Contribute
Register

Unable to install Windows 10.

Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA-B75M-D3H
CPU
i5 3470s
Graphics
hd 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
TOTAL NONSENSE

i had issues just like that. enable CSM while installing windows. you may disable afterwards
Where do I enable CSM from? What is it?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,476
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Where do I enable CSM from? What is it?
In the UEFI/BIOS - CSM stands for Compatibility Support Module and allows legacy boot devices on UEFI boards.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
23
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B85m-D3PH
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I had a very similar issue with multiple drives. It appears I was getting to the windows install efi via a clover boot usb. I needed to remove that just before installing onto the hard drive. The hard drive you want to install windows 10 on has to be the only Drive available.

I had the same problem. When I inserted the Windows USB and powered on, clover automatically started some sort of NTFS boot. I actually was able to install any version of Windows, but with a couple of minutes into it it would crash: black BSoD, black screen with cursor, or even no signal input at all. Weird stuff.

Finally found these @Going Bald 's abovementioned steps (disabling all other drives on BIOS) and was able to proceed smoothly. I'm actually writing this through the stable Windows 10 installation. Now I'm up to reboot and enable the other drives again, let's see :)
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
B85M-E45
CPU
i4690
Graphics
evga 960 ssc 2GB
Windows installer is very stupid and wants to install on first drive the PCH sees on boot up always.
That is why I said to disconnect all other drives - there was a drive "ahead" of the Win10 drive in the SATA port order the PCH recognizes the ports and Win10 installer, wanting to install files on the first drive it sees, tried to install them there and could not do it, so it comes back with error message about unable to install.
This was my exact situation. I disconnected my Mac drive & the windows installation finally went through.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2014
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97N-WIFI
CPU
i7 4790k
Graphics
GTX760
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
[/QUOTE]
I have managed to successfully install El Capitan on my Hackintosh. I am trying to install Windows 10 UEFI on a separate HDD but it has been unsuccessful.

I created a bootable Windows on USB using Rufus.
The partition scheme and target system type is set as GPT partition scheme for UEFI
File System as FAT32.

I have changed the following settings in my bios, am using a Gigabyte Z77-HD3 board.
1. Boot Mode Selection: UEFI Only
2. Storage Boot Option Control: UEFI Only
3. Display Boot Option Control: UEFI Only
4. Other PCI Device ROM Priority: UEI OpROM


Other things I have tried.
1. Reformatting the disk to NTFS/GUID/Etc prior to installing.
2. Disconnecting all other drives.
3. Clearing all paritions on the drive, becoming Unallocated Space, and letting Windows Setup setup the disk.


In the Windows Setup, upon booting, after selecting the disk, I am getting a generic error.

"We couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one. For more information, see the Setup log files"


Your help is much appreciated.
How did you make the bootable usb with Rufus if you were running Mac OS? I'm having trouble making the bootable disk.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte B75M-D3P
CPU
i5 3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Windows installer is very stupid and wants to install on first drive the PCH sees on boot up always.
That is why I said to disconnect all other drives - there was a drive "ahead" of the Win10 drive in the SATA port order the PCH recognizes the ports and Win10 installer, wanting to install files on the first drive it sees, tried to install them there and could not do it, so it comes back with error message about unable to install.
Exactly this. Now I am even embarrassed of the time I spent trying to solve this sh*t. Thanks man.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2012
Messages
5
Motherboard
Dell
CPU
KabuLake
Graphics
NVIDIA 1050ti
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Confirming. Removing secondary SSD solved this issue.
 
Top