Contribute
Register

ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - Gigabyte GTX 650

Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i7 2700K
Graphics
Intel HD3000 / Gigabyte GV-N660OC-2GD (GTX 660 OC)
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

Nice DAW build :)
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
GA-z77xUP5 THunderbolt
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
Intel 4000
Mac
Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

Sweet! I just got a similar hardware setup working for my DAW but I haven't setup any OC yet, nice to have a good overclocking reference for this rig. As we both know, with today's plugins, there is no such thing as too much CPU power.


Hoping to add a UAD Apollo to make good use of the Thunderbolt ports for some proper audio production sizzle :geek:
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
322
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming 2.0
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
2x RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

Cool! I have a similar build to yours which is working great out of the box with only audio and network drivers needed via multibeast.
One thing that is driving me nuts is the Gigabit ethernet issue Im having. No matter what I try I cant get beyond 10MB/s. I have a Gigabit router and have tested with a Macbook Pro and a Win 7 machine, transferring files between those machines I get around 50MB/s max which I still think is slow but is much better than 10MB/s. Have you been able to enable Gigabit ethernet?
Sorry... I haven't been able to enable Gigabit ethernet and in fact I gave up, but...

Since I needed the Gigabit connection for Vienna Ensemble Pro I finally bought the Sonnet Presto GE1000LA-E Gigabit Ethernet Pro PCIe Card (stated in "Components"). Worked OOB and no problems since then. I use this card to connect two computers directly (the other one is also a hackintosh with the same network card) and both computers report 1Gb connection and no issues whatsoever.

I'm explaining this because I don't use the card for browsing the web, home/office networking and so on, so I'm not sure if this card will solve your problem, but in my concrete usage scenario it works like a charm.

There is also a lot of people using it, so I would recommend a search about it.

Hope it helps !
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2011
Messages
30
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H F14
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

Hi guys I have a (a little off topic) question: my older rig took no time to POST, but this motherboard takes about 7 seconds to beep and show the Gigabyte logo which in my opinion is quite a lot. My P45-ud3l had a "quick boot" option in the bios, but the z77x ud5h doesn't :/
are those times normal? if not, what could be wrong? booting with and without discrete grfx doesn't change, nither would changing the hdd for a newer one.. didn't tried to move ram sticks around since they're placed where the manual says it's better
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z77x-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
GeForce GT640
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

Thanks Ultrazone. I understand you need a separate NIC for your setup and you have an awesome build by the way but for the amount I shelled out for this motherboard with dual network ports I would hope someone out there has an idea on how to get gigabit speeds. A last resort is to purchase something similar to what you have to get the speeds I need. Thanks for your help. Ill check the forum and see if any other users have been able to get gigabit working with this motherboard.
Cheers!
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i5 3570K
Graphics
INTEL HD4000
Mac
MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

nice looking powerful beast you have there!
I have recently built a similar audio DAW system with same MB, integrated graphics though, 16GB RAM, i5-3570K.
I have a Presonus Firebox Firewire audio interface that doesn't function without audio drop-outs using the onboard firewire port. For this reason I got one of the recommended Startech firewire PCIe cards but this causes the sleep/wake/shutdown/restart problems so its not ideal although the audio performance is without problems.
So you have no issues with audio drop-outs using the onboard firewire port?
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,921
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

malevo,
I'd post your question in General Help: http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-help/
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
322
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming 2.0
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
2x RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

I have a Presonus Firebox Firewire audio interface that doesn't function without audio drop-outs using the onboard firewire port. For this reason I got one of the recommended Startech firewire PCIe cards but this causes the sleep/wake/shutdown/restart problems so its not ideal although the audio performance is without problems.
So you have no issues with audio drop-outs using the onboard firewire port?
Hi !

In my case I didn't experience audio drop-outs, but random freezes. That's why I tried with the card you mention, but found the sleep/wake/shutdown/restart problem.

It seems like Gigabyte is aware of the problem and they are working on it, but the latest beta BIOS (F15m) is still showing these problems, so I decided to give the 400Mbps version a try, which has been working flawlessly since I installed it. Since I don't need 800Mbps connectivity, I'm going to stay with the 400Mbps card until the problem with these cards is addressed.

So if your audio card is 400Mbps, you could try with the Startech 2 port 400Mbps or another Firewire adapter. For me it is working pretty well. I've added a reference to this card in the OP.

Thanks and cheers from Spain !
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
170
Motherboard
Leviathan
CPU
i7 3770K @ 4.6Ghz
Graphics
EVGA Hydro Copper GTX 780 SLI
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

Ultrazone,

Congrats on your great build. A very special thank you for the BIOS screen shots and walk-thru!!!!! It gave me the courage to edit my settings on my build - very similar to yours (see my sig). The 3770K really came alive with only minor tweaks!!!! So I have the core voltage setup for the stock value 3.5 Ghz. But I edited my turbo values all up to 44. My Geekbench scores went from 14,502 to 17,014!!!:headbang::lol::headbang::lol::headbang::lol: I also edited the ram speed to 1600 to match the hardware. Here is a link to my Geekbench results: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1379244

Idles at 25-28 - full load in the mid 70's. Cooled with H100 on medium setting.

Enjoy your new hackintosh in good health!!

Ciao!
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
322
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming 2.0
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
2x RX580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
ultrazone's Master Audio Build: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H - Core i7-3770k - 32GB RAM - 2 x Gigabyte GTX 650

Ultrazone,

Congrats on your great build. A very special thank you for the BIOS screen shots and walk-thru!!!!! It gave me the courage to edit my settings on my build - very similar to yours (see my sig). The 3770K really came alive with only minor tweaks!!!! So I have the core voltage setup for the stock value 3.5 Ghz. But I edited my turbo values all up to 44. My Geekbench scores went from 14,502 to 17,014!!!:headbang::lol::headbang::lol::headbang::lol: I also edited the ram speed to 1600 to match the hardware. Here is a link to my Geekbench results: http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1379244

Idles at 25-28 - full load in the mid 70's. Cooled with H100 on medium setting.

Enjoy your new hackintosh in good health!!

Ciao!
Glad to hear that !

Thanks a lot, hope you enjoy your build !
 
Top