tonymacx86's Haswell mATX: GA-Z87MX-D3H - i7-4770K - HD 4600

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by tonymacx86, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. Axymis

    Axymis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Onboard Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 10, 2016 at 11:40 AM #931
    Axymis

    Axymis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Onboard Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ok. I just realized that this actually isn't a problem because I have El Capitan installed and that's new enough to find the correct tools for. Thank you, Adrian!
     
  2. diddl14

    diddl14

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 9:05 PM #932
    diddl14

    diddl14

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Anyone here has a working Sierra system with HD4600?

    I'm having problems with Safari Crashing on video content.
    The patch from this post works after reboot but at some point again fails: #187 (AppleIntelFramebufferAzul patch)

    Yosemite and El Capitan run without any issues.
     
  3. VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,877
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 9:22 PM #933
    VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,877
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Common problem which has been solved. You might be better going back to 10.11.6.
     
  4. diddl14

    diddl14

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 9:28 PM #934
    diddl14

    diddl14

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I'm been reading that it has been solved. Looking for confirmation that it is also solved on GA-Z87MX-D3H - i7-4770K - HD 4600. Or does this still also occur on other boards like the H97N-WiFI?
     
  5. VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,877
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 9:30 PM #935
    VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,877
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Problem happens on majority of machines. My H97N-WIFI and Z97M-D3H has the same problem but I've gone back to 10.11.6 Sierra isn't worth it.
     
  6. diddl14

    diddl14

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 9:35 PM #936
    diddl14

    diddl14

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i7-4770S
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hate to be stuck on an older version. Will try a dedicated gfx card as it seems to be IGP specific?
     
  7. VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,877
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 9, 2017 at 9:39 PM #937
    VoiletDragon

    VoiletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,877
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Only HD4400/4600 has issues with 10.12. 10.12 don't have much changes anyway except for the features so you're not missing out on much.
     
  8. chobochobo

    chobochobo

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    760
    Jan 21, 2017 at 12:06 AM #938
    chobochobo

    chobochobo

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    760
    Woah. What an ordeal. I've been using this mATX golden build from Mavericks (I think) upgraded to Yosemite. These past few months the whole thing has just been slowly and steadily getting slower. First major issue was Powerpoint, files especially big ones eg 300mb would take 5-10 minutes to load. Initially I thought it was the Office Live I get from work, and so I installed Office 2016 - marginally better. The installation took a whole day to finish, when I could install it in 10 minutes on a 2010 Macbook Air (that was acting as my OSX stand-in whilst I tried to refresh my hackintosh). Disk scans, permissions etc did not help the slow transfers. So in the end, I thought I needed to do a clean install with El Capitan.

    First, difficulty getting hold of El Capitan. Then making the Unibeast USB literally took hours. First install seemed to go ok, then on rebooting, my dual screens connected to my GTX760 went blank, and rebooting didn't help. I couldn't get the system back.
    So tried to use my MBA to make a new USB, but since it was already on El Capitan, I couldn't download it again. Cue all sorts of attempts including BT. But new USBs (which again took hours) wouldn't boot - despite all sorts of boot order shenanigans. In the end, I flashed the BIOS of the MB. Now I got my UEFI option back on the USB, and then it booted. But rebooting, hell - black screen again. Try the internal graphics I thought, so I unplugged the displayport from the 760 but before I could find the DP on the MB, the single HDMI screen came back on. And when I just replugged the DP back into the 760, both came on. Hallelujah.

    So now I'm back online. I even have sound despite not expecting to from some posts. Gingerly I'm setting it up again.

    Anyway, TLDR, big ordeal but couldn't have done it without Tony's site. Big thumbs up. If Apple would just update the iMac, Pro or even the mini, I'd have swapped out my Hackintosh for an official machine this past year. Now, I'm hoping this will hold until the Surface Studio is available in my country.
     
  9. chobochobo

    chobochobo

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    760
    Jan 22, 2017 at 12:36 AM #939
    chobochobo

    chobochobo

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    760
    Okay, spoke too soon. The sound output stops after a while and comes back after a reboot. Any ideas please?
     
  10. chobochobo

    chobochobo

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    760
    Jan 30, 2017 at 8:48 AM #940
    chobochobo

    chobochobo

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    CPU:
    i7
    Graphics:
    760
    Sound is fine as long as I don't allow the computer to sleep.

    BTW I bought a fully loaded 2015 MacBook Pro that'll probably replace my Hackintosh. I'll be getting a used Cinema Display for docking.
     
    Stork likes this.

Share This Page