The time has come

Discussion in 'Buying Advice' started by z1llverdusttt, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mar 19, 2012 at 8:49 PM #1
    z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Ok so I've done a bit of research and I finally bought Snow leopard from Apple and plan on finally getting my hackintosh together. Here is the information on my computer:

    ASUS P8P67 PRO (REV 3.0)
    G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    GIGABYTE RADEON 6870
    I5-2500K
    120 GB SSD
    320 GB HDD (Storage)
    1TB HDD (Storage)

    I'm still trying to decide whether I should just boot SL and W7 off of the SSD and use the other 2 drives as storage for each OS or find something else, what do you think?
     
  2. ChiefWizard

    ChiefWizard

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Mobo:
    OSX Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2500k @ 4.2
    Graphics:
    GTX 560 Ti 448
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
    Mar 19, 2012 at 9:13 PM #2
    ChiefWizard

    ChiefWizard

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Mobo:
    OSX Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2500k @ 4.2
    Graphics:
    GTX 560 Ti 448
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
    Everything looks good, but if you can afford it you might as well get 8 GB of ram, it's so cheap right now and then you won't have to worry for a long time.

    As for the drives, DO NOT put windows and OSX on the same disk, it only causes problems. Choose which OS you will be using more and install it on the SSD and then use a HDD for storage, then just install the other OS on the left over HDD. (Ideally you could have a second SSD for the other OS, but that's not necessary).
     
  3. z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mar 19, 2012 at 9:18 PM #3
    z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    I actually do have 8gb of ram I was just copy pasting :p

    Thanks for the advice on the HDD's, I'll probably put MAC on the 320gb then because I'll use windows more often.

    Any advice on how to go about dual booting?
     
  4. jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,752
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    Mar 19, 2012 at 9:30 PM #4
    jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,752
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    Separate HDDs/SSDs are recommended for dual booting.

    A mechanical 250GB, 320GB HDD will suffice for Windows/Linux.
     
  5. z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mar 19, 2012 at 10:59 PM #5
    z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    How long does it generally take to get out of this screen?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mar 19, 2012 at 11:31 PM #6
    z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Got past that and formatted my drive then got the Mac OS X could not be installed on your computer

    the installer could not copy the necessary files.

    click restart to restart your computer a try installing again

    Any ideas? :D
     
  7. ChiefWizard

    ChiefWizard

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Mobo:
    OSX Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2500k @ 4.2
    Graphics:
    GTX 560 Ti 448
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
    Mar 19, 2012 at 11:34 PM #7
    ChiefWizard

    ChiefWizard

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Mobo:
    OSX Mountain Lion
    CPU:
    i5 2500k @ 4.2
    Graphics:
    GTX 560 Ti 448
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone, Other
    10-30 seconds if all is well, up to 5mins if something's wrong. That or its hanging and will stay like that.

    Boot with -v and see where it stops. Also see if it will boot in safe mode ( -x ).

    Edit: Srry, you posted when I was typing, make sure the had you wanna install lion on is plugged into the first sata port, make sure your bios settings are correct (ahci enabled, hpet on 64bit). Once the installer boots, open disk utility and format the drive to OSX journaled with guide partition table. Then install, it should work.
     
  8. z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mar 19, 2012 at 11:53 PM #8
    z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks I'll double back and make sure I've done all that :p
     
  9. z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Mar 20, 2012 at 2:07 AM #9
    z1llverdusttt

    z1llverdusttt

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Still trying to figure out why I can't get past the logo and the spinning wheel.
     
  10. jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,752
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    Mar 20, 2012 at 3:36 AM #10
    jester969

    jester969

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3,752
    Mobo:
    GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    CPU:
    i5-2500K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTS 250
    Boot w/ GraphicsEnabler=NO @ Chimera
     

Share This Page