Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Aloha, folks,

I've just got a fancy mini tower (Zoostorm Quest) for some casual gaming. Wonder if it’s capable of running Sierra, though, as my primary Mac starts to show its age. The config’s as follows:

CPU: Intel Core i3-4170 @ 3.6 GHz
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-H81M-S2V
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
RAM: 8 GB DDR5

The rest is quite generic.

Any ideas on whether it’s worth the while (and ditching my baseline 2012 MB Air along the way) ?

P.S. I’m totally new to Hackintosh, so would be really glad if you could go into some detail :)

Last edited:
Aloha, folks,

I've just got a fancy mini tower (Zoostorm Quest) for some casual gaming. Wonder if it’s capable of running Sierra, though, as my primary Mac starts to show its age. The config’s as follows:

CPU: Intel Core i3-4170 @ 3.6 GHz
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-H81M-S2V
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
RAM: 8 GB DDR5

The rest is quite generic.

Any ideas on whether it’s worth the while (and ditching my baseline 2012 MB Air along the way) ?

P.S. I’m totally new to Hackintosh, so would be really glad if you could go into some detail :)
Yes, your PC configuration is compatible and you´re able to run mac OS Sierra on it.
Follow the Unibeast guide to create a bootalbe USB drive: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/...ierra-on-any-supported-intel-based-pc.200564/

You should get the GTX 960 working with the latest Nvidia Web Drivers: https://www.tonymacx86.com/nvidia-drivers/

Look for the compatibility of ethernet and WIFI of your mainboard.

The audio chipset is Realtek ALC 887, you can install the necessary drivers with Multibeast.
See here: http://www.multibeast.com/ or here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/resources/categories/tonymacx86-downloads.3/

Thanks! May I just ask if it’s possible to preserve the existing Windows 10 installation, and whether an 8 GB pen drive will suffice?