Uncut G4 Cube Mod ( ongoing project)

Discussion in 'PowerMac G4 Cube' started by iCubeFan, May 7, 2013.

Tags:
  1. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jul 12, 2013 at 2:19 PM #71
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hi iCubeFan, I have that Atheros Combo card in my HP ProBook hack. The covering up of the pins works like a charm...


    Ersterhernd
     
  2. iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 12, 2013 at 2:49 PM #72
    iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi ersterhernd,

    Excellent! Thanks for confirming that.

    cheers
     
  3. rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 12, 2013 at 7:58 PM #73
    rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi iCubefan,

    I have a question, I see that you use the iGear bluetooth adapter, I assume your using a wireless keyboard, uhm do you use a wired keyboard if you need to change things in the bios sinds the bluetooth dongle don't work before the os.


    Rick,
     
  4. iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 12, 2013 at 10:41 PM #74
    iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi Rick!

    Yes.I use an old wired Apple Keyboard if I need to tweak any BIOS settings.
    For regular use I use an Apple Wireless Keyboard.
    Why do you ask?

    Groetjes
     
  5. rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 13, 2013 at 2:42 AM #75
    rick26

    rick26

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3\ Define R5 Case\ HP 8200 Elite SFF
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6700K \ i5 2400
    Graphics:
    Evga Geforce GTX970 FTW \ MSI GT710
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ah okay

    Well because I only want to use a wireless keyboard in chimera so I can choose the os. For the bios it doesn't matter since I'm rarely there.

    Groeten Rick,
     
  6. Madtraxx

    Madtraxx

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Intel
    CPU:
    I3
    Graphics:
    I3
    Jul 14, 2013 at 11:54 PM #76
    Madtraxx

    Madtraxx

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo:
    Intel
    CPU:
    I3
    Graphics:
    I3
    So if you install dualboot on a normal mac it won't work either?
     
  7. iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 6, 2013 at 1:06 PM #77
    iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Just a quick update.I finally have everything that I need to finish ( is this possible?:D ) my build:
    Replacement motherboard with 2 internal USB connectors, plexiglass plate for HDMI & Thunderbolt from the laserhive ( thanks Dave!) and a Turtle Beach Amigo II USB Audio adapter.

    I think I'll be able to finish it before my second round of holidays.

    Happy modding!
     
  8. ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Aug 7, 2013 at 2:21 PM #78
    ersterhernd

    ersterhernd

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Mobo:
    MSI Z77MA-G45
    CPU:
    i7-3770k @ 4.3 GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte R9 280X Windforce 3GB
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Looking forward to seeing your final presentation, it's been a long time coming due to that incomplete NUC board. On to your iMac after that, iCubeFan? ;)


    Cheers!
     
  9. iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 9, 2013 at 11:43 PM #79
    iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Cube final location

    I think I didn't mention that the Cube was going to replace my old Mac Mini (2007) as my living room HTPC . The Cube logical location would have been in a tray below the HDTV , but with a one year old lurking around that was asking for troubles.
    :think:

    So I safely placed it in a shelf next to the HDTV.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I was concerned about IR reception (The IR receiver lens is poking out through one of the tiny holes at the bottom) but it surprisingly works well.

    I'll try to upload some more pics during the following days while I finish some details ( wifi antennas internal location, port glueing )

    Happy modding
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  10. iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Aug 9, 2013 at 11:51 PM #80
    iCubeFan

    iCubeFan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Mobo:
    Intel Nuc
    CPU:
    Intel Core I3
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 4000
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes , that will be my next challenge! The Cube build was a sort of rehearsal.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page