Contribute
Register

The Perfect Customac-Pro: X99-A II, i7-6950X, 128GB G.Skill TridentZ, Aorus GTX 1080 TI Xtreme

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Designare
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K
Graphics
Asus ROG Strix 1070 OC
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Any forseeable issues with doing this build with an rx480?

(Sorry for all the quesitons, will be my first Hackintosh)
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Any forseeable issues with doing this build with an rx480?

(Sorry for all the quesitons, will be my first Hackintosh)
Sorry, this question is not related to my built. It is a rx480 specific question, which should be adressed within a related post.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus x99-A II
CPU
i7-6800k
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 950
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Unfortunately, it won't boot from the usb, not starting loading. Tried multiple times. Probably, some steps are missing from the guide. My BIOS config is set according to Giacomoleopardo's guide. El capitan runs fine.
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Unfortunately, it won't boot from the usb, not starting loading. Tried multiple times. Probably, some steps are missing from the guide. My BIOS config is set according to Giacomoleopardo's guide. El capitan runs fine.
Impossible, something you certainly missed in the guide. Did you install clover with the custom options on both USB and Sierra system disk? Did you delete config.plist and "/drivers64UEFI/" and "/kexts/10.12/" directories before installing the ones of ptzulu on both USB and Sierra system disk? I am sure you have too many or the wrong files in the EFI partitions. Finally, I do not understand what for you need the USB at all if you have El capitan already installed on your system. You should be able to directly upgrade to Sierra. There is no need of an USB, although of course you can create it for traning purposes. !! Please take a breath and once more slowly and carefully read my guide!!
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2017
Messages
7
Motherboard
Asus x99-A II
CPU
i7-6800k
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX 950
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
The usb is created correctly. I've done it multiple times with different configurations.

Did you delete config.plist and "/drivers64UEFI/" and "/kexts/10.12/" directories before installing the ones of ptzulu on both USB and Sierra system disk?
Yep, I've replaced all of them with ptzulu's and always double checked.

You should be able to directly upgrade to Sierra
Hmmm, I'll try to do that. Should I just place/replace config.plist and "/drivers64UEFI/" and "/kexts/10.12/" into the EFI of my boot drive and upgrade ?

Thanks
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
The usb is created correctly. I've done it multiple times with different configurations.



Yep, I've replaced all of them with ptzulu's and always double checked.



Hmmm, I'll try to do that. Should I just place/replace config.plist and "/drivers64UEFI/" and "/kexts/10.12/" into the EFI of my boot drive and upgrade ?

Thanks
So if you have an identical built to mine and you have properly performed all necessary steps described in my guide, you should be able to boot with both USB disk or System disk!

Hmmm.. at first place you should be able to create the USB disk and make it work (boot). Once you succeed apply all necessary changes also to the EFI partition of your system disk. Don't forget to install the AGDPfix on your System disk in case you use the MacPro6,1 system definition. Otherwhise your screen will remain black while booting after installing the NVIDIA webdriver! Then update El Capitan to Sierra. In any case, do not forget to make a backup of your current system and EFI paritition before!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
ASUS X99A II 64GB
CPU
i7 6900k @ 4.2GHZ
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 ti ACX
Thanks for the great Guide!!

I have a very similar hardware:
- ASUS X99A-II
- 6900k @ stock 3.2Ghz
- 64GB GSkillz @ 3000MhZ
- EVGA 980 ti
- Corsair Q400
- Corsair RM550X (Same with RM750X)
- Corsair H115i
- TP-Link AC1900 PCIe WiFi in PCIEX1_2

My build is running stable but i sometimes have random reboots.
Would be nice if someone could help me to fix this.
 
Last edited:

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the great Guide!!

I have a very similar hardware:
- ASUS X99A-II
- 6900k @ stock 3.2Ghz
- 64GB GSkillz @ 3000MhZ
- EVGA 980 ti
- Corsair Q400
- Corsair RM550X (Same with RM750X)
- Corsair H115i
- TP-Link AC1900 PCIe WiFi in PCIEX1_2

My build is running stable but i sometimes have random reboots.
Would be nice if someone could help me to fix this.
Just carefully apply the correct BIOS-settings of Giacomoleopardo, which I summarize at the beginning of my guide. I also faced random reboots at the beginning of my built. However, with the correct BIOS settings, I got rid of of all random reboots. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
ASUS X99A II 64GB
CPU
i7 6900k @ 4.2GHZ
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980 ti ACX
Thanks kgp. Its stable since my last post and some OC.

Just by activating XMP Profile the CPU went up to 4GHZ and RAM to 2933MHZ :cry:

I fixed as well the squeezed Apple Logo on boot by setting the right Display Resolution in .plist and installing CsmVideoDxe-64.efi.

I assume this is your workstation for Video or 3D? As i'm wondering if it makes sense for Media Encoder to install CUDA instead of using default OpenCL with Nvidia Card :crazy:
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,902
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks kgp. Its stable since my last post and some OC.

Just by activating XMP Profile the CPU went up to 4GHZ and RAM to 2933MHZ :cry:

I fixed as well the squeezed Apple Logo on boot by setting the right Display Resolution in .plist and installing CsmVideoDxe-64.efi.

I assume this is your workstation for Video or 3D? As i'm wondering if it makes sense for Media Encoder to install CUDA instead of using default OpenCL with Nvidia Card :crazy:
In fact I use my built for image reconstruction and spectral line inversion in Solar Physics/Astrophysics. It requires massive parallelized number crunching and huge amount of RAM memory. :idea: The output are ultra-high angular resolution temperature, velocity and magnetic field maps of the solar fine-structure :thumbup:. As an example, I add a nice high-resolution image of a sunspot that I observed, reduced and analyzed recently. I hope by this you can rougly imagine what for I am actually using my built :idea:.

sunspot.png

CUDA is very powerful and it might make sense to use it for media encoding. However, for my applications I rather focus on CPU power ;).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top