Contribute
Register

The screen will be stuck when CUDA application is running

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 15, 2017
Messages
120
Motherboard
Acrock Z390 Phantom Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, I am experiencing the same problem while Running more then one Cuda application (i.e. After Effects + Cinema4D). Mostly Hackintosh freezes while software is starting to render something (so I guess its related to the GPU temperature?). No info's at the log, it happens to quick. I'm running 10.13.6 High Sierra, but I've also experienced the same thing at Sierra and El Captain while I switched to the new GPU. My hardware specs are: i7 4770 3.5 ghz Haswell, GA-Z87X-OC motherboard, gigabyte geforce 1080ti. Could anybody point me, where I can find that PMdrvr.kext?


To the best of my knowledge, PMdrvr.kext is only for x99 platform, which is not of your case.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
To the best of my knowledge, PMdrvr.kext is only for x99 platform, which is not of your case.

Thanks @xiaodai . Any tips what I should do? I've tried trick with different system profiles without any results, installed fakeSMC drivers to monitor the temperature of CPU etc - they are ok, I've tried to change some settings in BIOS that it was mentioned earlier but this doesn't help either. Maybe it is because I'm doing something wrong since I'm not "technical" guy ;). Anyway this thing is starting to be really annoying - I can't even start Octane Render with heavier scene, or just work with two opened Cuda related apps (like After Effects and Photoshop). I'm considering two options is there no way out:
1) Upgrade to newer Motherboard and CPU - if that could help may someone would recommend which ones would work the best with GTX 1080 GPU?
2) Just say goodbye to hack and say hello to windows ;(

thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2017
Messages
120
Motherboard
Acrock Z390 Phantom Gaming-ITX/ac
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks @xiaodai . Any tips what I should do? I've tried trick with different system profiles without any results, installed fakeSMC drivers to monitor the temperature of CPU etc - they are ok, I've tried to change some settings in BIOS that it was mentioned earlier but this doesn't help either. Maybe it is because I'm doing something wrong since I'm not "technical" guy ;). Anyway this thing is starting to be really annoying - I can't even start Octane Render with heavier scene, or just work with two opened Cuda related apps (like After Effects and Photoshop). I'm considering two options is there no way out:
1) Upgrade to newer Motherboard and CPU - if that could help may someone would recommend which ones would work the best with GTX 1080 GPU?
2) Just say goodbye to hack and say hello to windows ;(

thanks!

I am sorry to disappoint you. However, I have given up to use Cuda in my hackintosh for now.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
I am sorry to disappoint you. However, I have given up to use Cuda in my hackintosh for now.

I guess I found out solution for my build, maybe someone will find that useful too:

After mesesing up with BIOS settings, I've set all of them to defaults (I'm talking about Power Management, all the other stuff are remain the same as it recommended during fresh OS install), and set "Clover UEFI BOOT mode + Emulated NVRAM" in Multibeast (I've thought that this could be causing the issue, since the NVRAM is related to the GPU).

And... working perfectly, 15 hour of Octane render just passed, meanwhile I've opened After Effects / Premiere / Photoshop few times.

Maybe I'm just lucky here and did something without intention - but hopefully it will work stable from now on. Anyway big thanks for that thread!
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5Ghz
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 950
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
I guess I found out solution for my build, maybe someone will find that useful too:

After mesesing up with BIOS settings, I've set all of them to defaults (I'm talking about Power Management, all the other stuff are remain the same as it recommended during fresh OS install), and set "Clover UEFI BOOT mode + Emulated NVRAM" in Multibeast (I've thought that this could be causing the issue, since the NVRAM is related to the GPU).

And... working perfectly, 15 hour of Octane render just passed, meanwhile I've opened After Effects / Premiere / Photoshop few times.

Maybe I'm just lucky here and did something without intention - but hopefully it will work stable from now on. Anyway big thanks for that thread!
How is your cuda rendering? Is it still stable? I'm thinking about Redshift or Octane but most of the time I get something like "can't allocate enough memory". And if I try Vray gpu most of the time it crashes application.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
How is your cuda rendering? Is it still stable? I'm thinking about Redshift or Octane but most of the time I get something like "can't allocate enough memory". And if I try Vray gpu most of the time it crashes application.

Unfortunately - it's not stable at all. It was working OK for few days, then I've experienced hang outs//rebooting more often than ever. Usually while switching from some CUDA app (adobe, cinema) to web browser or any other app. What I found out that booting my machine is taking way longer than before, I have no idea what is going on. I guess it may be related to the GPU temperature - maybe fans are not working properly, because those hang outs are happening mostly when my machine is running all the time. After shut down and giving it a break for a day - it's working "longer". Any chance to get to know if the fan working properlly and the GPU temperature is ok? I found out that octane live viewer are not showing the GPU temperature like its normally doing, did some tricks with GPU sensors, but it's still not working.

@Photoindra
If you having "can't allocate enough memory" it could be that you have too complex scene for your GTX950. Octane as well as Redshift (the second one is better because it's using CPU also) have some limits such as polygons etc. and your card seems to have small amount of CUDA cores that can't handle it. I recommend to go with 1080ti and higher to get a good workflow with octane/redshift.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
OK, so what I found out - and probably this is causing the random freezing - that my GPU after upgrade to Sierra and High Sierra have low RPM's of GTX1080ti fan while rendering - basically it's always the same. While rendering graphic card temperature easily goes to 80* degrees and it's causing panic than restart. I remember that on Maverick while I was rendering - graphic card fan was changing automatically RPM's to match the temperature to cool it down. Is there's any way to bring it back to auto-detect? I have latest FAKE SMC it's showing GPU die correctly but it's not showing RPM's of graphic card unfortunately.
 

BreBo

Moderator
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
9,380
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-OC
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
HD 4600 / RX 580
@matekarate, please add details of your Motherboard to your profile (account details).
If you have a prebuilt computer enter make and model instead of motherboard.
The Rules said:
Profiles are mandatory so that others can assist you.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
53
Motherboard
Asus x99 Deluxe II
CPU
i7-6950x
Graphics
Radeon 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Bringing this topic back up. I've been fighting with this issue again trying to get Blender / Octane to run with CUDA on my rig. Had the same issue as After Effects. I removed PMdrv.kext again and it seems to have fixed it for the time being. Increasing the voltage on my RAM to 1.4v and the VCCIO to 1.15v seems to help stabilize my overclock as well. Noticeably, my GPU is running 10-15 degrees cooler than it was when freezing previously with PMdrv (topping out at 58 degrees).

I'm using HW Monitor to watch fan speeds and temps, but unfortunately it does not show anything for my 1080ti fan speed. To my understanding, FakeSMC / GPUSensor doesn't work with Pascal cards for fan speed. On the off chance that High Sierra doesn't play well with increasing fan speed during GPU intensive tasks, I ordered a 120mm pull fan to place on the outside of my Aorus Waterforce radiator that will be controlled by the case controller. If the PMdrvr issue was because of an overheating GPU, then maybe this will help prevent that going forward.

Anyway, I was able to reduce my CPU voltage from 1.225 down to 1.15 at 4ghz for my 6950x and it's still stable through Benchmarks and medium CPU rendering tasks. I have a feeling that the combination of PMDrvr + not enough voltage on the RAM was causing my issue. Will continue to monitor, as I imagine I may have to bump my CPU voltage up a notch or two in the near future if I begin to get overclock failure freezes again.

Best luck all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top