tonymacx86's Haswell mATX: GA-Z87MX-D3H - i7-4770K - HD 4600

Discussion in 'Golden Builds' started by tonymacx86, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. silenthunter

    silenthunter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280x
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 25, 2015 at 3:52 PM #911
    silenthunter

    silenthunter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire R9 280x
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have solved Audio problem
    Here is a short description how:

    Insert AppleHDA.kext in S/L/E
    restart
    boot in Recovery mode
    start terminal and type - CSRUTIL DISABLE
    restart
    start audio_realtekALC-110_v1.0h.command
    answer with y (if ask for HDMI I answered n and wait to process to finish)
    restart


    setup in Configuration/Audio/Output -> Internal Speakers -it should be there
    Check if sound is working

    And here is a full explanation
    In attachment are the files that I have used.

    Problems with USB3.0 and GraphicDriver/Clover boot still remain.

    Also I don't know why once I got black boot screen with Clover Icons Boot1.jpg and other time this ugly Boot2.jpg. It does not affect the boot process.

    With matts fix I have managed to install USB3.0, he has explained everything excellent and I have just followed his post.
    And somehow, after I have successfully installed Audio I have no problems with booting system, I have shut it down for about 20 times till now and it starts every time normaly. I hope that everything is solved now.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Archive.zip   (1.5 MB, 53 views)
    • Boot1.jpg  (280 KB, 66 views)
    • Boot2.jpg  (442.8 KB, 60 views)
    • Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 20.28.17.png  (96.6 KB, 84 views)
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  2. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Oct 26, 2015 at 4:24 AM #912
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    I've updated with El Capitan - running fine - but can't (so far) get it to boot directly from the system disk. Booting with the USB in clover through to the main disk. When trying to boot from the system disk it goes into a continual loop bringing up the old Chameleon boot screen.

    I'm guessing this means I need to remove Chameleon from the system disk?

    I'm not using a video card, just the in-built video.
     
  3. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,950
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 26, 2015 at 3:03 PM #913
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,950
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    See http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...st-solutions-el-capitan-install-problems.html. Be sure your BIOS' Boot Mode Section is set to UEFI only.
     
  4. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Oct 26, 2015 at 3:24 PM #914
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Thanks!

    Now for the stupid question: so how do I set the Bios boot mode selection on this board?

    (I expect I'll go 'duh!' in just a moment, but can't find right now.)
     
  5. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Oct 26, 2015 at 3:47 PM #915
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Okay, somehow now I have got it bringing up Clover everytime, from which I can easily select the right boot drive, rather than a continual doomloop. So that's pretty good.

    Is there some way to set clover to boot automatically into a particular drive/system, and bring up clover options only when needed? (Which was more or less how I had it set up with chameleon).

    Sorry if these questions are pretty basic.
     
  6. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Oct 27, 2015 at 6:21 PM #916
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Making my way through the documentation. Edited the plist (?) to set automatic boot and delay, no dice, same thing.
     
  7. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,950
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 28, 2015 at 11:09 AM #917
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,950
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  8. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Nov 12, 2015 at 7:41 PM #918
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Thanks, I have tried that, without getting it to work, unfortunately. I still count as a success, however, because I successfully readjusted my expectations - in other words, doesn't really matter to me that much whether I have to select the drive.

    No luck with getting audio to work yet, however, and I'm so far not able to reset my expectations. Granted I don't use audio much on this machine but still annoying. I have tried the instructions in that same thread.

    Would the uupdated unibeast be likely to change / help with this?
     
  9. Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Nov 22, 2015 at 7:05 PM #919
    Armoured

    Armoured

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87MX-D3H
    CPU:
    i5-4670K
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4600
    Newest version of multibeast resolved the automatic boot issue I was having - now works flawlessly.

    Audio was fixed by an even more basic method: I plugged the audio into the correct port on the back panel. :banghead:

    [In my defence, the audio issue combined with a move where the speakers came out of the boxes last - after upgrading to El Capitan. Note to self about changing things with as few variables at a time as possible.]
     
  10. gaucho

    gaucho

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Nov 22, 2015 at 9:39 PM #920
    gaucho

    gaucho

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    I originally used Toleda's command script to restore audio with El Capitan. After fixing my iMessage issues, I lost audio again, and had a bear of a time getting it back.

    the problem boiled down to not completely disabling Security before running the script. I had CSR value set at 0x11, but that was not allowing the script to modify kext contents. Once I set the CSR to 0x67, the script ran perfectly, and sound was restored.

    I can't believe it took me two hours to actually read the install script log (somewhat) intelligently. :oops:
     

Share This Page