UniBeast: Install OS X Mountain Lion on Any Supported Intel-based PC

Discussion in 'Mountain Lion Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. ilyalazutkin

    ilyalazutkin

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    i3960x
    Graphics:
    GTX 690
    Aug 15, 2012 at 12:56 PM #31
    ilyalazutkin

    ilyalazutkin

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    Mac OS X
    CPU:
    i3960x
    Graphics:
    GTX 690
    DTST for Asus Rampage IV?
     
  2. 3william56

    3william56

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77M-D3H-MVP
    CPU:
    i7 3700K
    Graphics:
    Geforce 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 15, 2012 at 3:32 PM #32
    3william56

    3william56

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77M-D3H-MVP
    CPU:
    i7 3700K
    Graphics:
    Geforce 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Just got my Core i7 3770K / GA-Z77-D3H-MVP Macbeast running beautifully first time (and had the pleasure of watching it outgun my old iMac by a factor of 6 doing a trial Final Cut render. Thanks guys.

    There's a couple of lessons that I learned in the process which were fairly tough to find answers for.
    The following might help noobs like myself avoid wasting a few hours in the process - you might want to add them to the article.

    1) If you're using an Apple Cinema Display (23", but I think it applies to all), it cannot display the resolution of the Gigabyte BIOS screen. You will need to use a more conventional PC monitor, or (my solution) a VGA cable to a flat screen TV to see the BIOS for the first AHCI adjustment and boot order setting. Once you're past the BIOS, you will be fine. The resolution will be very low until you use Multibeast, install Chameleon 1.11 and reboot, then will be fine from then on.

    2) Gigabyte motherboards tend to switch off USB3 ports and USB2 ports not directly connected to the motherboard during the Unibeast install. If you plug your UniBeast USB into a front panel USB socket, or a back panel USB socket, the Unibeast install will hang (verbose mode will repeat "Waiting on ROOT device") after a couple of minutes. Plug the USB Unibeast into a rear panel USB2 (black) socket, and you will be good to go.

    3) If you're using a Core i7 and internal graphics, make sure you use the most up to date Multibeast. Chameleon Version 1.10 doesn't have the internal graphics driver.

    4) To enable USB3 and stop system crashes with USB devices being plugged in, use the Lacie USB3 driver for Mac: http://www.lacie.com/more/index.htm?id=10112
     
  3. 3william56

    3william56

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77M-D3H-MVP
    CPU:
    i7 3700K
    Graphics:
    Geforce 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 15, 2012 at 3:38 PM #33
    3william56

    3william56

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77M-D3H-MVP
    CPU:
    i7 3700K
    Graphics:
    Geforce 660 Ti
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    One question for myself: up till now it's widely reported that motherboards with VIA Codec sound chips can't get the sound working with a CustoMac, and USB sound cards are the only solution. Over at OSX86.net, they claim to have a kext pair to get the Mobo sound going for Mountain Lion VIA 2021 Codecs.
    http://www.osx86.net/downloads.php?do=file&id=3041
    I followed the instructions and got nothing. Has anyone looked at this, got any clues?
     
  4. mdrehanazam

    mdrehanazam

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-M
    CPU:
    Intel i5 2300
    Graphics:
    AMD/ATI SAPPHIRE RADEON HD 6700
    Mobile Phone:
    Windows Phone
    Aug 15, 2012 at 3:48 PM #34
    mdrehanazam

    mdrehanazam

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z77-M
    CPU:
    Intel i5 2300
    Graphics:
    AMD/ATI SAPPHIRE RADEON HD 6700
    Mobile Phone:
    Windows Phone
    Article: UniBeast: Install OS X Mountain Lion on Any Supported Intel-based PC

    WP_000002 (2).jpg I Installed Mountain lion And installed multibeast from my previous installed lion 10.7.4, workd great but the application are not responding, A system hangs, even shutdown sometime dont work. Installed with amd graphic card 6770 but graphic show 3 mb only.
     
  5. Tipsy

    Tipsy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58
    CPU:
    990x
    Graphics:
    Hd6990 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 15, 2012 at 6:02 PM #35
    Tipsy

    Tipsy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58
    CPU:
    990x
    Graphics:
    Hd6990 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    THANK YOU William56!

    I second the problem with USB3.0 on Gigabyte boards, dont use it! I lost days to that problem, just tried the USB 2.0 on the MOB directly and it finally made it to the installer screen thank god. (note it did type in GraphicsEnabler=no at the chamelion screen (with and apple and a USB icon on it).

