Contribute
Register

Triple monitor setup - GeForce GTX 650

Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i7 intel processor
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi

I'm trying to get 3 working displays on my hackintosh. I have a Gigabyte GeForce GTX 650 graphics card.
Two benq monitors are plugged in the graphics card via the DVI ports and I have a LG tv plugged in the HDMI port of the graphics card.

The "display" box in system prefferences, shows 3 displays but the on the LG tv it just shows lots of funny coloured lines. When i check in "about this mac", under displays, it shows the LG tv connected.

Do I need to update the driver? and if show with which file?

I found this link, but im unsure if its the right one....

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...ate-graphics-drivers-10-9-4-334-01-02f02.html

thanks
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i7 intel processor
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Just wondered if anyone had any ideas??

cheers
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i7 intel processor
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
So, since updating to os x yosemite it has worked once. That was the first time i booted into Yosemite and set everything up. Since turning the computer off and back on I cant get it to show up on my LG tv. My hackintosh can see its connected to a LG, but my LG just wont show the screen.

I have it in the HDMI computer port on the TV.

Any clues??
 

neilhart

Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
2,746
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
CPU
i7-7700T
Graphics
GTX960
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
So, since updating to os x yosemite it has worked once. That was the first time i booted into Yosemite and set everything up. Since turning the computer off and back on I cant get it to show up on my LG tv. My hackintosh can see its connected to a LG, but my LG just wont show the screen.

I have it in the HDMI computer port on the TV.

Any clues??
Well have you tried by using the Unibeast built USB installer to boot and boot your installation as you did in the first boot to setup your account?

As you indicated that the TV worked one time ("the first time"), the problem may be caused by your setup.

If it does work with the USB installer, then you will need to identify the difference in the booted systems.

Good modding,
neil
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i7 intel processor
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well have you tried by using the Unibeast built USB installer to boot and boot your installation as you did in the first boot to setup your account?

As you indicated that the TV worked one time ("the first time"), the problem may be caused by your setup.

If it does work with the USB installer, then you will need to identify the difference in the booted systems.

Good modding,
neil
Ahh, that is a very good point. I forgot about the USB.

I'll be honest, i have no idea how to compare the different boot systems.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i7 intel processor
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi

I'm trying to get 3 working displays on my hackintosh. I have a Gigabyte GeForce GTX 650 graphics card.
Two benq monitors are plugged in the graphics card via the DVI ports and I have a LG tv plugged in the HDMI port of the graphics card.

The "display" box in system prefferences, shows 3 displays but the on the LG tv it just shows lots of funny coloured lines. When i check in "about this mac", under displays, it shows the LG tv connected.

Do I need to update the driver? and if show with which file?

I found this link, but im unsure if its the right one....

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...ate-graphics-drivers-10-9-4-334-01-02f02.html

thanks
I know -v shows the codey stuff when booting. What do you put with that so it pauses when loading so you can read what it says?
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS X99 AII
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2696 v4
Graphics
Palit GeForce GTX 1080 GameRock 8 GB
Mac
Mac Pro
I know -v shows the codey stuff when booting. What do you put with that so it pauses when loading so you can read what it says?
To see the "codey stuff when booting" just write this in the terminal once booted:
Code:
grep kernel /var/log/system.log
;)
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3P
CPU
i7 intel processor
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
To see the "codey stuff when booting" just write this in the terminal once booted:
Code:
grep kernel /var/log/system.log
;)
Ah brill, thanks for that.

Is there a way of finding out what the boot info would be from the bootable usb used to install os x? I mean if i try and boot from my usb then i will have to install os x again just to try and see whats different between that info and this info.
 
Top