Contribute
Register

Update Directly to macOS High Sierra

Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
618
Do you need a USB stick to do the Direct Update? It says in first post no USB creation needed but mine boots up with out showing macOS install drive.
No, you do not create a USB install drive for a Direct Update. Download the update from Apple and run it. It will reboot your computer a few times, booting from an install partition it creates during the update process.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2017
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Is it still possible to get a High Sierra install somehow? I need to update from Sierra in order to update XCode but I don't want to use Mojave due to the missing NVidia drivers. But High Sierra is not in the App Store anymore..
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2017
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170MX-Gaming 5
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Ah sorry and thanks! The App Store search only gave me Mojave as a result.. getting the link from the Apple webpage works.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
6
CPU
I7-4750HQ
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX-950M
After updating from sierra to high sierra screen was like this and everything was working fine on sierra but after updating screen was like this. Any suggestions how to fix it ?
 

Attachments

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
19,993
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
After updating from sierra to high sierra screen was like this and everything was working fine on sierra but after updating screen was like this. Any suggestions how to fix it ?
This is a Desktop forum, your post is off topic.
For help with a Laptop you should post in the relevant Laptop Support forum.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z97X Killer ATX LGA1150
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790k
Graphics
Zotac GTX 980 Ti Amp Extreme
A little help here... when I try to download High Sierra from the the Mac App store (from the link found on post #834), the download is only 22.7 MB for v.13.6.02.
Is this correct? If not, how do I gain access to the full GBs install file?

UPDATE:
Problem Solved. I was able to use a different Mac and download the full installer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
59
Motherboard
HP Elite 8300 MT v2.99
CPU
i5-3470 3.2Ghz
Graphics
MSI GT 710 silent
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
A little help here... when I try to download High Sierra from the the Mac App store (from the link found on post #834), the download is only 22.7 MB for v.13.6.02.
Is this correct? If not, how do I gain access to the full GBs install file?

UPDATE:
Problem Solved. I was able to use a different Mac and download the full installer.
I'm having the same problem, but have tried on two different Macs and still have the same ~22mb download and not the full High Sierra install app. On a backup drive I do have a copy of High Sierra installer 10.13.3 however Multibeast says it is only compatible with 13.4+ so I think I need a newer version. Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: searched and may have found a solution here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/fix-solution-for-selected-mac-os-x-installer-is-incomplete.249330/

Update: Solved. Leave the 22mb Installer file in place in Applications, run the update from that small installer file and instead of reboooting when it asks you to, exit the Installer program, then run the commands in Terminal (use the commands suggested in post #35 in the thread in my Edit comment) and it seems to work, building a 5.21Gb High Sierra installer app.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 26, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Z170HD3P
CPU
i5
Graphics
HD530
Hello,
I followed the first post of Tony to direct upgrade my 10.12.6 installation.
I had an issue after booting on new high Sierra system drive. It was only possible to boot in safe mode and i hadn't EFI partition. I found a post in other thread who said to update the lilu.kext. The update of lilu 1.3.1 solved this issue.
It's for those who boot only in safe mode and haven't EFI partition
 
Top