Contribute
Register

"The system has experienced boot failures because of overclocking or changes in voltage."

Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
609
Motherboard
GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HIS 5770
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey everybody, when I start up my machine (2500k on a GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3 w/ 8GB 1600mhz Kingston HyperX), I occasionally get this message at boot time:

"The system has experienced boot failures because of overclocking or changes in voltage. Latest settings in BIOS may not coincide with current H/W states"

However, I AM NOT REALLY OVERCLOCKING! The only changes I have made are setting Turbo to enabled and setting my RAM to XMP Profile 1 so that it runs at 1600mhz instead of 1333. Why would these basic changes cause a boot failure? Any suggestions guys? I don't know much about OC'ing, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
609
Motherboard
GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HIS 5770
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iBook
Mobile Phone
Android
When setting the RAM to XMP did it OC the CPU?

Also, in the BIOS area where it lists Voltages have you activated Load Line Calibration?
The CPU is OC'd, but I think that's due to turbo rather than the memory. I looked under "Advanced Voltage Settings" and didn't see an option for Load Line Calibration.

With Turbo off and XMP on, the CPU goes to 3.4mhz max.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2011
Messages
866
Motherboard
10.8.4 (ML) & Win8 64bit
CPU
i7-3770K @ 4,4GHz
Graphics
EVGA Geforce GTX 670 FTW Signature 2
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Did u forced a hard reboot or turned the power off e.g.?
That is sth. that is confusing the mainboard.
 
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
9
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
How did you solve your problem? I am having the same issue after a hard reboot.
 
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
53
Motherboard
10.10.2
CPU
i7 5930K
Graphics
GTX980
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had a similar issue when I first put together my newest i7 build. I quickly reset the board back to default - the issue for me was the RAM - it wouldn't go past 1866 mhz. Some RAM will run higher frequency and others won't. Might be the case for you....

Stick to stock settings and then retrace your steps to get your OC performance back.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
asus
CPU
i7
Graphics
nvidia
Having the same issue using gigabyte p55 usb3 rev2. Disable sleep option in settings to temporary fix this.
 
Top