Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Ubuntu Linux entry missing in OpenCore 0.7.0 menu in a Multiboot System with separate drives

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Hi All,
in order to install macOS Big Sur in a dedicated APFS volume on my multiboot system (WIN-macOS-Linux) on separate drives (UEFI-Mode), it was necessary to switch from Clover to OpenCore. So I created the USB pendrive for Big Sur install using OpenCore 0.7.0. Before installing Big Sur, I wanted to test OpenCore on my current multiboot system and I realized that while the Windows 10 entry appears in the OpenCore menu (and it seems to boot fine), the Ubuntu Linux entry does not appear (which worked fine using Clover instead).
I'm a very beginner in OpenCore troubleshooting: what settings could I change in the config.plist file to be able to fix this problem?
Thanks in advance for Your Help

I realized that while the Windows 10 entry appears in the OpenCore menu (and it seems to boot fine), the Ubuntu Linux entry does not appear (which worked fine using Clover instead).
I'm a very beginner in OpenCore troubleshooting: what settings could I change in the config.plist file to be able to fix this problem?
First check and see if there's an entry just called 'EFI' on the OpenCore menu. If so try it, as that could be the Ubuntu GRUB boot loader. If not, then you have three ways to add a Ubuntu entry. The following applies to config.plist.

• Use the BlessOverride feature under Misc to add a manual path to it such as "\EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi"
  • Use the Linux efibootmgr utility to add GRUB to the UEFI boot manager and OC will pickup the entry.
  • Chainload the Ubuntu kernel EFISTUB directly using a manual entry in Entries under Misc.