Contribute
Register

Unlock Max turbo for Haswell Xeon cpu?

Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS/USB3.1
CPU
E5-2696 v3
Graphics
Vega FE
On the Mac OS x this is normal (Mac os x itself adjusts the power depending on the power consumption) .

You check in Windows there will be higher. You can still increase it but it is too dangerous and will not work stably.

I'm quite happy with EFI-90-50 . I have not tried OpenCore yet .
 
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
4
Motherboard
Elite X2 G!
CPU
2678v3
Graphics
vega 56
On the Mac OS x this is normal (Mac os x itself adjusts the power depending on the power consumption) .

You check in Windows there will be higher. You can still increase it but it is too dangerous and will not work stably.

I'm quite happy with EFI-90-50 . I have not tried OpenCore yet .
Could u tell me what EFI driver you are using now? I cant reach even 3.0 on 2678v3
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2010
Messages
85
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS/USB3.1
CPU
E5-2696 v3
Graphics
Vega FE
Could u tell me what EFI driver you are using now? I cant reach even 3.0 on 2678v3
I don’t use it now, because I don’t know how to do it correctly in Open Core.
From experience with use, I can assure you that the frequency readings in
Mac OS X and Windows differ 2900 and 3300. I believe that this is due to the fact that the Mac itself limits the frequencies according to the selected configuration.
I did not use it myself, but some spoke well about the EFI with increased voltage.
https://github.com/freecableguy/v3x4/releases/tag/v3x4-0.10b-i306f2-rc9
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
3
Motherboard
x99 tf
CPU
e5 2678 v3
Graphics
rx 580
Hi guys! I setup hackintosh to huanan x99 tf with e5 2678 x3. also made bios for unlock turbo with deleted microcode and in windows it works, but not in mac. what i need to add to have turbo?
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
225
Motherboard
ASUS X99 AII
CPU
E5-2696 v3
Graphics
RX 560
Mobile Phone
iOS

Attachments

Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
X99 F8 Huananzhi
CPU
Xeon V3 2620
Graphics
Radeon RX 570 4GB
Dj_adam21,

I found de V3.EFI and put into the clover bootloader, and for once It unlocked the 3.2GHz (Xeon V3 2620) turbo for my Hackintosh (Catalina Version) but as soon as I rebooted I couldn't get the unlock boost anymore. Now, on the bios its appearing this message: "V3 overclocking locked".

I also tried with no success reseted all clover configuration, reset bios configuration, remove Motherboard battery. The Overclocking on windows still working.

Do You have any clue?

Thanks!


U need to put an .efi file in your clover bootloader I only have it for E5 2996V3 but you can look here https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/what-controls-turbo-core-in-xeons.2496647/ to get some turbo efi files for your cpu
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
225
Motherboard
ASUS X99 AII
CPU
E5-2696 v3
Graphics
RX 560
Mobile Phone
iOS
Dj_adam21,

I found de V3.EFI and put into the clover bootloader, and for once It unlocked the 3.2GHz (Xeon V3 2620) turbo for my Hackintosh (Catalina Version) but as soon as I rebooted I couldn't get the unlock boost anymore. Now, on the bios its appearing this message: "V3 overclocking locked".

I also tried with no success reseted all clover configuration, reset bios configuration, remove Motherboard battery. The Overclocking on windows still working.

Do You have any clue?

Thanks!
Never happened to me , make sure the file is in CLOVER-DRIVERS-UEFI folder, if not maybe try to flash the bios again.
Hope it helps :)
 
Top