Contribute
Register

UHD630 + RX580 = Final Cut crash (HELP!)

Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Hey guys so I've got a good system running with an 8700K and RX580 and I've managed to get the system running both the iGPU + GPU together.

There's one issue however and it seems like something isn't 100% correct and my computer completely crashes and restarts when I run a plugin in Final Cut called NeatVideo, which is a noise reduction program. It's using both CPU and GPU for processing and if boot the computer with ONLY the RX580, everything works fine. If I boot with both, the computer crashes when I run this app. That tells me the problem is on the iGPU side.

I've uploaded my entire EFI folder and I would very much appreciate if I could get some help figuring this out. As you can see from the screenshots, the computer is recognising both GPUs.

Screenshot 2018-12-11 at 15.58.34.png

Screenshot 2018-12-11 at 15.58.40.png
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
845
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Hey guys so I've got a good system running with an 8700K and RX580 and I've managed to get the system running both the iGPU + GPU together.

There's one issue however and it seems like something isn't 100% correct and my computer completely crashes and restarts when I run a plugin in Final Cut called NeatVideo, which is a noise reduction program. It's using both CPU and GPU for processing and if boot the computer with ONLY the RX580, everything works fine. If I boot with both, the computer crashes when I run this app. That tells me the problem is on the iGPU side.

I've uploaded my entire EFI folder and I would very much appreciate if I could get some help figuring this out. As you can see from the screenshots, the computer is recognising both GPUs.
That's a nice FCPX plugin...wish I could afford it :mrgreen:

No IOREG file to see what your system is doing.

I suspect wrong ig-platform-id. You have used 0x3E9B0007 which is for 3 connectors IGPU.
But it should be either 0x3E920003 or 0x3E910003 (for connectorless IGPU).

You have no CPU power management if your use NullCPUPowerManagement.kext (remove it).
You have unnecessary RealtekALC patches if you use AppleALC.kext for your audio.

What happens if you run the NeatBench terminal command (to benchmark your system) ?
Run the attached from terminal.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Thank you for the reply and for helping, I really appreciate it and I'll do my best to give you the information needed to fix the issue.

I'm a photographer and videographer and sometimes I need to use NeatVideo because it's a killer plugin. I didn't try but whenever I open the export dialog in Final Cut, the same thing happens. The screen goes black and the computer hard restarts instantly.

Here's from NeatBench:

GPU detection log:


Looking for NVIDIA CUDA-capable devices...

Failed to initialize CUDA driver.

If you use an NVIDIA card, please install the latest CUDA driver from NVIDIA.


Looking for AMD OpenCL-capable devices...

OpenCL driver version: 20180820.185821

OpenCL initialized successfully.

Checking OpenCL GPU #1:

GPU device name is: KBL Graphics

1536 MB available during initialization

This device is not supported

Check failed - will not use the device

Checking OpenCL GPU #2:

GPU device name is: AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine

8192 MB available during initialization

Check passed - will attempt to use the device



Neat Video benchmark:


Frame Size: 1920x1080 progressive

Bitdepth: 8 bits per channel

Mix with Original: Disabled

Temporal Filter: Enabled

Quality Mode: Normal

Radius: 2 frames

Dust and Scratches: Disabled

Slow Shutter: Disabled

Spatial Filter: Enabled

Quality Mode: Normal

Frequencies High, Mid, Low

Artifact Removal: Enabled

Detail Recovery: Disabled

Edge Smoothing: Disabled

Sharpening: Disabled



Detecting the best combination of performance settings:

running the test data set on up to 12 CPU cores and on up to 1 GPU

AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine: 8192 MB currently available, using up to 100%


CPU only (1 core): 2.08 frames/sec

CPU only (2 cores): 4.29 frames/sec

CPU only (3 cores): 6.17 frames/sec

CPU only (4 cores): 8.13 frames/sec

CPU only (5 cores): 9.8 frames/sec

CPU only (6 cores): 11.1 frames/sec

CPU only (7 cores): 9.71 frames/sec

CPU only (8 cores): 9.9 frames/sec

CPU only (9 cores): 10.4 frames/sec

CPU only (10 cores): 10 frames/sec

CPU only (11 cores): 9.62 frames/sec

CPU only (12 cores): 9.52 frames/sec

GPU only (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 9.62 frames/sec

CPU (1 core) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 8.62 frames/sec

CPU (2 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 8.47 frames/sec

CPU (3 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 10.1 frames/sec

CPU (4 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 11.8 frames/sec

CPU (5 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 13.7 frames/sec

CPU (6 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 13.3 frames/sec

CPU (7 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 15.4 frames/sec

CPU (8 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 15.4 frames/sec

CPU (9 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 15.4 frames/sec

CPU (10 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 14.9 frames/sec

CPU (11 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 14.1 frames/sec

CPU (12 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine): 13.2 frames/sec


Best combination: CPU (7 cores) and GPU (AMD Radeon RX 580 Compute Engine)

----------

I'm going to do the changes you mentioned above and see if there's any difference.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Changed the ig-platform-id to 0x3E920003 and 0x3E910003 and when I do that, I loose acceleration. See screenshot below where the app just freezes up the whole computer:

I've also attached the IOREG file.

