UniBeast: Install OS X El Capitan on Any Supported Intel-based PC

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,036
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2016 at 3:51 PM #1181
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,036
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    No, use this version of the guide > UniBeast: Install macOS Sierra on Any Supported Intel-based PC.

    Unless you're using a beta UEFI BIOS, you should use Legacy UniBeast option. Be sure to use the USB 2 port in the Rear Panel column with the P/S-2 plug. If that doesn't work, try another USB thumb drive; if you have to buy another one, get a 16GB USB thumb drive as the OS X (macOS) has increased in size over the years.
     
  2. Eathann

    Eathann

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Lenovo IdeaPad SL510P Laptop - 8 Series
    CPU:
    Core i3 - 4010u @ 1.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 Graphics
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 6, 2016 at 7:17 PM #1182
    Eathann

    Eathann

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Lenovo IdeaPad SL510P Laptop - 8 Series
    CPU:
    Core i3 - 4010u @ 1.7GHz
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4400 Graphics
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I used this guide when I could not boot from my hard drive only clover USB on legacy system.

    *This guide was quoted*

    Tried and tested on 10.11.6 on legacy BIOS and worked for me. Im not sure how well it works with dual boots as I only use a single OS on my hack.

    There are a lot of people who experience a b0 error on their first boot up after installation. Or the bootloader immediately takes them back to the Windows installation (on dual boot).

    These people probably forgot to set the MacOSX partition "Active". (Can boot from USB but not the Mac drive post install)

    A common mantra provided here to newbies for setting up for installation is:

    • Make the partition Primary
    • Make the partition ID=AF (signifies an HFS partition)
    • Make the partition Active
    There is a built-in Unix utility in MacOSX that can be used to set your partition "Active". It is called Fdisk


    Setting Your Partition "Active" Using Fdisk

    Words in bold below are things you must type (followed by Enter).

    Type diskutil list

    Verify which disk number holds your partition (disk0, disk1, etc.)


    4. Start using Fdisk


    Assuming the MacOSX disk is the first disk ("disk0"), then
    type fdisk -e /dev/rdisk0 <== use "rdisk" with your disk number here !!

    Ignore the error "fdisk: could not open MBR file ..."


    5. Determine which partition for MacOSX needs to be set "Active"


    Type p

    Verify which partition is for MacOSX (1, 2, 3, etc.)


    6. Set the partition "Active"

    Assuming it is partition 1, then
    type f 1 <== use your partition number here !!


    7. Save and exit


    Type write

    Type y (yes you are sure)

    Type exit (to quit)


    8. Remove the install USB and reboot
     
  3. GeorgeChackungal

    GeorgeChackungal

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Oct 7, 2016 at 6:01 PM #1183
    GeorgeChackungal

    GeorgeChackungal

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    I am trying to download el capitan on my mac, but it says the download is not available in this region. Can anyone please help?
     
  4. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,036
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 7, 2016 at 10:02 PM #1184
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,036
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT206886
     
  5. TonytonyJack

    TonytonyJack

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GA-H97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    5-4690
    Graphics:
    HD 4600
    Oct 15, 2016 at 9:40 AM #1185
    TonytonyJack

    TonytonyJack

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Mobo:
    GA-H97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    5-4690
    Graphics:
    HD 4600
    Thank you so much guys! You guys rock!
     
  6. skypickle

    skypickle

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Oct 25, 2016 at 11:22 PM #1186
    skypickle

    skypickle

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    has anyone let the app store update their el capitan mackintosh to the latest 10.11.6?
     
  7. lapin16

    lapin16

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4690
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti
    Oct 26, 2016 at 1:20 PM #1187
    lapin16

    lapin16

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4690
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti
    Hi there,

    There is a big confusion out there and I think I am not the only one to be confused, so let me ask for a clarification.

    Tonymacx86 moved to Clover. So if I follow the steps on this guide, Clover will be installed on my system (not chimera anymore).

    Then when I will want to upgrade to Mac OS Sierra, should I assume I am an "existing Clover user" and accordingly follow the guide for direct update ? (https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/direct-update-to-macos-sierra-using-clover.201465/).

    Or on the contrary, is there a distinction to be made between "real" Clover users and "Unibeast/Multibeast Clover users" ?
     
  8. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,036
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 26, 2016 at 4:40 PM #1188
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,036
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Well, since UniBeast & MultiBeast uses/installs Clover, you are using "real" Clover. So, what's the difference?

    UniBeast & MultiBeast just make it easier to install OS X (macOS) easier.
     
  9. lapin16

    lapin16

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4690
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti
    Oct 27, 2016 at 1:35 AM #1189
    lapin16

    lapin16

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte H97N-WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel i5 4690
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti
    Thanks for answering.

    Well, just to be clear, using UniBeast and MultiBeast installs Clover, yes. However, there is no step where you actually run Clover's installer, and mount the EFI partition to do things... As the process seemed different, I wondered if the result was same as having installed Clover manually.

    Which links to the question of my previous post, next time I want to update OS, I just need to go for the "Direct Update guide" despite I installed Clover through UniBeast/MultiBeast ? Is that correct ?
     
  10. Rods012

    Rods012

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Oct 30, 2016 at 1:48 AM #1190
    Rods012

    Rods012

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Now that Sierra is out the App Store is not letting me download El Capitan. Is there another place I can go to get it?
     

Share This Page