Contribute
Register

Thinkpad X1 Carbon (3rd Gen) - Could use some hints.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Lenovo X1 Carbon (Gen 3 20BS) - Clover
CPU
i7-5600U
Graphics
HD 5500, 1920x1080
Thinkpad Carbon X1 (3rd Gen)
My X1 Carbon Specs:
CPU: Intel Core I7-5600U
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 5500 @ 1920x1080
Broadwell, CPUZ revealed no chipset id.
Lenovo Reference Doc: Link

Intro
First off, I am happy to announce that this device is compatible with the latest 10.10.3 Yosemite update. I am hoping to use this thread for support and eventually take everything I learn here and turn it into a guide.

Initial Thanks & Credit
Before I go any further, I want to say thanks to Rehabman for his patience and working with me, AustereJ. and Lisai9093 for their work on the HD5500 graphics compatibility and nguyenmac who also helped a bit along the way. I used these two threads a lot in figuring out how to get everything running. (Thread 1 | Thread 2) I studied those threads for hours and I still don't understand most of it.

Success
After several days of headbanging I eventually reached a Yosemite installer window and from there is was smooth sailing. I now have a quick - responsive desktop and it appears to be pretty stable (running for several hours no issues.)

Eye Candy
It looks great!
IMG_1040.jpg

And it is reporting everything correctly too, for the most part.
Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 9.00.12 PM.jpg

So here's what works

• HD5500 Graphics + Qe/Ci
  • HDMI Output
  • Trackpad
  • Bluetooth
  • Webcam
  • Power Status (04/19/2015 - DSDT Battery Patch for the Lenovo X220 did the trick along with the ACPIBatteryManager.kext from the battery status guide.)
  • Power Management (Modified SSDTPrgen + SMBIOS MBP 11,2 - Used SSDTPrgen & SMBIOS section of config.plist from here | For the SSDTPRGen program I had to add my processor into the Broadwell config file. | I tested this with MSRDumper, if multiple p states means that its working then its working :D)