Note: The HEVC greenlight is just from a previous test. When I have the ig-platform-id at 0x3E9B0007 the test works perfectly fine and greenlits both h264 and hevc.

Note2: I'm using an engineering sample of the 8700K which is at 3.2GHz but I'm overclocking it. Just wanted to mention in case you would notice the number and start doubting my ability to know which CPU I'm running :lol:

Screenshot 2018-12-11 at 17.26.25.png
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
845
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Changed the ig-platform-id to 0x3E920003 and 0x3E910003 and when I do that, I loose acceleration. See screenshot below where the app just freezes up the whole computer:

I've also attached the IOREG file.

Note: The HEVC greenlight is just from a previous test. When I have the ig-platform-id at 0x3E9B0007 the test works perfectly fine and greenlits both h264 and hevc.

Note2: I'm using an engineering sample of the 8700K which is at 3.2GHz but I'm overclocking it. Just wanted to mention in case you would notice the number and start doubting my ability to know which CPU I'm running :lol:
The problem you are seeing is nothing to do with Neatvideo but FCPX that many of are facing with encoding/decoding.
That pic of VideoProc app is normal.

FCPX is not prime-time on hackintosh's in my opinion.
The issue is FCPX use of of the IGPU / dGPU for exporting H.264 and HEVC. Read/follow that thread.

Try this:
In config.plist:
- set Devices->FakeID->IntelGFX=0x59168086;
- Graphics->ig-platform-id=0x59120003;
- KextToPatch, delete patches 0, 1, 2 & 5

Remove NullCPUPowerManagement.kext (your IOREG shows that you have no ACPI CPU !)

Also, You are on 10.14.0 and currently your macOS has h/w encode/decode for HEVC.
If you update it to 10.14.2, your will LOOSE that capabilities because Apple removed it (as it causes issues you are seeing).
If you do update, then you will need a dummy141.kext. See that thread I highlighted above.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
The problem you are seeing is nothing to do with Neatvideo but FCPX that many of are facing with encoding/decoding.
That pic of VideoProc app is normal.

FCPX is not prime-time on hackintosh's in my opinion.
The issue is FCPX use of of the IGPU / dGPU for exporting H.264 and HEVC. Read/follow that thread.

Try this:
In config.plist:
- set Devices->FakeID->IntelGFX=0x59168086;
- Graphics->ig-platform-id=0x59120003;
- KextToPatch, delete patches 0, 1, 2 & 5

Remove NullCPUPowerManagement.kext (your IOREG shows that you have no ACPI CPU !)

Also, You are on 10.14.0 and currently your macOS has h/w encode/decode for HEVC.
If you update it to 10.14.2, your will LOOSE that capabilities because Apple removed it (as it causes issues you are seeing).
If you do update, then you will need a dummy141.kext. See that thread I highlighted above.
Thanks for the reply. I did the changes you suggested and it doesn't work. Just as an example, when I run VideoProc to check encoding, the OS just freezes and becomes insanely slow, with this message:

Screenshot 2018-12-12 at 21.21.11.png


I'm happy to try every and any suggestions you may have. Thank you!!
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Btw, MacOS Mojave is not a must for me. Would it be easier for me to use High Sierra and set things up and get them running super smooth?
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
845
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Thanks for the reply. I did the changes you suggested and it doesn't work. Just as an example, when I run VideoProc to check encoding, the OS just freezes and becomes insanely slow, with this message:

View attachment 372295

I'm happy to try every and any suggestions you may have. Thank you!!
Lots of people are seeing that issue but should have worked with Mojave.
The issue is H.264.
You CPU is better supported in Mojave so should be easier to fix.

Post config.plist & IOREG file from the last change I suggested. Obviously do not run VideoProc.
Confirm that you are running Mojave 10.14 and not 10.14.1 or 10.14.2
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2017
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming K3
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Lots of people are seeing that issue but should have worked with Mojave.
The issue is H.264.
You CPU is better supported in Mojave so should be easier to fix.

Post config.plist & IOREG file from the last change I suggested. Obviously do not run VideoProc.
Confirm that you are running Mojave 10.14 and not 10.14.1 or 10.14.2
Okay thanks for clearing that! I'm indeed running 10.14.0.
Attached is the EFI folder that I'm running right now along with the IOREG file.

Screenshot 2018-12-13 at 15.45.57.png
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 23, 2010
Messages
845
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS,
Okay thanks for clearing that! I'm indeed running 10.14.0.
Attached is the EFI folder that I'm running right now along with the IOREG file.

View attachment 372470
Your SMBIOS is set to iMac18,1. People had had better success with iMac18,3.

Try the attached config file.
You either copy it into your Clover folder and rename it to config.plist, or copy it into your clover folder as-is and when you boot, go to Clover menu and in Options, select AsgeirHeigi-MacNB-config.plist and hit Return a couple of times and boot.

Report back with results and IOREG.
 

Attachments

Top