Motherboard
Lenovo W540 Mobile Workstation
CPU
i7
Graphics
HD4600 / K1100m
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
I was hoping the thunderbolt 2 port on this Lenovo W540 would work out of the box, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

I bought an Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire 800 adapter, when this is inserted two of the Apple Thunderbolt kext's load (see attachment) & "ExpressCard" appears under PCI in System Information. Unfortunately, neither a Firewire Audiocard or Hard-drive was recognized using the apple thunderbolt to firewire dongle.

It occurred to me if I was able to do a DSDT patch so that the Device ID of my Intel Thunderbolt appeared as the version found in the Macbook Pro 11,2 that might be a solution. I'm not a programmer however and my skills are limited to basic plist patches.

I'm attaching a screenshot of my system (left) Vs. Macbook Pro 11,2 (right) using ioreg, specifically dealing with thunderbolt. You can see my Intel Thunderbolt 2 deviceID is 8086:1566. In the Macbook Pro 11,2 (NHI0@0), the deviceID is 8086:156c (very close to my model name).

Attaching my system dsdt & ssdt, any help with deriving a patch would be really appreciated.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.07.55 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.07.55 PM.png
    42.8 KB · Views: 438
  • Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.08.21 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.08.21 PM.png
    16.3 KB · Views: 804
  • Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.08.44 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.08.44 PM.png
    40.4 KB · Views: 412
  • Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.09.00 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.09.00 PM.png
    54.6 KB · Views: 467
  • Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.14.50 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 6.14.50 PM.png
    286.8 KB · Views: 471
  • w540 ACPI Tables.zip
    77.4 KB · Views: 226
I was hoping the thunderbolt 2 port on this Lenovo W540 would work out of the box, but that doesn't seem to be the case.