clover w Yosemite
CPU
Core i3 2350
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm weighing the pros and cons of installing yosemite.
Have an HP 4530s triple booting Mavericks, Windows 7, and
Snow Leopard with Chimera bootloader. It's running so well I hate to mess with it,
but wondering if it's possible to erase only the snow leopard
partition and install Yosemite there? Thanks for any heads up.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2012
Messages
3,464
Motherboard
HP Elitebook 8470p
CPU
i5 3320M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1600x900
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm weighing the pros and cons of installing yosemite.
Have an HP 4530s triple booting Mavericks, Windows 7, and
Snow Leopard with Chimera bootloader. It's running so well I hate to mess with it,
but wondering if it's possible to erase only the snow leopard
partition and install Yosemite there? Thanks for any heads up.

No, this update method only applies for system with Clover only.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,933
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm weighing the pros and cons of installing yosemite.
Have an HP 4530s triple booting Mavericks, Windows 7, and
Snow Leopard with Chimera bootloader. It's running so well I hate to mess with it,
but wondering if it's possible to erase only the snow leopard
partition and install Yosemite there? Thanks for any heads up.

Transition to Clover prior to updating to Yosemite.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2012
Messages
25
Motherboard
Probook 4530s A7K05UT Clover w Yosemite
CPU
Core i3 2350
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok will read up on switching to Clover first.
Thanks
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
16
Motherboard
HP Probook 4430s
CPU
Intel® Core™ i3-2350M
Graphics
intel HD 3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi ,
Thanks for this cool guide. I have successfully upgraded from mavericks to yosemite on my probook 4430.
But in yosemite, my ZTE usb modem has stopped working. Its an issue with yosemite (in real mac also), and now i am forced to buy a usb wify adapter for internet access.
So my question is, can I buy any usb wify adapter which works with yosemite ? Will there be any Hackintosh specific issue ? If so, which usb wify adapter should I purchase ??
 
Top