Contribute
Register

Update Directly to macOS High Sierra

Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
70
Motherboard
ASUS Z370-A Prime
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi
Is anyone already having experience with NVme drive as boot drive?
It says they are now supported natively.

Greetings
David
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2
Motherboard
Gigabyte
CPU
i7
Graphics
nVidia

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2017-09-26 at 10.30.45.png
    Screen Shot 2017-09-26 at 10.30.45.png
    3.3 MB · Views: 1,041
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
4
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170MX
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
GTX980
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Wow, thank you so much to the amazing Admins and community members here. This guide to directly update from Sierra worked to a T. Could not be happier with my hack. The only thing that doesn't show is my 4790k overclocks to 4.8 Ghz. Keep up the great work!

View attachment 280510
What kind of monitor are you using? Looks great!!!
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
218
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390 Aorus Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
amd vega64 frontier edition 16 gb, amd RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi
Is anyone already having experience with NVme drive as boot drive?
It says they are now supported natively.

Greetings
David
I have NVMe but I was not able to run it after a successful update ..I think my old hackrnvme clashed up . and once you mess up its not possible to go back into system files to change or remove the kext that might have caused a problem when we go back from the old clone backup..APFS system files are hidden ..I am trying again now but hard I hope I can format APFS drive NVMe back to HFS and re clone my old Sierra back and then try again to update. Its annoying right now.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2010
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
CPU
3.19 i5 Sky Lake
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
A bit rusty on my updating here as have had a working Clover Sierra installation that's been stable as a rock for ages so haven't had to play with it other than do faultless appstore updates. So plse refresh my memory, to update to High Sierra with an existing Sierra installation on an SSD that has the latest clover installed I have to copy required kexts to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/ and add apfs.efi too right? How do I extract the apfs.efi from the installer or will the one from the link in the instructions work OK? I'm guessing the kexts I have to copy over ill be from /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI as drivers32UEFI is empty, or if am I wrong what kexts and where from? I have no FakeSMC.kext so do I need to to download and add it or will it work without? Forgive my newbie questions but as I said I'm more than a little rusty with it.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2016
Messages
287
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH (F22g)
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Just follow the instructions on the first page, and yes, apfs.efi that is linked on page one will work. Yes, download the FakeSMC.kext and yes you need it. :)
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2010
Messages
61
Motherboard
Gigabyte Intel LGA 1151 H170 DS3H
CPU
3.19 i5 Sky Lake
Graphics
Radeon RX 560 4 GB
Just follow the instructions on the first page, and yes, apfs.efi that is linked on page one will work. Yes, download the FakeSMC.kext and yes you need it. :)
And the kexts are from /EFI/CLOVER/drivers64UEFI? Thanx for the reply...
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,280
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Do we need to completely disabled SIP
Set the bits you need to boot/install, use 0x67 if its working. Otherwise 0x3FF sets all bits and you don't need to consider SIP anymore.
 
Top