Contribute
Register

THUNDERBOLT 3 SUCCESS!! GA-Z170X-UD5 TH STARTECH "Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt adapter"

Joined
Dec 7, 2017
Messages
26
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 5
CPU
i7-8700k Coffe Lake
Graphics
GTX 1050 G1
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Mine works with the Cable Matters TB adapter from Amazon.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
629
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170X-Gaming 7
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX TITAN X
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple, LC, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
it's mandatory the startech adapter? the original apple tb3 to tb2 doesnt' working?
The Apple Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter should work fine. I have three of them for my Z170X-Gaming 7 and MacBook Pro 2015. I think the Apple adapter is less expensive and it works in both directions (so you can use Thunderbolt 3 devices with Thunderbolt 2 computers). This thread mentions the Startech adapter because this thread was created before the first MacBook Pro 2016 with Thunderbolt 3 ports was released.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel Core I7-6700K
Graphics
Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
it's mandatory the startech adapter? the original apple tb3 to tb2 doesnt' working?
I have both the Apple TB3 to TB2 and the StarTech adapters, and they both work on my GA-Z170X-UD5 TH mobo, with my Blackmagic Mini Monitor and LaCie Big5 RAID.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2018
Messages
1
Mac
iMac, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
THUNDERBOLT 3 SUCCESS!! with GA-Z170X-UD5 TH STARTECH "Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt adapter" and the Universal Audio APOLLO 8 - El Capitan 10.11.6 iMac 17,1


1) Booted into my windows 10 hard drive and updated bios to F5 at the time of this writing (if on OS X change Bios for Windows usage) and (see Tonymac for bios update guides).

2) Once in windows, I plugged in the Startech adapter and turned on the Apollo. Then i went to gigabyte site (Link Below) selected the "Download Type" dropdown and chose Driver. In choose OS, I chose mine which is windows 10 64bit (see screen shot for easier reference). I downloaded it and ran it.

3) Next I went to the dropdown again and downloaded the Utility and in OS type chose "ALL" (See screen shot for reference) the Utility actually gives you the instructions on the order to do it all for windows so follow it. After installing the utility I don't remember if I re started but I do remember I checked if it picked up my Apollo within Device manager and it did. (I left the Apollo ON just forgot to turn it off)


Heres Giga Link:

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=5479#driver


4) I then shutdown and REMOVED my windows hard drive (it was only used for thunderbolt driver and firmware update)

5) Next I rebooted and went into bios changed back my Bios settings for OS X Usage 10.11.6

6) Once in OSX I opened UAD meter control panel to see if the Apollo was picked up but it wasn't. (I left the window open, just forgot to close it)

7) Next, I turned on hidden files. I opened terminal (app, utility, terminal) and I pasted this command inside terminal

defaults write com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles YES (then press ENTER) Next hold down Alt key Right click Finder Icon and click relaunch.

8) I went to GO -> Computer -> My hard drive -> System/Library/Extensions (I had to open all in new tab double click didn't work) looked for all kext that said AppleThunderbolt (made a back up folder on desktop just incase) and I deleted them all I rebooted into BIOS. (I didn’t close Apollo app)


9) Next go to:

Peripherals -> Intel(R) Thunderbolt ->
Intel Thunderbolt Technology = Enabled
ThunderBolt Boot Support = Disabled
Security Level = Unique ID
Thunderbolt PCIe Cache-line Size = Change to 128
Ignore Thunderbolt Option Rom = Disabled
Thunderbolt SwSMI Delay = Change to 10
TBT Device IO resource Support = Enabled
Reserved Memory = Medium
Reserved Mem per phd slot = 32
Reserved Poem per phi slot = 32


10) I rebooted with everything installed and turned ON including the UAD Meter Control Panel window which detects the Apollo it was open on desktop.

The system picked up the Apollo 8 instantly once rebooted (Not sure if leaving everything connected and running makes a difference it was just coincidently ON from prior attempts)


*NOTE - I lost audio drivers after I rebooted but simply ran multibeast and selected only my audio drivers rebooted again and I'm back in business!