    Gigabyte x58 UD7 Rev 2.0 BIOS 7, Samsung 830 SSD, socket 1366 990x i7 CPU, NVIDIA 670 4gig EVGA version, Arcea 1880i-12 (not primary boot), 24gigs RAM , video card slot one, RAID slot last, SSD primary boot drive in SATA #1
     
  6. Tipsy

    Tipsy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58
    CPU:
    990x
    Graphics:
    Hd6990 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Aug 15, 2012 at 7:05 PM #36
    Tipsy

    Tipsy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte x58
    CPU:
    990x
    Graphics:
    Hd6990 4gb
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Article: UniBeast: Install OS X Mountain Lion on Any Supported Intel-based PC

    I support the USB 2.0 vs 3.0 on a Gigabyte x58 UD7A board, could not get to the installer screen on a USB3 port.

    It also requires that I used the "GraphicsEnabler=no", and I add to that line "-x" safe mode seems to get to the installer more reliably. I do use a NVIDIA EVGA GTX 670 card.

    =======================================


    However, I cant seem to get the Mac installer to see my SSD drive, when it asks were to install OSX my choices are blank, no hard drives listed.

    I have tried the default intel ICH10 SATA slot zero and one, tried the SATA Marvell 9128 chip slot and the JMicron362 slots, I tried a few different cables.

    I tried two SSD's in all of the slots above, the first is a brand new blank Samsung 256GB SSD, unformated,and the MOB sees it during start up. I also tried a Crucial C300 older 60GB drive, it is seen in the MOB bios start up and Camelion sees it as well since it has a windos installation on it, and camelion gives the option to boot windows (I dont use it obviously, I boot from the Unibeast USB)

    No other cards installed. Video is in first PcIE slot.

    I made sure the MOB BIOS is set to AHCI in all cases.

    Any ideas?
     
  7. Zackptg5

    Zackptg5

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Powercolor Radeon R9 270 2gb
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 15, 2012 at 7:09 PM #37
    Zackptg5

    Zackptg5

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UP5-TH
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770
    Graphics:
    Powercolor Radeon R9 270 2gb
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Article: UniBeast: Install OS X Mountain Lion on Any Supported Intel-based PC

    THANK YOU!!! You're a life saver :)
     
  8. soheil.noori

    soheil.noori

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    win 7
    CPU:
    intel g620
    Graphics:
    r7 250
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 15, 2012 at 9:15 PM #38
    soheil.noori

    soheil.noori

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Mobo:
    win 7
    CPU:
    intel g620
    Graphics:
    r7 250
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    hi
    based on your note that gigabyte UEFI motherboards don't require a DSDT, what options should i choose in Multibeast? easybeast installation or nothing?!(cuz I've a UEFI mobo)
     
  9. shayja

    shayja

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Intel® H67 Express Chipset Family
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2310 2.90GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GT610
    Aug 15, 2012 at 10:47 PM #39
    shayja

    shayja

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Intel® H67 Express Chipset Family
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-2310 2.90GHz
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GT610
    I followed all the steps and installed Mountain Lion, the problem: safe mode is required for boot.
    After the
    restart of the system before completing the second part of installation boot from HDD didn't work.
    I completed the installation
    by typing -x (safe mode) on boot from HDD.
    I downloaded Multibeat and choose:
    Easybeast Installation
    Audio=>Without DSDT=>ALC892 (audio not working but perhaps because of the safe mode)
    IOAHCIBlockStorageInjector
    Trim Enabler
    ElliottForceLegacyRTC
    EvOreboot
    FakeSMC
    NullCPUPowerManagement
    hnak's AppleIntelIE1000e Ethernet (works OK)
    Chimera v1.11.1r1394
    MacPro 3.1


    Whatever I try - can't boot without safe mode.

    My System:

    CPU: Intel Core i5-2310 2.90GHz
    Motherboard: Intel® Desktop Board DH67BL (H67 Express chipset-based).
    On Board Graphic/Audio (no pci cards at all)
    12 GB Kingston memory cards (2X4, 2X2)
    120GB Intel SSD


    Please help me to fix it
     
  10. chuck666

    chuck666

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Aug 15, 2012 at 10:51 PM #40
    chuck666

    chuck666

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Article: UniBeast: Install OS X Mountain Lion on Any Supported Intel-based PC

    Why not try -v also. Maybe the verbose listing will tell what doesn't load?
     

Share This Page