UniBeast: Install OS X El Capitan on Any Supported Intel-based PC

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. AlfieCode

    AlfieCode

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Asus z170-A
    CPU:
    I7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Radeon rx 460
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 26, 2017 at 5:36 AM #1191
    AlfieCode

    AlfieCode

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    Asus z170-A
    CPU:
    I7-6700k
    Graphics:
    Radeon rx 460
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Waiting for my friend usb to arrive here so i can build my first hackintosh.
     
  2. Kevinliu

    Kevinliu

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTES Z87P-D3 and the other one is GIGABYTES B85M-HD3
    CPU:
    I7 4770
    Graphics:
    GTX650
    Feb 26, 2017 at 12:30 PM #1192
    Kevinliu

    Kevinliu

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTES Z87P-D3 and the other one is GIGABYTES B85M-HD3
    CPU:
    I7 4770
    Graphics:
    GTX650
    the USB mouse out of work after update the osx 10.10 to 10.11, and the keyboard also doesn't work after system wake up.
     
  3. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 8, 2017 at 8:27 PM #1193
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Upgrading from Mavericks to El C I have lost ability to get past boat loader.

    Following instructions - installed El C on top of my SSD with Mavericks on it. Install completes, restart and choose from USB.

    Now I have no ability to get past any of the Multibeast loaders booting either from SSD or USB, says - '/mach_kernel' not found.
    Trying to boot from Clover partitions gets to the loader but never starts even after progress bar fills up.
    Current boot options (without USB) look like:
    UEFI: SSD
    UEFI OS: HD <-clover load doesnt work after progress bar fills up
    Mac OS X <- this opens loader but gives mach kernel
    P0: SSD - tonymac loader cant find mach kernel
    P1: HD

    Cannot get the USB to work.

    What do I do from here?
     
  4. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 8, 2017 at 9:35 PM #1194
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    I dont have a mach_kernel in my chamelon.plist so the advice to remove that doesnt work. I dont seem to have a System/Library/Kernels folder either so Im not sure how that can be in El C.
     
  5. HorchaudiBMW

    HorchaudiBMW

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    973
    Mobo:
    Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K @ 3,5 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600 // Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 4096GB GDDR5 RAM (1920x1080)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 8, 2017 at 9:46 PM #1195
    HorchaudiBMW

    HorchaudiBMW

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    973
    Mobo:
    Asus Z-87 Pro WLAN
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K @ 3,5 Ghz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600 // Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 4096GB GDDR5 RAM (1920x1080)
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Please update your personal details and fill in your hardware specs to get better support in the future.
    When you have an UEFI BIOS, use Clover bootloader instead of Chameleon.
     
  6. vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 8, 2017 at 9:56 PM #1196
    vulgo

    vulgo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Mobo:
    MSI H81i
    CPU:
    i5-4570
    Graphics:
    GTX 970
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Choose this entry in the menu, press space and select 'Boot xxx in verbose mode'. This will give a lot more information than the progress bar filling up slowly. Attach a photo if possible.
     
  7. epetersson

    epetersson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    Mar 9, 2017 at 12:35 AM #1197
    epetersson

    epetersson

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth z77
    CPU:
    i5 3570K
    Graphics:
    GTX 670
    After following these steps (and a guide for my motherboard), I have done about 3 fresh installs, and tried the solutions available, but I still can't manage to boot without my USB plugged in. It just says something like "Please connect a drive to boot and restart". El Capitan runs fine (except for audio as of now) but still, it's not bootable without the usb.. I've used the correct build in multibeast for my motherboard, I've tried the alternative post-installation steps.. Nothing fixes the issue.. I know that I'm not providing any useful information here, but if someone could guide me through the troubleshooting I'd be very grateful.
    Thank you in advance

    Edit: I'm using an UEFI installation. When opening Clover Configurator an alert shows up saying; "config.plist not found! I can't find a config file. Do you want mount EFI partition?". Don't really know what to do with this information though. I've tried some google searches but nothing seems to educate me enough..
     
  8. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 14, 2017 at 5:03 PM #1198
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    I'm trying to get El Capitan working. I can boot into it but still have no sound, sleep, etc. There is something going on with Clover and where it is choosing its boot and options that I cant seem to get it to recognize options that I have set in EFI/CLOVER/config.plist.
    Looking at the boot.log it seems to just pick a boot.efi from another location off the HD.

    = [ GetEfiBootDeviceFromNvram ] =========================
    0:890 0:000 - found entry 0. 'Boot macOS from Mavericks', Volume 'Mavericks', DevicePath 'PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(2,GPT,4232DCAE-FC0A-4E1F-8C16-2EEB570B1992,0x64028,0xECE2340)\System\Library\CoreServices\boot.efii'

    I need things to try to start recognizing the boot and options that I want, not this older version that it is choosing and running. I'm making changes to the EFI/CLOVER/config.plist which it does look for first, how do I get to stick with it?

    Edit: I have attached the clover-gen config file. I have no idea when/how all these things got set.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 14, 2017
  9. maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    Mar 14, 2017 at 10:22 PM #1199
    maco144

    maco144

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    GA-H81M-HD2
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4460
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4600
    I am working from the assumption that my config.plist file is corrupted somehow and causing the break. Working on creating a new one.
     
  10. Darkleopard

    Darkleopard

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170 Gaming M3
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 16, 2017 at 9:04 PM #1200
    Darkleopard

    Darkleopard

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Mobo:
    MSI Z170 Gaming M3
    CPU:
    I5 6500
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    plutil config.plist
    To see if config is corrupted. In terminal OFC.
     

Share This Page