Contribute
Register

Ultra-High-End Audio Interface (except PTHD)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H rev. 1.1
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 650 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi, i use my Customac exclusively for Pro Tools (v10.3.7&v11.0.2). In the near future i am going to buy a 'high-end' audio interface

The goal for me is to make the best possible recordings. I am a producer and composer and i will use my studio only for recording not for mixing and mastering. I will record mainly jazz/classical/contemporary classical - instrumental music.

Pro Tools HD solutions are out of budget and also, the Avid HD converters, although they are great pieces of gear and widely used, are not unbeatable from some other hi-end alternatives like Apogee, Prism etc.

My main concern is the converter quality, expandability and of course the interaction with the hackintosh machine.

I have narrowed my choice between Metric Halo Lio-8 and Apogee Symphony i/o. I use external mic pres and i will need max 8 channels for now.

Any other recommendations? Or any Apogee, Metric Halo, Prism users out there?

Thanks in advance

I use a couple of Apogee Trak 2's in my room connected too Pro Toos HD cards, they are lovely sounding.

If I was going to drop some cash at the moment I would be looking at the Lynx Hilo (only 2 channels of AD but has ADAT) or the Antelope Orion. The Orion offers many more channels but the Hilo has a killer feature set and sounds amazing. Th RME UFX is also a really nice interface that can easily hold it own with interfaces costing twice as much.

Thanks a lot for your response, happy to hear that you use Apogee converters. Actually, after a lot of research i find Apogee's new Symphony i/o quite attractive and has some benefits that i cannot ignore like the modular design and sophisticated expandability.