tonymacx86's Haswell mATX: GA-Z87MX-D3H - i7-4770K - HD 4600

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by tonymacx86, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. silenthunter

    silenthunter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280x
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 21, 2016 at 10:25 PM #921
    silenthunter

    silenthunter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280x
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Just updated to 10.11.3.
    After update, only thing I had to do is to install newer Nvidia driver WebDriver-346.03.05f01.pkg and restart

    And to start again audio_realtekALC-110_v1.0h.command and restart.

    After that everything is working fine like before (sound, usb3, network, vga...)
     
  2. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Jan 25, 2016 at 9:47 AM #922
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Also no problems with the El Cap update - at least once the NVidia drivers came out (which was impressively soon after the ElCap update).
     
  3. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Oct 3, 2016 at 8:51 AM #923
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Anyone had success with Sierra?
     
  4. tabarus

    tabarus

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Oct 3, 2016 at 10:36 AM #924
    tabarus

    tabarus

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Apple
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I have installed it on a separate drive and it seams to work here quite good
     
  5. gaucho

    gaucho

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Oct 3, 2016 at 2:57 PM #925
    gaucho

    gaucho

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    I upgraded to Sierra couple of weeks ago with no issues except Sound (fixed with Toleda pkg).
     
  6. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Oct 3, 2016 at 6:57 PM #926
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Thanks. I had lots of issues and ended up having to do a clean install (then migrate). Tedious but worked.

    Only sound and booting without the USB drive remaining as issues (at least that I've discovered so far). Low priority, will get to them.
     
  7. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Oct 15, 2016 at 12:10 PM #927
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Sound somehow resolved itself )).

    Booting from USB only: my EFI partition on the boot hard drive (with Sierra) was the problem, presumably because I'd been using it through several OS upgrades. Wiped it, reformatted per web instructions, and Multibeast/booting working perfectly.
     
  8. rmantech

    rmantech

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97 D3H
    CPU:
    I7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Nov 3, 2016 at 5:11 PM #928
    rmantech

    rmantech

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z97 D3H
    CPU:
    I7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    What method did you use to upgrade to sierra?
     
  9. Axymis

    Axymis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Onboard Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nov 10, 2016 at 1:15 AM #929
    Axymis

    Axymis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    Onboard Intel HD4600
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So I always have had this question in the back of my mind, but I don't really know how to properly phrase it in a search engine, so (if it's okay) I'll ask it here:

    If I want to upgrade my system, I usually create a backup with Time Machine. In order to revert the system to that backup, I use a Unibeast drive as a recovery USB. However, my question is this: Do I need to have a Unibeast drive from exactly the same version of OS X as that to which I am trying to restore? Or does the Time Machine restoration work by copying the Time Machine backup directly to the computer's drive, so no OS X installation is necessary (thus I can use any Unibeast drive, even from the newest version of OS X)?

    Thank you!
    Axymis
     
  10. Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    Nov 10, 2016 at 7:28 AM #930
    Adrian B

    Adrian B Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6,838
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-B75M-HD3
    CPU:
    G2020 Dual Core
    Graphics:
    Asus EAH5570
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Other
    A Time Machine backup requires a fresh installation to move all your data/settings across to.
     

Share This Page