Contribute
Register

UniBeast: Install OS X El Capitan on Any Supported Intel-based PC

Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
1,351
Motherboard
ASRock B450 Steel Legend
CPU
Ryzen 3 3100
Graphics
RX 570
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
This only seems to work for UEFI, not with the legacy boot approach. The script assumes you mount an EFI partition, whereas the legacy approach doesn't have a true EFI partition. That's my take one. Us legacy old farts need a way to get ALC working on our p55 type BIOS machines.


Then install your alc kext using kext wizard
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
103
Motherboard
Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 650
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
James,

Did you have any success? I have tried several times and have the same problem you have. I find the USB device has only about 2.9 GBs of data stored. Far cry from the 7.5 GBs that should be there. I'm completely puzzled.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
3
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have this problem with UniBeast...


"Couldn't remove installation packages"

Anyone helps me please?
 

ModBot

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,351
Motherboard
01010
CPU
10101
Graphics
01010
Please post your help request in the appropriate thread/forum.

This topic is not a help thread, it's a guide.

Any future posts asking for help will be removed.
 
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
47
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020 (SFF)
CPU
G3258
Graphics
HD 8570
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Clover Configurator is Evil

After ripping my hair out for most of the day trying to get a clean install up and running, I traced my issues to step "9. Your config.plist should auto-mount". For some reason this step kept overwriting my config.plist rendering my system unbootable. Make sure to load the config.plist using the File->Open menu, make any/all changes and save all at once. Once these changes are comitted run the audio_clover_ALC script and don't open Configurator anymore. So if you're having issues, make sure to make copies of the config.plist as you go so you can see if it gets overwritten. Things seem to be working well at this point Except for three issues:
1. The Clover menu seems to have a really low resolution, it doesn't seem to respect the 1920x1080 setting.
2. There's no default boot option set. People will have to dig out a non-bluetooth keyboard or mouse to make a selection.
3. Bluetooth is flakey after a reboot. My Apple Touchpad in particular is jerkey, won't recognize gestures, etc. Apple keyboard takes a minute or two to connect after a cold boot. Unplugging and re-plugging the bluetooth dongle fixes it.


-----------------------
Commands that helped me out:

Wipe EFI (in case you need to start over):
newfs_msdos -v EFI -F 32 /dev/rdisk0s1

Mount EFI (so you can backup your config.plist in Finder):
mkdir /Volumes/EFI && sudo mount_msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/EFI
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
Intel DX58SO
CPU
i7
Graphics
AMD RADEON 7970
Mac
Classic Mac
  1. Workgroup Server
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
Everything Works fine but look screenshot why this ?

[link]
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 12.41.23 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 12.41.23 PM.jpg
    215.9 KB · Views: 327
Joined
Nov 2, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Asus TUF SABERTOOTH X99
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 760
This only seems to work for UEFI, not with the legacy boot approach. The script assumes you mount an EFI partition, whereas the legacy approach doesn't have a true EFI partition. That's my take one. Us legacy old farts need a way to get ALC working on our p55 type BIOS machines.

I had the same problem but i fixed
1) Make sure that the disk Label is ElCapitan and not El Capitan
2) Enable FixHDA in config.plist
3) Disable System Integrity Protection (SIP)
Add this in config.plist above <key>SMBIOS</key>
Code:
    <key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
        <key>BooterConfig</key>
        <string>0x28</string>
        <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
        <string>0x3</string>
    </dict>
Save
4) Reboot
5) Run audio_cloverALC-110_v1.0f.command
6) Reboot

:thumbup:
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2015
Messages
27
Motherboard
ASUS N552VW-FI202T (Clover)
CPU
i7-6700HQ/HM170
Graphics
HD 530 + Georce GTX 960M, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
James,Did you have any success? I have tried several times and have the same problem you have. I find the USB device has only about 2.9 GBs of data stored. Far cry from the 7.5 GBs that should be there. I'm completely puzzled.
I haven't tried with the installation yet, but this time I tried again with the 8GB USB, waiting though the progress bar didn't go on. Right-clicking and going to "Get info", I noticed that the amount of data was increasing as I closed/reopened the window, but not every time I did it. Sooo repartition your drive and try again, and this time wait until it finishes: it HAS TO do it...
 
Top