UniBeast: Install OS X El Capitan on Any Supported Intel-based PC

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 8, 2017 at 9:35 PM #1191
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    I dont have a mach_kernel in my chamelon.plist so the advice to remove that doesnt work. I dont seem to have a System/Library/Kernels folder either so Im not sure how that can be in El C.
     
  2. AM0207xx

    AM0207xx

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    989
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K @ 3,5 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600 // Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 4096GB GDDR5 RAM (1920x1080)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 8, 2017 at 9:46 PM #1192
    AM0207xx

    AM0207xx

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    989
    Motherboard:
    Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K @ 3,5 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600 // Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 4096GB GDDR5 RAM (1920x1080)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Please update your personal details and fill in your hardware specs to get better support in the future.
    When you have an UEFI BIOS, use Clover bootloader instead of Chameleon.
     
  3. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,146
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Mar 8, 2017 at 9:56 PM #1193
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,146
    Motherboard:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    RX 580
    Choose this entry in the menu, press space and select 'Boot xxx in verbose mode'. This will give a lot more information than the progress bar filling up slowly. Attach a photo if possible.
     
  4. epetersson

    epetersson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mar 9, 2017 at 12:35 AM #1194
    epetersson

    epetersson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    After following these steps (and a guide for my motherboard), I have done about 3 fresh installs, and tried the solutions available, but I still can't manage to boot without my USB plugged in. It just says something like "Please connect a drive to boot and restart". El Capitan runs fine (except for audio as of now) but still, it's not bootable without the usb.. I've used the correct build in multibeast for my motherboard, I've tried the alternative post-installation steps.. Nothing fixes the issue.. I know that I'm not providing any useful information here, but if someone could guide me through the troubleshooting I'd be very grateful.
    Thank you in advance

    Edit: I'm using an UEFI installation. When opening Clover Configurator an alert shows up saying; "config.plist not found! I can't find a config file. Do you want mount EFI partition?". Don't really know what to do with this information though. I've tried some google searches but nothing seems to educate me enough..
     
  5. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 14, 2017 at 5:03 PM #1195
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    I'm trying to get El Capitan working. I can boot into it but still have no sound, sleep, etc. There is something going on with Clover and where it is choosing its boot and options that I cant seem to get it to recognize options that I have set in EFI/CLOVER/config.plist.
    Looking at the boot.log it seems to just pick a boot.efi from another location off the HD.

    = [ GetEfiBootDeviceFromNvram ] =========================
    0:890 0:000 - found entry 0. 'Boot macOS from Mavericks', Volume 'Mavericks', DevicePath 'PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(2,GPT,4232DCAE-FC0A-4E1F-8C16-2EEB570B1992,0x64028,0xECE2340)\System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efii'

    I need things to try to start recognizing the boot and options that I want, not this older version that it is choosing and running. I'm making changes to the EFI/CLOVER/config.plist which it does look for first, how do I get to stick with it?

    Edit: I have attached the clover-gen config file. I have no idea when/how all these things got set.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 14, 2017
  6. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 14, 2017 at 10:22 PM #1196
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    I am working from the assumption that my config.plist file is corrupted somehow and causing the break. Working on creating a new one.
     
  7. Darkleopard

    Darkleopard

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z170 Gaming M3
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 16, 2017 at 9:04 PM #1197
    Darkleopard

    Darkleopard

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z170 Gaming M3
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    plutil config.plist
    To see if config is corrupted. In terminal OFC.
     
  8. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 17, 2017 at 2:21 AM #1198
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Motherboard:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Well there was an error w nonkey in this dict so I deleted it and started up but still seems to be the same. I dont think it's relevant to my overall issue as I had made another config.plist without those lines.
    <key>Debug</key>
    <false/>
    <key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
    <false/>
    <key>ReuseFFFF</key>
    <false/>

    Upgrading should have been easy but I got lost along the way. Id like to take control of whatever the hell it is I'm booting.
    I am trying all these fixes for audio and sleep which may be pointless as I'm not even sure if they're having an effect on the intended boot. When I load macos recovery it says it cant even find my sparsebundle so I want to make this work without having to do a fresh.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  9. Alarjakob

    Alarjakob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    MSI B150M PRO-VD (MS-7996) (U3E1)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500 @ 3.20GHz Skylake 14nm Technology
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950 (MSI)
    Mar 19, 2017 at 2:36 PM #1199
    Alarjakob

    Alarjakob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Motherboard:
    MSI B150M PRO-VD (MS-7996) (U3E1)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500 @ 3.20GHz Skylake 14nm Technology
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950 (MSI)
    How to download El Capitan when its not in the App Store??
     
    laiduy98 likes this.
  10. Marvin_Flamenco_Gaye

    Marvin_Flamenco_Gaye

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD
    Mar 23, 2017 at 6:47 PM #1200
    Marvin_Flamenco_Gaye

    Marvin_Flamenco_Gaye

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Motherboard:
    GA-H77N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i3-3225
    Graphics:
    Intel HD
    Trying to KEEP my file system in tact, do I skip this step? I've done this so many times and enough time passes that I forget each time.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice