Contribute
Register

Update Directly to macOS High Sierra

Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
26
Motherboard
ASUS Z170-A
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
GTX 970
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Stork, thanks again for your explanations. I did as you described ... and can now boot into macOS 10.13.1. However, something didn't go the expected way: NVIDIA web driver are up to date but cannot be activated. Or better to say after rebooting things are back to macOS default drivers :|. config.plist is the same as before.
Also, I noticed that in clover boot menu there are to additional entries. Both stating something with "preboot". I suppose they are linked to the installation. Any ideas about what I could have done wrong? Any suggestions are warmly welcome :)
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,629
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Stork, thanks again for your explanations. I did as you described ... and can now boot into macOS 10.13.1. However, something didn't go the expected way: NVIDIA web driver are up to date but cannot be activated. Or better to say after rebooting things are back to macOS default drivers :|. config.plist is the same as before.
See slim.jim's guide, Problem #6, for a solution > Solving NVIDIA Driver Install & Loading Problems, or you could run MultiBeast for High Sierra and just select the following:
Bootloaders > Clover UEFI Boot Mode + Emulated NVRAM​
The problem lies with ASUS latest BIOSs stopped saving NVRAM between reboots so you have to use the Clover capability to make sure NVRAM carries over between reboots.
Also, I noticed that in clover boot menu there are to additional entries. Both stating something with "preboot". I suppose they are linked to the installation. Any ideas about what I could have done wrong? Any suggestions are warmly welcome :)
Ignore those other entries. They're due to APFS. There are some posts in High Sierra Desktop Support forum section that talk about those entries with possible solutions; I just ignore them. Speaking of the HS Desktop forum section, please post further problems there as this thread is not intended to be a help thread. TIA.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Mac OS 10.11
CPU
2.8 Intel Core i5
Graphics
GeForce GTX 460 1Gb
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
After direct update i have no options Boot macOS Install or Boot macOS. I have only Boot Clover from EFI. I hadn't copied apfs.efi to /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI/. I think, that my system doesn't see SSD Disk. What should i do?
 
Last edited:

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,629
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
After direct update i have no options Boot macOS Install or Boot macOS. I have only Boot Clover from EFI. I hadn't copied apfs.efi to /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI/. I think, that my system doesn't see SSD Disk. What should i do?
Not a help thread, please create a new thread in the High Sierra forum section, also as per rules, please update your hardware profile
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2016
Messages
51
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth Z170 S
CPU
Core i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you very much for these instructions. They did work for me, with the caveat that I had to remove the NVIDIA GTX 1080 card to complete the installation.

At first I was a bit perplexed by the following:

Copy FakeSMC.kext and any other extra necessary kexts to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. If you need essential kexts, download them here.
I have been running a Hackintosh on Sierra for a year and this is the first time I hear about FakeSMC.kext or any other necessary kexts. And yet the description of FakeSMC.kext says that this is absolutely necessary, and I also had to put IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext into /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/ for the installation to complete, so it stands to reason that I had been using these all along.

I think it would be beneficial to provide a little explanation as to how one would go about determining which kexts are necessary. I am guessing that I have been blissfully unaware of any necessary kexts because Multibeast installed them for me. Is that true? If so, where were they installed? I did not have anything in /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/, or in any other directory under /EFI/CLOVER/kexts before I started the High Sierra update... Is it possible to determine what kexts I was using for Sierra after I completed the High Sierra update?

I also think that using "necessary kexts" in the first sentence and "essential kexts" in the second sentence is confusing. I realize that "necessary" and "essential" mean pretty much the same thing but I had seriously considered the possibility that these are two different sets of kexts and I was wondering where I should put the "essential kexts" (given that the "necessary" ones go into
/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/, the "essential" ones probably go somewhere else, right???)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
18
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
This was *totally* not obvious to me, and once I got through the install, all my drives had disappeared from the Clover loader. Luckily while I was installing, I came across your post and was able to use the shell to copy the file into /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64 and boom, back in business. I really appreciate you adding this tidbit into the forum, even if it only helps a few n00bs like us ;-)
I got same issue and it really scared me. I didn't do any backup. Thanks for lot.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
ASRock H170M Pro4S
CPU
Intel i5 6500
Graphics
Nadia gtx 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I've successfully updated from El Capitan to High Sierra but unfortunately I can not make my GTX 970 work. If I use nvdia web driver before login screen the monitor goes black and stops working. I checked lilu and graphicfix kexts and followed many guides but nothing's working. Do you have any advice? I really wish to update and I'm excited everything's working properly but since I can't use integrated graphic I'd really need to solve this issue!!
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
MSI Z170A Gaming M5
CPU
Intel 3.7 GHz Intel Core i3 (Skylake)
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX760
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Has anyone ran into the issue where the "Boot from macOS" option doesn't show up in clover after you started the install and the system reboots?
Had the same problem. Had to delete and redownload the High Sierra installer. Then it worked for me. If you have another macos installation on your computer, also update that to the latest clover
 
Top