Contribute
Register

tonymacx86's ASUS Test Build: Z97-A - i3-4340 - HD4600 - Thunderbolt EX II

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
12,530
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS X HERO Z370
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
32GB is too much for the installation. You'll either have to remove all but one memory stick or use this boot flag until you're thru with your installation: maxmem=4096.
Sorry, I was not specific enough, so I have only one 8 GB RAM stick and used a 32GB USB stick to install the OS.
Should I still use maxmem flag? Which other flags should I use it with?
Thanks
I'd try using "-v maxmem=4096" for the initial installation. Then, for the 2nd part of installation, use -v -x. You shouldn't need any other flags. Be sure your BIOS is 1205+ as tonymacx86 stated, and use his BIOS parameter recommendations.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
i3-4370
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'd try using "-v maxmem=4096" for the initial installation. Then, for the 2nd part of installation, use -v -x. You shouldn't need any other flags. Be sure your BIOS is 1205+ as tonymacx86 stated, and use his BIOS parameter recommendations.
OK, tried "-v maxmem=4096" for the initial installation from the USB. BIOS is v1205, recommended setting for my setup as long as I know is "Other OS" instead "Windows" everything else was good at default. (still using VGA display if that's a thing) Got this instead of installing screen:
File 2015. 04. 17. 15 42 07.jpg

Next move?
Thanks
 

WonkeyDonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
4,561
Motherboard
Asrock Z87E-ITX
CPU
i7-4770S
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK, tried "-v maxmem=4096" for the initial installation from the USB. BIOS is v1205, recommended setting for my setup as long as I know is "Other OS" instead "Windows" everything else was good at default. (still using VGA display if that's a thing) Got this instead of installing screen:
View attachment 134346

Next move?
Thanks
What has worked for me in the past with this 0xdeadbeef issue is to remove all but one ram stick, and change the ram speed in the bios back down to just 1333. That together with the maxmem=4096 flag usually does the trick.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
i3-4370
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
What has worked for me in the past with this 0xdeadbeef issue is to remove all but one ram stick, and change the ram speed in the bios back down to just 1333. That together with the maxmem=4096 flag usually does the trick.
Thank you so far, this is some progress because everytime there's a different error, that's something.:thumbup:
So I've set the memory freq 1333MHz. Now I got this:
File 2015. 04. 17. 22 15 34.jpg

Hope you got some more tricks!:D
 

WonkeyDonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
4,561
Motherboard
Asrock Z87E-ITX
CPU
i7-4770S
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you so far, this is some progress because everytime there's a different error, that's something.:thumbup:
So I've set the memory freq 1333MHz. Now I got this:
View attachment 134404

Hope you got some more tricks!:D
Have you booted also with 'UseKernelCache=No' ??
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
i3-4370
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Have you booted also with 'UseKernelCache=No' ??
A little recap:
BIOS Settings:​
Version: 1205​
OS Type -> Other OS
CFG lock -> Disabled
RAM frequency: 1333 MHz​
Bootflags:​
-v maxmem=4096 UseKernelCache=No​

Current status:
File 2015. 04. 18. 10 53 23.jpg

I think it's the same without cache flag. (Previous status attached)

Thank you so far, what else should I try?
 

Attachments

WonkeyDonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
4,561
Motherboard
Asrock Z87E-ITX
CPU
i7-4770S
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
A little recap:
BIOS Settings:​
Version: 1205​
OS Type -> Other OS
CFG lock -> Disabled
RAM frequency: 1333 MHz​
Bootflags:​
-v maxmem=4096 UseKernelCache=No​

Current status:
View attachment 134447

I think it's the same without cache flag. (Previous status attached)

Thank you so far, what else should I try?
Ok, what about PCIRootUID ? You can try that with a value of 0 or 1, like so :

PCIRootUID=0

or

PCIRootUID=1
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A
CPU
i3-4370
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok, what about PCIRootUID ? You can try that with a value of 0 or 1, like so :

PCIRootUID=0

or

PCIRootUID=1
OK,

-v maxmem=4096 PCIRootUID=0 ended up in an endless loop disk1s1: media not present.

-v maxmem=4096 PCIRootUID=1 reached the install screen.:headbang:

Partitioned the drive and it's installing now...
When rebooting, which flags should i reuse?

UPDATE:
-v maxmem=4096 PCIRootUID=1 rebooted fine.
Recommendations for multibeast settings?

Thanks for you all so far!!! Will contribute! :clap:

UPDATE 2:
Tried once again to boot, with the flags above and 0xdeadbeef again.:banghead:

UPDATE 3:
The next attempt was succesful. Is that a thing usually happens? Is that a reliability issue?
 

WonkeyDonkey

Moderator
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
4,561
Motherboard
Asrock Z87E-ITX
CPU
i7-4770S
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
OK,

-v maxmem=4096 PCIRootUID=0 ended up in an endless loop disk1s1: media not present.

-v maxmem=4096 PCIRootUID=1 reached the install screen.:headbang:

Partitioned the drive and it's installing now...
When rebooting, which flags should i reuse?

UPDATE:
-v maxmem=4096 PCIRootUID=1 rebooted fine.
Recommendations for multibeast settings?

Thanks for you all so far!!! Will contribute! :clap:

UPDATE 2:
Tried once again to boot, with the flags above and 0xdeadbeef again.:banghead:

UPDATE 3:
The next attempt was succesful. Is that a thing usually happens? Is that a reliability issue?
Once you have Multibeast and Chameleon/Chimera installed, it usually goes away :)
 
Joined
May 26, 2015
Messages
3
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-A/3.1
CPU
i3-4330
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 960 G1 Gaming
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
What bootflags are needed to boot up with asus z97-A? I can seem to get mine working :banghead:
My specs
z97-a/3.1
Gigabyte gtx 960 g1 gaming
i3 4330

i can get it to boot up without the graphics card but if i can't use the graphics card that $200 down the drain.

Please Help:crazy:
 
Last edited:
Top