Contribute
Register

Update Directly to macOS High Sierra

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,722
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Stork thank you! I'm having another issue and am hoping you could help.

I have been able to relaunch the previous version OS and installed Clover v2.4k_r4586 as instructed. I double checked to be sure all files are in place, as instructed as well. However, when I choose to Boot macOS Install from Macintosh HD, I get the Apple logo that loads a little less than half way and the machine reboots. When it reboots, my motherboard shows "AE" on the LED display and my monitor only shows a blinking white bar in the top left corner. It will not go back to clover. I have to reboot the machine to get back to Clover and the cycle continues.

Any suggestions?
"Boot macOS Install from Macintosh HD" is left over from your previous installation (unless you're installing). Just select "Boot from Macintosh HD" (or something like that).

During the installation for Sierra & High Sierra, the installing process boots three times:
- Two times from "Boot macOS Install from..."
- Last time from "Boot from Install Drive" which is your "Macintosh HD".​

Hopefully, that answered your question.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lenovo
CPU
Intel core I7
Graphics
Nvidia geforce GT1050ti
Mobile Phone
Android
ii really am stuck doing the update it resstarts comes to load bar with apple logo and gets near end and stays there for ages any ideas ?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
20,286
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
ii really am stuck doing the update it resstarts comes to load bar with apple logo and gets near end and stays there for ages any ideas ?
None.

You should read and comply with the rules, in particular the one regarding profiles.
Link to profile
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Lenovo
CPU
Intel core I7
Graphics
Nvidia geforce GT1050ti
Mobile Phone
Android
is the fresh install easier then update? im frozen on apple loadin bar near the end stuck
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
36
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UP5TH
CPU
i7
Graphics
GTX 680
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
UniBeast and MultiBeast users-

MultiBeast 9.2.1 is incompatible with APFS drives, but works with HFS+. We will be releasing updated versions of UniBeast and MultiBeast and a full UniBeast installation guide in the near future.
is MultiBeast still incompatible with APFS drives? I'm trying to get my Series 6 w/ GTX680 to work on High Sierra with a SSD formatted to APFS.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,722
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700k LGA1151
Graphics
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
9464ED39-6354-4631-8541-D7B7E082E32C.png 88089F4E-2F03-421A-9E4F-22599090D234.png
"Boot macOS Install from Macintosh HD" is left over from your previous installation (unless you're installing). Just select "Boot from Macintosh HD" (or something like that).

During the installation for Sierra & High Sierra, the installing process boots three times:
- Two times from "Boot macOS Install from..."
- Last time from "Boot from Install Drive" which is your "Macintosh HD".​

Hopefully, that answered your question.
@Stork, I appreciate the reply. But I’m still getting the same issue. I try to run the downloaded “Install MacOS High Sierra” that was downloaded on my machine from the App Store, but cannot get to the Clover screen on the initial reboot that is required. Every time, it takes me past the BIOS screen, to a black screen with a blinking cursor and my motherboard gives an “AE” code.

Any further advice would be appreciated.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,722
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
View attachment 351461 View attachment 351462
@Stork, I appreciate the reply. But I’m still getting the same issue. I try to run the downloaded “Install MacOS High Sierra” that was downloaded on my machine from the App Store, but cannot get to the Clover screen on the initial reboot that is required. Every time, it takes me past the BIOS screen, to a black screen with a blinking cursor and my motherboard gives an “AE” code.

Any further advice would be appreciated.
Did you follow the procedures in Post #1? If so, please open a thread with your problem in High Sierra Desktop Support as this thread is not a help thread. TIA.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2017
Messages
24
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Hero
CPU
i7-7700k LGA1151
Graphics
EVGA GEFORCE GTX 1060 SSC
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did you follow the procedures in Post #1? If so, please open a thread with your problem in High Sierra Desktop Support as this thread is not a help thread. TIA.
I've followed the instructions multiple times over and still cannot get this to be successful. I've started a post in High Sierra Desktop Support linked here. Any chance you could point someone to it to offer advice?

FWIW: My monitor is connected via HDMI 3 port on my EVGA GEForce GTX 1060.

Thanks in advance!
 
Top