Hope this helps you guys!!
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170x ATX Gaming 5
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1050
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
4) I then shutdown and REMOVED my windows hard drive (it was only used for thunderbolt driver and firmware update)

5) Next I rebooted and went into bios changed back my Bios settings for OS X Usage 10.11.6

6) Once in OSX I opened UAD meter control panel to see if the Apollo was picked up but it wasn't. (I left the window open, just forgot to close it)

7) Next, I turned on hidden files. I opened terminal (app, utility, terminal) and I pasted this command inside terminal

defaults write com.apple.Finder AppleShowAllFiles YES (then press ENTER) Next hold down Alt key Right click Finder Icon and click relaunch.

8) I went to GO -> Computer -> My hard drive -> System/Library/Extensions (I had to open all in new tab double click didn't work) looked for all kext that said AppleThunderbolt (made a back up folder on desktop just incase) and I deleted them all I rebooted into BIOS. (I didn’t close Apollo app)


9) Next go to: Bios

Peripherals -> Intel(R) Thunderbolt ->
Intel Thunderbolt Technology = Enabled
ThunderBolt Boot Support = Disabled

**Security Level = LEGACY!! (THIS IS THE ONLY CHANGE)!!

Thunderbolt PCIe Cache-line Size = Change to 128
Ignore Thunderbolt Option Rom = Disabled
Thunderbolt SwSMI Delay = Change to 10
TBT Device IO resource Support = Enabled
Reserved Memory = Medium
Reserved Mem per phd slot = 32
Reserved Poem per phi slot = 32


10) I rebooted with everything installed and turned ON including the UAD Meter Control Panel window which detects the Apollo it was open on desktop.

The system picked up the Apollo 8 instantly once rebooted (Not sure if leaving everything connected and running makes a difference it was just coincidently ON from prior attempts)



Hope this helps you guys!!

9/17/2018 UPDATE:

I decided to upgrade my system to High Sierra ("Fresh Install" same system and same bios firmware) and the only thing I had to change on the Thunderbolt section in Bios was ** Security Level. I added the Legacy instead and it picked up my Apollo 8 instantly!!
Thank you for your info, I CANNOT get MAC to see the Alpine card. I have rev.2.0. I have a Z170x Gaming 5 mobo. It does not have the option to set security to legacy, nor did I find any .kexxt to delete. Any suggestions? WINDOWS WORKS, but restarting from there into MAC does not work, even with UAD console already open.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
40
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970
Mac
iMac
Thank you for your info, I CANNOT get MAC to see the Alpine card. I have rev.2.0. I have a Z170x Gaming 5 mobo. It does not have the option to set security to legacy, nor did I find any .kexxt to delete. Any suggestions? WINDOWS WORKS, but restarting from there into MAC does not work, even with UAD console already open.
I'm not sure as this thread was for a particular motherboard and adapter. Sorry. On mine, security level to legacy worked. Try to find if your bios has any setting to change to legacy and that will probably do it.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170x ATX Gaming 5
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1050
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
I'm not sure as this thread was for a particular motherboard and adapter. Sorry. On mine, security level to legacy worked. Try to find if your bios has any setting to change to legacy and that will probably do it.
I understand. Thanks for the reply. I don't have the "Legacy" option nor that motherboard so I will find another thread I guess.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
40
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970
Mac
iMac
I understand. Thanks for the reply. I don't have the "Legacy" option nor that motherboard so I will find another thread I guess.
Send me ur specs I'll help you look since I already went thru this it might be easier for me since I know what to search for.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170x ATX Gaming 5
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1050
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Send me ur specs I'll help you look since I already went thru this it might be easier for me since I know what to search for.
Thank you for your willingness to help. Would you mind if I redirected you to this other Tonymacx86 forum? I have written several things and shared several pictures. I will also post my BIOs settings on there. Current issue is Mac sort of sees the Univ3ersal Audio PCI device, but does not since any ins or outs.

UPDATE: Issue solved! Explained in thread link
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
40
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
Intel i7-6700K
Graphics
Nvidia GeForce GTX 970
Mac
iMac
Thank you for your willingness to help. Would you mind if I redirected you to this other Tonymacx86 forum? I have written several things and shared several pictures. I will also post my BIOs settings on there. Current issue is Mac sort of sees the Univ3ersal Audio PCI device, but does not since any ins or outs.
OK
 
Top